We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, perfect location”
Review of Hotel Novano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Novano
Ranked #28 of 1,063 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely people, perfect location”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

No frills hotel, brilliant location - short walk from everything to see in Sultanahmet. Breakfast is a good mix of intercontinental and turkish foods. Very comfortable clean rooms. The family that runs the hotel is lovely. Their recommendation for food, shopping etc are spot on. They made us feel at home :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transient-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    69
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here in Istanbul. Breakfast was better then we expected. Home made crepes one day. No balcony terrace for views, but easy to find them at other hotels around. Staff was friendly. It was very clean and water was hot. We were impressed that the windows kept out the street noise. Would absolutley stay here again. Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nudibranchsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We only stayed at Hotel Novano for two nights, because we had previous reservations elsewhere in the Sultanhamet. We just used Novano to fill a two-night gap after we changed our Itinerary slightly. But we were very happy with it.

The major attractions of Old Istanbul are close enough to walk to from Hotel Novano (Hagia Sophia, the Cistern, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, a small bazaar, the museums, etc.) and there is a tram stop about ten minutes away that can take you anywhere -- including to and from the airport for just a few dollars. If you are a walker, you can walk down to the docks at Eminonu in just a few minutes, and you'll have your choice of ferries across the Bosporus to the Asian side and over to New Istanbul, etc. You could even walk to the Grand Bazaar, but it does make sense to take the tram for that, since the Bazaar involves so much exploring anyway.

Like all hotels in this area that are converted residences, there are no elevators for the multiple floors. We don't consider this a problem, but some people might. Hotel Novano is maintained in impeccable condition throughout, and presents a fine face to the street. Some of the other hotels on the block looked a little down-at-the-heels in comparison.

The room was very well furnished, if a bit cramped. Everything was in perfect condition, the bathroom was very clean and well supplied, there were wooden hangars for our clothes, and the AC was very effective and whisper quiet when we needed it. Breakfast buffet was Turkish: fresh veggies, boiled eggs, tasty olives, cold cuts and cheese, pastry, fresh juice and good coffee. Loved it all.

There is a lively street scene outside, with multiple restaurants and a variety of shops, plus a couple of small stores that are Istanbul's version of a 7/11. The latter are really handy for bottled water, snacks, etc. Some of the food at the restaurants is so-so, and at other places it it quite good. You just need to sample for yourself, but you can't beat the convenience of having a place to eat ready at hand. You DON'T want to be driving in Istanbul and should try to avoid taxis, too. The taxi drivers, like in many busy tourist areas, aren't all completely honest. If you really have to take one, have your hotel call for you. That increases your odds of getting an honest cabbie.

Some people complained in their reviews of noise from other rooms, but we heard none. Our room was on the back, and the hotel backs up close to an ancient Byzantine wall, so we had no "view" in the usual sense. However, we were MORE than compensated by the charm of having a dove nesting in the wall just a few feet from our window. She coo-ed us to sleep at night. Views are one thing, but that was special. Lovely! I'm sure it beat the view of the street.

We did not hear the call to prayer from our room, but if we had, it would have delighted us. We enjoyed it every time we did hear it, day and night, during the whole two weeks we were in Istanbul.

The only negative we felt at Hotel Novano was the lack of a computer for quests to use. We had not brought our laptop, so we had no communication with home for the time we were there. But that was not a biggee since our stay was short.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Hotel Novano is well located in a pleasant street close to the main tourist areas of Aya Sofia and Topkapi Palace. The room was very comfortable and well decorated, but on the small side and overlooking an 800 year old wall at the back of the hotel. This was not a problem as we were out exploring the city. The buffet breakfasts were particularly good with friendly helpful service and freshly cooked eggs and pancakes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandj004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topaki Palace. We were able to walk to these sights go back and rest and return for sunset pictures. Rooms were very nice, clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast excellent and staff very helpful. They organized tours and airport pickup for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at Novano Hotel for 5 nights in September 2012. Location is excellent, you will be in the heart of Sultanahmet, and will be able to go walking to almost the best attractions: Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Hipodromme, Basilica Cistern. You are also close to the tram, and if you are a good walker, also you can go easily to the Grand Bazaar, the Suleymaniye Mosque, Eminonu and the Bosphorus & cross Galata bridge and enjoy the best of Galata Area.
The room was new, very clean & comfortable. The breakfast was superb! delicious variety of cheeses, olives and Turkish seeds/raisins. The staff was also very helpful, willing to assist you in finding the best for your stay. One day it was my husband´s birthday, so they surprised us with a bottle of wine in our room to celebrate.
At night, the neighborhood is very lively, full of people & shows at restaurants, so it is a delight to wonder around listening to the music & enjoying the magic atmosphere.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel in Sultanahmet, you will be so well located and will feel the real Turkish atmosphere and culture, much better than in the quarter of Beyoglu.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor, but was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INDIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Hotel is located in a quiet area of Sultanahmet but at the same time very close to many good restaurants.
The front desk stuff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast not very fancy but enough.
Be aware of the fact that it is a 4 levels building w/o elevator.
I really recommend this hotel for your visit in Istanbul especially if u wanna visit Old City of Istanbul.
T1 tram line offers good coverage to the rest of the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st or 2nd floor ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristyyy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#268 of 1,154 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#58 of 1,154 in Istanbul
105 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
#621 of 1,154 in Istanbul
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
#571 of 1,154 in Istanbul
142 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,063 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,063 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novano

Property: Hotel Novano
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:74 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,063 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novano 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Novano is situated in the Old Walled City and it is only a walking distance to the important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars&restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotels district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing