We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Trip to Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Senatus Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Senatus Suites
Ranked #2 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Trip to Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived at the hotel. It was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. Staff carried luggage to our first floor room, which was a small suite. Suite met all our needs and was clean and comfortable and quiet. WiFi included. While waiting to check in, Taner made reservations at Turkish bath and message. It was a 10 minute walk and in front of the Blue Mosque. It was a great experience, masseuse took out all the aches and pains from our 10 days of visit the Greek ruins. He also made reservations to see the Whirling Dervish show. Again, only a 10 minute walk to the tram station, plus two stops. A wonderful exhibition.
Taner had also arrangements for a guide for two days. Ms Gunnur came the same day we checked, to review our expectations and discussed her suggestions. She walked us to the baths, showed us how to take the tram, gave us her extra tram card and how to add money to the card. By using the tram card it only cost us 2 TL per trip instead of 3 TL/trip.
The next morning we had eggs anyway we wanted, plus all sorts of Turkish delights. Our guide showed on time and off we went. The hotel was within 10-15 minutes walking of 8 of the top 10 sites in Istanbul. The street the hotel is located in is really in the "old town". We were within 5 minutes (walking) of restaurants and bars.
Taner arranged transportation to the airport with a private van service. Driver was courteous and drove sanely (no crazy Turkish taxi drivers).
Millennium Suites exceeded our expectations. We would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet even though it faced to main street. I do not know if there is a bad room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    76
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
178
483
61
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aktau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was 2 nights stay at the hotel. Although small and there is no lift, it is right on the bustling road with Turkish cafes and restaurant. So lively. Very helpful staff. They carried our bag, even our shopping stuff to our room. Room looks like the picture, nice decor, touch of heritage in small things like the lamps and table clock. Bathroom nice with closed shower. Very convenient. Toiletries with choice of normal sized shampoos and soaps, like home and mini sizes also. (well stocked for any hotel I have ever been to).

Comfortable bed and great sleep, although right on the street. We even got quick room service. Breakfast on time, wake-up call on time. Really enjoyed your hospitality. Smooth check in - check out. Thanks for the memorable last night in Turkey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_adiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The best location in old town and the most helpful and friendly staff of our entire 3 week trip in Turkey. Breakfast options were outstanding. It truly felt like home. We spent 5 nights at the beginning of our trip at Millennium. Bathroom is small but well equipped with bath/shower combo. Room is adequate in size and very clean with comfortable bed. Be aware of stairs and no elevator for older folks. Staff gives excellent advice. This hotel is excellent value for the price and perfect for site seeing, within walking distance to Blue Mosque, Topkapi, and museums. Neighborhood is safe at night and plenty of restaurants to eat at or just sit and enjoy people watching.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. If stairs are an issue request first or second floor. They are very a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globtrotter657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium S, Owner at Senatus Suites, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued Quest,

I would like to thank you for the great comments on Millennium Suites Hotel.

I am very proud and excited to work in a great hotel with great ladies and gentlemen. Your comments will be shared and well received.The staff will be pleased by your comments.


I look forward to hosting you here again and again at our lovely hotel and our dream city Istanbul.

Sincerely,

Alper OZTURK

Millennium Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Fantastic hotel in the centre of everything, run by the most welcoming people you will meet in Turkey. Travelled in October with young children and took two rooms adjoined by a small corridor. Will not think twice about re-booking when next in Istanbul

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyBollokchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed three nights at this wonderful little hotel (seven rooms). The personnel helped us to plan our short visit and their advice proved to be most helpful for us. The rooms are clean and large. The minibar, the Wifi (wich also works) and the air conditioning is included. My advice is to tell the staff what you want to see and do. Their advice are reliable and by using service of their partners they make the reservations for you and the service providers pick you up at the hotel. You can surely find cheaper hotels but this place is worth every cent, especially if you are short on time. If you are interested in buying a hand made carpet or just to learn about how hand made carpets are made, my advice is to tell the hotel staff about that too.

Room Tip: We had the room 101 on the ground floor. No view but easy to get in and out. No noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wecmar-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

If you want to be in the old town, this is it!!! The hotel sits perfectly situated along the main strip in Sultanhamet, which is where you want to be as a tourist. The Blue and Sophia Mosques, theTokapi Palace & museums are all under 5 minutes away by foot and this is also where the hop on tour buses begin. The rooms here are very charming, romantic, perfect for couples and definitely larger than average for the neighborhood, but you are paying for it.
The staff and service are exceptional, the breakfast was by European standards okay, but sitting out on the terrace every morning watching the old town come to life was worthwhile, and of course the fabulous attention to service detail. If you are budget sensitive, there are better options in far lesser locations, but if you are seeking a great bed and breakfast experience and want all your tourist destinations at your fingertips, this is it.
Also the street is loaded with excellent restaurants, late night drinking and shisha. Loads of fun, yet quiet just where the hotel is located. Most of the rooftop restaurants in the immediate vicinity are overpriced and underwhelming, but pick the right ones anytime of day and its worth the price of admission just for the amazing views, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kahoru w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millennium S, Owner at Senatus Suites, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear valued guest,
I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay at Millennium Suites Hotel. All of our aim is to make you feel at home.you came here as guests and left as a member of our family.I have been to USA twice so should tell you that you also have a beautifull country.I hope I can visit you in the states in the near future.

Sending our greetings to anyone who is a part of your life.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Kindest regards
Alper OZTURK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in IST for 4 nights and had picked Millennium suites from Trip Advisor. It was a good choice. The most amazing part was that the moment we got in the hotel, we felt at home. Alper(both Alpers!) and Tanner have such personalities that they make you feel comfortable and are very responsive. They sit in the lobby and whenever a guest is around, they chat informally about anything which you can imagine. The rooms are very clean, elegantly furnished and minibar is free. The hotel is small but is hidden gem in IST with walking distance from Aya Sofia, Topkapi, Blue Mosque etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalidKabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Suites

Property: Senatus Suites
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 42 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly Milennium Suites)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#20 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is one of the cornerstones of the Turkish way of life. Turkish people are the most gracious and generous hosts as a result of their natural instincts. Every individual feels bound to honor his guest in the best possible manner. They will open their houses to every guest with a smiling face and with all their sincerity give the best seat and cook the best food for their guest. Turkish. people are very understanding about foreigners' different customs and they try to communicate in order to help visitors according to their code of hospitality.The owner's of Senatus Suites goal is to show the traditional turkish hospitality to their guests in the manner of described briefly above in their guest rooms. You are always wellcome at our property with our main principle of "whatever religion you are from, whichever country you come from, whatever language you speak, you are 'God's Guest' ," ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing