We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esans Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$769
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regie Ottoman Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
700
161
18
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
161
18
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstopkapi palaceold cityblue mosquerooftop terraceno elevatorturkeyperfect locationthird floorwithin walking distancetop flooreach morningmain attractionshotel is locatedquiet streetbreakfast was deliciousstayed for nightssultanahmet district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

As stated elsewhere, this is a small, very clean and friendly hotel within walking distance of the "big three" sights: Topkapi, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. It also has a wondeful rooftop terrace with great views. (This was advertised as where one had breakfast. Yes, the management said, they would bring your breakfast tray up there if you wished, but it's not their normal breakfast location.)

The staff is indeed very friendly and accomodating. Don't count on perfect English however -- with the result that you may not always get what you think you've requested even though they're trying like mad to provide what you want.

The rooms are large. We did book the family room - to make sure we had a large room - although we later saw that many of the other rooms are equally comfortable (and air conditioned). The bathrooms are clean (but bring your own washcloth). And the Wi-Fi worked well.

Its location is good but to get back from some locations in Istanbul can be quite difficult because although there's a taxi rank only as block and a half away for getting to the center of town, very few cab drivers can find the location coming back. Be sure and get written instructions from the front desk as you depart anywhere. Note that our friends, who stayed longer than we did, discovered after we left that there is a very simple one-stop train that works beautifully to get to, say, the Spice Market. But we weren't told about that by the front desk.

There is no elevator so be warned you may have as much as a three flight walk-up, especially if you book the family room.

Summary, if you are even a little bit adventurous and you want to be in the historic Sultanahmet district, the Esans Hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TallyHo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.
Would like to mention that our our location is very handy. Train station is couple of minutes walking where tramway station is 6 minutes by walking. Since the train station is the last station to Sirkeci, the train timetable does not correspond to announced listing. Train frequency varies from 15 minutes to 25 minutes where tramway is every 3 minutes till midnight. It is much more prefable to use tramway since it has many mid-station and connections till Sirkeci. However as per your valuable review, our front desk started to include train information (plusses and minuses) to our valuable guests during Istanbul orientation information given during check in.
We wish to have chance to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Booked this on the basis of Trip Advisor ranking.Very helpful staff in what is a newish hotel.Good sized room with all the essentials including air con.Nice breakfast buffet.Good location also.Slightly perplexed at its ranking but lack experience of other hotels in town.Would happily stay there again though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.

There are major differences of our hotel comparing to other hotels in area which supports us for such ranking. I.e. Fine traditional tasteful decorated rooms, Free phone call to regular lines to US, Canada and Most EU Countries, full hotel insurance covering our guests against accidents, wooden building with strong steel bone Infrastructure and human-centric traditional hospitality. The hotel is managed by a Turkish Family who owns the building. So very well maintained equipments and rooms.
We wish to have chance to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a small boutique hotel very close to the Sultanahmet area. The rooms are large with small flatscreen TV, nice closet with a safe and a nice bathroom. The best aspects of this hotel are the very helpful staff and close location to the old town tourist sites (Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia). The breakfast is very good, with plenty of choices, and they will freshly squeeze orange juice for you. You can choose to eat your breakfast in the ground floor lobby or on the rooftop with a beautiful view of the sea. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have an elevator so it can be a bit of a haul to upper bedrooms or the rooftop terrace. The hotel is located next to a parking lot so you can hear some noise from the street, particularly if you are in one of the lower rooms. Overall a good budget choice where you will receive excellent service from the staff and a terrific place to explore all of the outstanding sites of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USCtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review. So important for us.

A small note, during your visit in Istanbul, it was local feast time. (Twice a year) For this reason, the traffic and parking areas were busy. In normal days, the parking place and our street are very silent since our street is a dead - end street and no traffic and quite silent comparing to parallel busy streets.
We wish to have chance to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in July 2011, on my way to Singapore from England. The most outstanding thing was the friendliness and homeliness of the staff. The rooms were good, no doubt, but it was the staff that won over our hearts, especially their respectful and helpful attitude towards elderly people. The hotel is a short walk to the beach, and also walking distance to the Blue Mosque. Their pick up service from the airport was reliable, and everything proceeded without any glitches. Breakfast in the morning is enough to keep you going for the day. To take taxis ask the hotel staff to call them for you, otherwise some taxi drivers rip you off.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ_in_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We found this hotel by chance, having arrived to Istambul without reservations, we just took to metro to Sultanahmet and looked for hotels, another hotel refered it to us. The standard rooms we chose was nicely decorated and very clean, the bed was very good, bathroom was new, and we had a view to the sea. The hotel offers free of charge to put an aroma of your preference in the room, which we declined. The terrace has an spectacular sea view and to Aya Sophia. It is within walking distance of all major attractions. Staff was very helpful and tried to their fullest to accomodate our needs. Breakfast buffet is really good, however if you want to have it in the terrace you have to take it up yourself. They have transportation to the aiport by bus at set times, or private service. We preferred to take took a cab for 35 TLY, which is more convenient. We highly reccomend it, and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evelyne_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews