We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK as a pub but not as a hotel restaurant & bar”

The North Shield Pub
Ranked #5,274 of 13,484 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“OK as a pub but not as a hotel restaurant & bar”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Weird really - we were staying in the Hagia Sophia Hotel which is attached to this "pub". It is oddly named as we associate North Shields with a particular area of North Eastern England - and I have not yet been able to find a historical significance for the use of the name in Istanbul - anyway - as a hotel restaurant it was not to our style and we preferred to venture out into the city and any one of number of more authentic restaurants. If you are not comfortable in foreign cities or perhaps travelling alone then I am sure it would be fine, but it was really a big UK-style pub complete with football projected onto a wall in the garden area - really not in keeping with what fashions itself as an upmarket hotel....I'm still finding it slightly weird. It was OK for a final drink before bed but the bar prices seem high.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    16
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love to listen to the waiters arguing”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great pub for watching sport in a strange country but if you want to have a pleasant dining experience do not come here. The food was okay but the waiters arguing spoilt our diner. Take your ego's into the back room and let us enjoy the meal. Enough said.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scootergirlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

A million times better than James Joyce, this place had good food and atmosphere. Clean and modern inside, a good mix of locals and tourists. In a busy and competive neighbourhood they have got it right here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyinCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive pub but handy for sports”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Handy pub if you need to see a sports game and don't mind paying over the odds for a beer, they have 5/6 big screens showing all kinds of sports.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“North shield/port sheild”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

First off this place is called the port shield, all the guide books call it north shields (a place close to where I live back in the UK). We went in on our first night as it was close to where we were staying, it looked inviting (there were no dodgy looking blokes trying to invite us in, or grim looking people glaring out). The prices are way to high, the food is mediocre, you can much better for less. The drinks were okay. Some staff were very friendly. One member of staff (rats tail hair cut) wonders round looking like he's hoping everyone will just leave so he can have a quiet night, is a bit rude. Overall it's okay if your knew and you wanna feel safe/ at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The North Shield Pub also viewed

 

Been to The North Shield Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing