We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Hotel New House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New House
Ranked #666 of 1,078 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends in a triple room as part of the Euro trip, and it was definitely the most expensive and worst experience in the entire trip. Although location in old city is nice, other friends stayed at better hotels for similar prices. Room was dirty, staff try to sell you stuff and give bad advice (when they even speak English), breakfast is terrible, the elevator is sufferable and the room is also very small. As if this were not enough, we stayed for two nights and they did not clean the room in the second day - when I complained, they said I should have asked them to clean it! Definitely try to avoid this one.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great location. 5 minutes from Grand Bazaar in one side and from Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque on the other. Hotel staff is really nice and helpful. Rooms are not great, but are fair to the price charged. The only bad aspect for the hotel is the noise: you can hear every single noise from the street and from other rooms in your floor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lélia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Good:
Our evening arrival was complicated by horrible traffic. Taxi driver called the hotel and their staff met us on a street about 200 m away, and helped carry luggage up a steep hill to reach hotel. It would have taken us another 30 minutes, to reach the hotel street, based on traffic congestion. That was very nice.
Location is great; within walking distance to a number of major attractions.
Lots of restaurants very close by, including street vendors.
Very tiny hotel with a few rooms on each floor.
Extremely tiny elevator - 3 adults cannot fit at once. Humorous.
Staff very friendly and very helpful. Helped us arrange some sight-seeing with reliable transportation.
They had umbrellas available for guests.
Rooms were small, but typical for buildings in this area.
Beds were comfortable.
Bathroom size was OK. Good amount of hot water. Good water pressure.
Breakfast buffet was OK. Some nice local items. Good quality fresh breads. Nice fresh yogurt.

The Bad:
As others have noted, smell of cigarette smoke is noticeable in most areas.
Lighting in stairs was not good. Narrow stairs felt unsafe if the motion sensor lights did not go on.
The center of the room was clean, but the periphery was very unclean. Dusty, dirty, nail-clippings in corner (yuck!).
Peeling wallpaper along the window edges, and wall-ceiling junctions.
Bathroom had tub that was about 10 cm shorter than the width of the bathroom. That large gap allowed water from shower to run into rest of the bathroom. After one shower, the entire bathroom floor was flooded.
The gap along the wall was extremely dirty.
Bathtub-wall junction was extremely moldy.
False ceiling above bath was very low, and saturated with mold. I am average height, and bumped the ceiling while drying myself. A black, moldy dust covered me. Disgusting!

Summary: If they would clean up the rooms (esp. bathroom) and ask staff to smoke away from the main entrance, this could be a very nice property.

Room Tip: Go up to the roof-top terrace which has clean air and good views of the neighborhood and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawanoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The hotel is generally nice, spacious, clean and good value for the price you pay. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Size of the bath room is rather spacious for SultanAhmet area hotel.

However, heavy cigaret smoke smell kept creeping into my room. I managed to get intermittent smoke-free peace from the hours of 2am~5am. The heavy smoke smell was very disruptive to my sleep throughout the night. Staying at the top floor, I traced the smell down to the 1st floor staff room, to my dismay.

Breakfast selections were at par with the price of the stay. Wide ranges of selections, nevertheless.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaddex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The location is handy to the tram and attractions of the old city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was adequate in size and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful but cold. It was quite noisy in the evening with the windows open. The shower was unacceptably dirty with significant mold in the corners.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesandMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The good: Most attractions are within walking distance and the tram station is very near. Clean room. Free Wifi.The manager/staff are quite helpful.

The bad: Room very small. The bedspread doubles as a blanket is not nice and slips off bed easily. One of the staff was not very happy that we took some water from the drinking machine after we checked out. Said something to other staff in Turkish. You can tell by his expression and tone it was not nice. The manager, who appeared to be friendly, offered us drinks and snacks but implied subtly we should tip him - not nice. We tipped the man who carried our luggage but we didn't have the habit of tipping the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlCool383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My sister and I found this small hotel near the Cemberlitas tram stop in Istanbul. Sinar Hasar, the proprietor, was gracious and helpful. Other employees were also friendly and went out of their way to assist in any way. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a welcome "cold drink." Both computer and printer were made available to us, without charge, when we needed to access some travel docs. Our room, a suite, had large windows to allow in plenty of sunlight as well as an up to date and clean bathroom. Very convenient location--across the street from tram station and the Grand Bazaar. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if the suite on top floor is available. Although we did not reserve a suite, it was offered to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#198 of 1,159 in Istanbul
159 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#263 of 1,159 in Istanbul
719 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#271 of 1,159 in Istanbul
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nanda
#1,023 of 1,159 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
#720 of 1,159 in Istanbul
44 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#414 of 1,159 in Istanbul
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New House

Address: Emin Sinan Mah. Evkaf Sok. No:6 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 1,078 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £1,037 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New House was open in the historical city center of Istanbul in 2012 to serve you, Esteemed Guests.Embraced modern hotel business and the notion of excellent quality service, our hotel went into serviceLocated in the city center, the hotel is so close to all places such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum and Topkapi Palace where all historical and touristic beauties of Istanbul and Ottoman and Byzantine cultures are engaged. Also these places can easily be reached by walking or by tram.We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. A 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Through out your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. A breathe from the glamour Ottoman sultanate lodges. Renovated authentic style and modernized Ottoman decoration are embrancing an ancient house and changing it to an impressive hotel.Hotel New House offers a variety of clean and comfortable rooms at a great price. Each one is appointed with air conditioning and en suite bathroom facilities.Hotel New House offers an airport pick-up service from both Ataturk and Sabiha Gökçen Airport,All rooms are equipped with 22 inc LCD tv, Air-conditioning, direct dial phone, smoke dedector, minibar, safety-boxes and private bathroom with shower , hair dryer, evaporated mirror and phone.Free wireless internet access is available in Hotel New House lobby and all rooms, should you need to stay in touch with work or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing