We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful gem..”
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #29 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“delightful gem..”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Like all reviews, we will not differ...

I may not agree with the # 13 rating but can conclude this was a comfortable little gem snugly settled in the very touristy Sultanhamet area.

we were committed an arrival transfer and were happy to see the driver waiting for us after a long flight. The drive to the hotel was about 30 minutes . we had an excellent price deal on the hotel and were graciously accorded an upgrade for one of the rooms ( we booked 3).

On arrival we were offered hazelnuts and tea/coffee ( a distinct Esans welcome hallmark) and were very graciously introduced to the hotel staff by Engin and Abdullah.

The hotel is walking distance to all the touristic sites of Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Sultanhamet square. The tram stop is also around 10-15 minutes walking and takes TL 2 for most tram stations.

The area around is dotted with lovely European styled restaurants and a dinner at one of these is highly recommended ( they did offer us group discounts for dinner being off peak season).

Breakfast is adequate to good though I would prefer to see more vegetarian options. They did however offer us a special vegetarian spinach borek ( veg spinach puff pastry) on one of our breakfasts.

Rooms were adequate size( The superior room was bigger). They also have a terrace on the 4th floor which is great venue for drinks with dinner.

Mustafa was a great help with the assistance and what stands out really is the personal touch that they bring into the dealing with clients and are happy to answer all your questions the best they can. regrettably with 5* hotels this is not something that you can experience .

So if you are looking for a good , warm and friendly hotel with great prices and close to everything .. this is the place to go.. Highly recommended ******.

They do true justice to Turkish hospitality. Tamom....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajay069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    158
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
169
391
89
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

İt was a lovely journry all the way from San Juan to İstanbul. We had doubts where we will stay,actually after a few trials we found Esans hotel in the centre of all treasures of istanbul offers. Just a small walk takes you heart of the old town, old the places, Aya Sophia and all. Hotel was bright new and people were very kind and friendly. Hope to come soon guys, we will miss you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Esans is a lovely oasis of calm in the bustling touristy district of the old city. Tucked into a quiet side street (right near a staircase that conveniently leads to a main drag), there's a distinct feeling here of a family-run place. We were greeted with an immediate offer of Turkish delight and hazelnuts with tea and coffee, and Engin and Mustafa were eager to help us with both our bags and finding our way around the city.

Rooms here are impeccably clean and decorated in a charming, cozy fashion. Same goes for bathrooms. I constantly marveled at how well-taken-care-of the whole place was.

I expected because the hotel is fairly small that breakfast would not be as extravagant as Turkish breakfast usually is, but wrong! There's a lovely array of jams, salads, cheeses, breads/pastries, and there were usually two hot egg dishes every morning. Plus, the absolute best: fresh squeezed pomegranate juice every morning.

The lobby feels a bit like a well-worn living room, but there are two laptops for customers' use and a phone where one can make free international calls.

All in all, very pleased with our experience and only wish we could have stayed longer! A great balance of being super close/convenient to the major sites in Sultanahmet while maintaining a great feeling of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beccaboom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is so valuable for us to monitor our service and interfere immediately if needed.

Your positive feedback is conveyed among our team. Receiving such positive feedbacks increase our job satisfaction and appreciation.

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Esans is one of the most charming hotels I have ever stayed at. It is located in the old part of Istanbul, just 2 minutes from Topkapi Palace and Sultan Ahmet Square and some of the most important sights in Istanbul. As for the night life, that part of the town is not where you would choose to go, but very reasonable taxi prices in Istanbul, distance from the nightlife areas is not an issue.
Upon the entrance you already feel welcome and some special warmth of the place. Each room has its theme. They are absolutely clean, have all you need. Design is really special, combination of the old and modern with a number of details everywhere, but still displayed with taste and in a quantity that will not make you feel overburden with details.
Breakfast was really good, with selection of cheese, vegetables, pastries, fresh juice. They even served pancakes to us.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, ready to spend time with you giving directions, explaining things or just chatting. When we were leaving they gave us bracelets with blue eye. I found that very charming.
Now I have my base in Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LejlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We arrived at Ataturk airport at 05.30am and it seemed to be no problem for the check-in staff. The pre-arranged airport pick-up went smoothly and despite the early hour our room was ready and immediately available. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. This place offers value, cleanliness a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at the Esans Hotel in Istanbul in November and were very impressed with the quality of service offered to us. Beyond a comfortable room, good location, and superb breakfast, the staff at this hotel offers a friendly and welcoming environment. It is rare to receive such personalized attention at a hotel - ranging from advice, changing our room, directions, help with transport, reservations, and nice conversation. This staff makes the most out of your stay in Istanbul.

The hotel accommodation is deceiving at first. The lobby is set down at the garden level, and is a bit dark and overrun with trinkets. However once in the room the quality of the hotel is evident. Beds are very comfortable, there is plenty of light, the room and bathroom are impeccably clean. The soap is good (its the little things sometimes...). The breakfast is outstanding with fresh squeezed orange and pomegranate juice, fresh made pastries and pancakes, and a startling array of traditional Turkish breakfast items. Book the superior room on the third floor. It is worth the extra money.

Room Tip: third floor superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This hotel was a lovely surprise. Hidden away from the other hotels, it is close to all the restaurants, markets and tourist attractions in Istanbul. The staff were very helpful, arranged airport transfers for us and an outing to see the whirling dervishes. Engin was very helpful even before we arrived and definitely an asset to the hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#12 of 1,154 in Istanbul
901 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,154 in Istanbul
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,154 in Istanbul
710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#69 of 1,154 in Istanbul
744 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing