We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful expérience”
Review of Cicek Pasaji

Cicek Pasaji
Ranked #4,401 of 13,594 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sirkeci
paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful expérience”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I dońt know all the restaurants in the passage but I tried the one called CINAR. I believe it is an absolute rip-off. Very average mezze, poor seafood, pushy and unpleasant waiters, overpriced wine. I could carry on. If you want to try a meyhane or a fish restaurant, it is much better to head to Ortaköy, Bebek etc... along the Bosphorus. You wońt end up paying 80 TL for canteen food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bouduth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK/Oludeniz
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, normal food.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Have a firm resolve not to be highjacked and walk through the whole passage, look at menus but don't feel pressurised to go in to one of the restaurants until you want to. There will be great hassle from each of the restaurant 'hunters' to get you into their seats. Resist until you decide, keep control, it will be difficult. If it is warm enough or you smoke stay in the passage itself, in the section for your chosen restaurant, the atmosphere is buzzing and adds to your meal. If it is cool, enter the inside part of your chosen restaurant. I am used to Turkish food and found the menus normal and the food normal, nothing exceptional but nothing bad. Having said this, the mezes, or starters were interesting and there was a good selection. Each restaurant I ate in here brought a large tray with small dishes of the different mezes they did and you chose from this. Just be careful as they are not all the same price and the prices are not on the dishes.
So, if you want normal Turkish food and a buzzing atmosphere, come here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Willintohelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lively place with some great food on offer”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Pass this way in the evening and there are some great places to eat, drink and enjoy the live music on offer.
We have dined here and also just had drinks and watched the world go by.
Gorgeous on a summer evening - winter is a bit chilly despite the heaters outside, better to have a window seat inside !!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank thebaroness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“crowded”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Lots of fish restaurants inside. this is a very famous place in Taksim Region. Good food and turkish music.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Surrounding but Beware”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Cicek Pasaji is a cluster of restaurants in an old historic building. It was listed as one of the must visit places in the a couple of travel guides I went through and also passing by it on Istiklal street, I found it very amusing with Live Turkish music and out door seating, very authentic.

Next day I decided to go to dinner with my husband. Once we entered we were sort of harassed by waiters standing outside each restaurant and they were trying to make everyone sit down for dinner.

We picked one place and sat down for dinner. The waiter came down and opened a bottle of water without asking us. Then they brought bread and starters which were stale. We order two main courses of the Turkish kebab but they were kind of pushing us to order more sea food. This made us really uneasy. Half of the sea food items didnt have the prices on the menu and the guy kept on saying its by the KG but didn't tell us price.

We didn't order any of the food items which had no price. By this time we were quite put off by the aggressive money making tactics.

Turkish kebabs were good.

Then we asked for Bill. Important to note:

Check the totals as they inflated it and told us total amount only.
Drinks were as expensive as a very high end club like 360.
They charged us separately for the huge bottle of water we didn't ask for and also the stale bread we didn't order.
The small rice serving with the kebab was old and stale too.

In total the mean cost us TL 85 excluding the drinks which was way more expensive depending on what we ordered (only two main course items i.e. kebabs).

Advise: Beware of the pushy attitude to sell, better not to eat here just roam around or have a drink. The food is not worth the price and there are way better places in Istiklal street for dinner.

I don't remember the name of the restaurant but it was the second one on the left if you enter from the flower street side and not the main entrance. Anyhow they were all kind of pushy trying to make the visitors take the table and just sit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qindeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cicek Pasaji also viewed

 

Been to Cicek Pasaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing