We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it all - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it all - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed in Esans Hotel last month for 6 nights (sorry only getting round to the review now) and I have to say it was great. This was my first time in Istanbul and I was unsure as to where to stay as I was on my own. After reading many reviews I decided to go for Esans and I was not disappointed.
The location was perfect. It's literally 10 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and a range of shops and restaurants. The free airport pickup took the pain out of finding the hotel.
It is a small - only 8 rooms - but it is just perfect for a relaxing stay. The staff were great. They all took time out to speak to you and where always on hand to help with any questions or queries I had.
The room was quaint but a good size and it was spotless. There was little view from the room itself but there was a rooftop terrace where you could sit and see the sea. To be honest when I had been out all day, it didn't really bother me to have a view or not as I just relaxed in the room.
Breakfast was a range of traditional foods and breads and if you wanted something that wasn't there they were only too happy to arrange that for you. There is no restaurant in the hotel but as I mentioned before it is just around the corner of many restaurants.
I would have stayed an extra night only it was fully booked so I had to move. The hotel I moved to was more expensive and didn't come close to Esans.
I'd definitely stay in Esans again if I was to return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank All-Year-Round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    156
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
162
384
80
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at Esans hotel (having chosen it after reading sveral reviews here and in depth research) and were not disappointed one bit!
We stayed for 5 nights in the superior room. What we discovered is each room has a fragrance to it (and I assume that is where the name Esans comes from).The perfume can get a bit too much so we requested the manager to not have it sprayed everyday and it was just fine. Our rooms was immaculately designed with a big double bed (the size of bed often being a complain for Istanbul hotels)
The staff are very friendly and helpful and try their best to make sure we are ok.
Breakfast is a range of breads, fresh pastry such as cheese cigars, cheeses. Eggs, fruit and fresh orange juice. The bread was to die for!
We really enjoyed our stay. Truly a warm and hospitable place. The beauty about the place is that it is wlaking distance to Sultanahmet and all its attractions but it is on a small quiet street on the backside hence you dont get all the noise and commotion as you do on the main street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreyashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Our family of four spent five nights at the Esans and can affirm all of the positive reviews we read about it on Tripadvisor. The rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfasts were excellent, and the staff went out of its way to make us happy. As a matter of fact, we were actually walked to our restaurants on the first two nights of our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the sea -- but hurry, because they are reserved first! Also keep in min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkmAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
te awanga
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great service, always ready to help, lovely rooms, ours was a little small. At breakfast there was a typical Turkish spread but here there was fabulous choice with everything being very fresh for Istanbul. They also have a fab chef who cooks different things each day such as the finest pancakes and wonderful omlettes etc

The hotel is so well placed for the sites it could not be better. Engin was so good he even offered to take us on his day off to some sites. The night staff were also very helpful. It was expensive but considering where it is the price is understandable.

Another lovely touch was the wine or tea they brought us if we happened to be in during the day, at no extra charge!

Room Tip: The higher up the room the better the view. The stairs might be an issue for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My sister and I stayed here after a 2 week bus tour of Turkey . It was a perfect place to spend our last 3 days in Turkey. The rooms were large and tastefully decorated.. As there was no lift the staff carried our suitcases to our room..it is in a very handy position to all the attractions . The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble .I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe pick a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor as the floors are wooden and could be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We only stayed one night here, but wish we would have stayed more. Possibly one of the best values in the old city, honestly! This was the first night of our honeymoon in Turkey and Greece and the entire staff of the Esans made us feel special and welcome!

From the moment we booked (via booking.com), we had good communication with the staff -- we arranged an airport pickup through the hotel and they were waiting for us at international arrivals without issue! Upon arrival at the hotel, we met Engin (with his fancy haircut!) and were presented with a couple of glasses of Turkish sweet wine and some Turkish Delight while our check-in was processed. Our bags were taken up the stairs to our room (which was on the first floor -- street level), Dervish Odour room. All rooms in the hotel are named for scents ("Esans" must mean "essence" in Turkish, I think).

The room was a good size and very attractively appointed. It was, in fact, in the same color palette as our wedding -- Tiffany blue and brown! The bed was a bit firm, but the pillows were cushy. Just after checking in, the staff brought us up a little plate of fruit as a "welcome." I don't know if they do that for everyone or if it was special for our honeymoon. It was lovely.

The bathroom and shower were very nice (with decent water pressure) and the A/C worked beautifully. The hotel is in the middle of everything and the staff truly goes out of their way to please. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and were sent to Tria (about 1 block away) which was gorgeous, romantic (rooftop restaurant with a view of the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque) and only about $50 USD for 2 people with wine. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was fabulous -- plates of meats, cheeses, eggs, olives, tomatoes, plus yogurt and toast. A huge spread...far better than what we got at other more expensive hotels on our trip!

We were awakened by the call to prayer at 5:00 a.m. As mentioned, it's quite loud (even with the A/C fan running), but it was really beautiful, too and we, honestly, didn't mind. We later stayed in a different hotel at the end of our trip which was twice the price and, while pretty glamourous, doesn't beat the Esans for value. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spycygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at the Esans hotel in Istanbul for three nights, and it was a delightful experience. The hotel is small and quaint. Our room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. They provided directions, called taxis and tried to resolve an issue with our tour. The hotel is also just a two minute walk from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topaki Palace.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing