We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and welcoming atmosphere”
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #29 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice and welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Even I insisted on staying in bigger star Hotel in Istanbul, my wife got me for selecting this small hotel in old city Istanbul. In the end, I was very happy to stay there and meet with owners and Turkish friendly hospitality. The hotel was in a very central location to shops, restaurants and museums. By walking, you can get to all of the major attractions from here. We did. We loved the style of the room decor (very contemporary as well as traditional motives) and the views from our rooms was great sea view. Family kind of atmosphere makes you feel different. Again Trip Advisor helped a lot for staying and eating in right place. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrehorHain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    158
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
168
391
89
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We had an enjoyable stay for three nights in Istanbul old city. We are experienced international travelers and prefer local kind of accommodations rather than more touristic places. The Esans Hotel is a jewel hidden in central old city Istanbul. Only walking to all cultural places with a silent sleep in the night,think of it. Rooms are very nice and elegant. Very clean. Each room has a dedicated essence name. We were in room Cariye which has also fragrance in lobby. We enjoyed breakfast with especially nice pasteries and fresh orange juice also nice filter coffee. The management and staff treated us like dear old friends and we are looking forward to our next stay there in June this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinhur23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stayed at this lovely hotel right in the heart of Sultanahmet for the last 4 days of my honeymoon and it was absolutely PERFECT! The daily breakfast was wonderful and we got wonderful advice from the front desk for places to go. And our top floor rom was everything I expected. The pictures were spot on! The view from our room was awesome too. Their helper Zolkan so kindly brought all of our luggage and took it all down. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Istanbul to stay at this hotel. It was the perfect way for my husband and I to end our honeymoon. Thanks for the beautiful memories. :)

Emily & David Chapman

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilychapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed three nights during a very cooold long weekend. But Engin and the team made our stay worthwhile. Great tips on what to do and where to go, reservations for everything at short notice (and even a tour guide we got through a personal contact did not know any better) and an absolute pleasant environment in a cozy hotel in a top location. We cannot wait to go there again when it is warm and we can sit on the roof terrace!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaundBernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had a great stay at Esans and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Great value and location and English spoken. Engin was extremely helpful with his suggestions on what to do, where to eat etc. We had a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

It is very well situated, within walking distance of all major attractions in Sultanahmet. The exterior of the building is unprepossessing and there is much construction going on all around it. Front desk staff is friendly and willing to help, but many of the students who work there simply did not have the knoweldge to answer our questions. The breakfast buffet is complete, but the breakast room is cozy with limited natural daylight since it is in a half-basement. Coffee is instant, but the fresh orange juice helps to compensate. The one area which they need to improve would be the quality of their bedding. For example, we had a king size bed with a queen size synthetic duvet, and there were only two pillows in the room, and they were not of not good quality. Both these facts prevented us for having good night sleeps.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.So valuable for us.
As you mentioned, although centrally located in the center old city Istanbul, we are on a charming quiet street where old local Turkish families resident. As in traditional old style town area, a local life goes on around us. You can relax without the hassle of traders and feel part of a local community in our silent piecefull house. At the other side, there are nice restaurants, café and pubs within several minutes walk to Akbiyik Street. You will also find a perfect route for walking/jogging through the seaside which is 3 minutes on foot from our location.

Our reception team is well trained to welcome our guests like in their home. For one week, one student worked during absence of our night reception. Probably you stayed in our hotel that period. Our night reception returned from vacation, he has been working in years in old city and capable in English and Russian.

We have very nice terrace with nice view. We help arranging our guests to have breakfast in terrace if they like. We would be happy to do it for you also.

We have extra pillows in wardrobe. We would be very happy to replace if you do not like existing ones. We will definitely check all our pillows and discuss with our guests on such issue.

Once our guests mention about their demands, we would do best to satisfy all. Even before hearing their requirements,taking action.
Thank you. We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Esans hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This hotel is located in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul, about a five minute walk from the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. From the beginning, the staff were extremely helpful and did whatever they could to ensure my wife and I enjoyed our stay. They serve breakfast every morning, made up of bread, cheeses, jams, fruits, a couple of egg scrambles, and more. Tea and fresh squeezed orange juice was always waiting for us when we woke up and went downstairs. There's a rooftop terrace with a beautiful view. One of the staff members told me they're going to use it for breakfast in the summer time.

The room was warm and had everything we needed. Only issue we had was on the first night and involved noisy upstairs neighbors. The walls aren't too thick so if someone above you is loud, you'll hear it. The location was perfect. Only a few minutes walk to the main historic sites, and the backpacker district with plenty of great restaurants and bars is even closer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadolax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,155 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,155 in Istanbul
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,155 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#57 of 1,155 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing