We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Esans hotel Istanbul”
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Well, what a treat. We stayed 4 nights at Esans in Istanbul and what a beautiful small typically Turkish hotel it was. The location was superb, in a quiet street nestled between the blue Mosque and the river, close to the train and close to great restaurants and all of the sights.

The highlight of this stay were the staff who were superb. I have stayed in accommodation all around the world, however the staff at this hotel cannot be matched. Engin and Ayculd ( may have is spelled this) were wonderful. They gave us lots of information and we had lots of informal chats.

We stayed in a lovel room and there was a roof top with fantastic views of the blue mosque and the river, unfortunately the weather was too cold for breakfast on the roof.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay again if I return to Istanbul. Some people have complained about the stairs, however everywhere we stayed in europe, other than the large chain hotels had stairs, and this is insignificant when you staye in accommodation which is typical to the country. My freind and I have severe arthritis in feet etc, however we managed, rather than stay in large chain hotel.

Wonderful stay, thankyou staff.

Donna p

Room Tip: Would have booked a room with sea view but none available. However cannot complain about our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was a good size and clean but there is no lift so suitcases had to be carried up a narrow staircase. The breakfast was simple and unexciting. It is in a very good location for seeing the sites, all within walking distance. Still it is overpriced for what it is and I wouldn't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nayeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

As most of the hotels in Sultanahmet, our Hotel does not have a lift since it is archaeological protected site area.Most of the buildings are protected heritage. It is not possible to install elevator to such protected heritage buildings like ours. However our staff is eager to carry all of our guests' luggages and even your shopping bags daily to/from your room. We enjoy it.

In the end, we are very sorry that your experience was not as positive as of our others guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having delivered an exceptional experience and please be assured that I have addressed each point with my team here.

Thank you
Best Regards
Esans Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Very good location to visit historic Istanbul. 3 mins walk to Agia Sophia and Topkapi Palace and 5 mins to the Blue Mosque. Nice room with a lovely sea view. Great rooftop terrace. Staff is very friendly and breakfast includes turkish spreads, crepes, fresh orange juice etc.....I will stay here again when I return to Istanbul. Thanks Esans Hotel for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMelb3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Nice place to stay close to key attractions. Easy to reach the Bosphorus tourist port for the beautiful trip.Close also to Tram stop (be sure to have coins to buy the tickets.
Very friendly staff doing whatever to make your stay enjoyable.Tea and coffee at any time.
Good restaurants just round the corner,
Breakfast is ok, with fresh orange juice.
Rooms are clean although a little small.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100,397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The perfect location for a city break in Istanbul. Steps away from key attractions like Blue Mosque, within walking distance from grand bazaar and spice bazaar. You can also get easily on the tourist port for Bosphorus trip or ferry crossing to asian side and a taxi station is 20m away.

There are several small hotels in the area, this at least is protected from heavy noise of the taverns - bars or traffic.

They put a lot of focus on service and breakfast quality....I have stayed for 1 night in a different hotel nearby and Esans was significantly better on these 2 criteria.

Rooms are good, clean, no view, premium room at +30m2, lcd tv with many programs. I have checked the terrace, it has a sea view...nothing spectacular and most hotels around will have smthg similar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

A lovely little family run hotel mere steps away from all the main tourist sights. Staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, quickly responding to emails and offering tea and coffee at any time of day. The hotel is charming with sweet little rooms and an absolutely delicious breakfast spread, completely with orange juice squeezed right in front of you. While I would not stay in the historic core on return trips to Istanbul (the best restaurants are elsewhere), I very highly recommend this location and Hotel Esans for Istanbul first-timers (or anyone who loves staying in the historic centre.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sha43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Fast service picked up at the airport
Fast check in
Execellent location very close to the Blue Mosque the most amazing thing to see at night
Good breakfast and fresf orange juice
Lovely staff very helpfull
Close to Tram stop
Main sights very close within walking distance
A lot of restaurants close by
Room very cute and romatic but walls needs to be sound proof
Nice terrace
Close to the sea
Taxi on time going back to the airport
Ill stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,178 in Istanbul
954 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,178 in Istanbul
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#8 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £27 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing