We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was back there”
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Esans Hotel 2 weeks ago after a cruise to Istanbul. Both before our arrival (more later) and during our stay, the friendly service was great. The booking process was simple by internet. All our dumb tourist questions were answered immediately. When we arrived in Istanbul, a day before the end of our cruise, we went to Esans to drop off laundry. Immediate attention, with a young bellhop running it to the nearby laundry and it was ready when we checked in the following day. We were also offered refreshments even though we were technically not guests yet.
Our room was on the first floor, spacious and clean, nicely decorated. Breakfasts were adequate, more to the European tastes than ours, but with a large variety .And the same young bellhop was there squeezing oranges for fresh juice! We enjoyed our stay at this well located hotel and would definitely recommend it to you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liquipure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent three nights here in mid May. Our room (the Sultan Room) was on the third floor and the view of the Bosphorus was absolutely amazing. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, quiet, and it and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. We also stayed one night at the end of May one floor down, and while not as quiet as the top floor, still very nice. Breakfasts were always tasty, a nice variety, plenty to choose from, and even fresh squeezed orange juice. It’s only minutes by foot to top sites like Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, Arasta Bazaar, etc. But the best thing about Esans is the staff. They are warm, welcoming, and always ready to help in any way. It was a real treat to stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrunkenMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in two boutique hotels in Istanbul, and this was my favorite.

The staff if very nice: they speak English better than most on the Istanbul tourism industry and were exceedingly friendly. I had a friend who was not staying at this hotel but needed help and they helped her too. There's tea and coffee on the lobby area at all hours, the rooms are clean and cute (albeit a little small), and the wifi works fine.

The area is also great. My other hotel was closer to sultanhamet tram stop and on the other side of sultanhamet park/ the blue mosque / aya sofia. The side closer to the river is much cuter - still touristy but older, smaller streets and smaller establishments - definitely the side of sultanhamet to be on.

Overall, great experience!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Danielle Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This is small boutique hotel in the Sultanahmet area. The location is perfect: just a very short walk to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Also, the hotel is close to a number of restaurants and shopping opportunities. Staff is very friendly as well.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank wpbkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Esans staff are really friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and ever-so comfortable. We stayed for four nights and really appreciated the tiny size of the place (only eight rooms), which means that the staff really get to know you, breakfasts are quiet and there's never any noise or hassle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millhouse987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at the Esans Hotel. The "Harem" room was spacious, quiet, and comfortable for the 3 of us. Everything was perfect--from the optional airport pick-up/drop-off, easy check in, lovely room, delicious breakfast, and especially the rooftop terrace with the view of the sea. One night we ordered take-away from a restaurant close by and dined on our own private patio with the spectacular view--great option for travel-weary guests. We could not have asked for a more ideal location--easy walk to the "blue mosque", Topkapi Palace, Aga Sophia, and both markets. The service at the Esans is exceptional--fresh-squeezed oj at breakfast, beautiful artisinal soaps in the bathroom, and a super friendly staff. Would definitely recommend the Esans Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My Mum & I spent 3 nights at Esans & absolutely loved it. It was recommended to us by a friend & we were so happy we stayed here. The rooms are beautiful, big & clean, its a small hotel, only 8 rooms, which is lovely. The staff are wonderful - super friendly & helpful, especially Edin, who was amazing. Breakfast was delicious, lots of variety. The location is fantastic - right by all the major sights of The Old Town & close to streets & streets of restaurants. I'd easily stay here again & wouldn't hesitate in recommending others to do the same!

Room Tip: If you can, requested a room on the upper levels as the walls/floors are quite thin so you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahlea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,160 in Istanbul
930 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,160 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,021 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,160 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#28 of 1,160 in Istanbul
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing