We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Istanbul”
Review of Gulhane Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulhane Suites
Ranked #323 of 1,202 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Istanbul”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed here in 2011, 6 adults, it was not very spacious but good enough as we were out sightseeing all day. It is in an excellent location, just a few mins walk from all big attractions, lots of restaurants and shops right outside the door. Apartment was nice and clean!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmeeniweeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We'd been to Istanbul as a couple before and stayed in Beyoglu, which we really enjoyed. This trip was a three day stopover in Istanbul on the way to Europe, with our three kids (14, 12, & 6) and we wanted to base ourselves in Sultanahmet so we could show them the mosques, the Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar etc.

In terms of location, Gulhane Suites could not have been any better. It is no more than 15 minutes walk from any of the major sites in Sultanahmet, there is a park just across the road, plenty of shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood, and there is a tram stop a few metres down the road which will take you across to the European side.

The apartment was a little on the small side for 5. There were two bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin), a small shower room and a kitchen/sitting room with a sofa bed where one of the kids slept. It's not really set up for cooking meals, but the kitchen works fine for tea/coffee and a bit of breakfast in the morning. The rest of the time we ate out and there is plenty of choice around.

We found Adem to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed there last year in May 12. The location is just all bout perfection just in the middle of ancient city center, restaurants, shops, tram. Rooms are good. Kitchen can be small for 3 persons to eat the breakfast but after all we spent time more out than in. Make sure you will take some map of that place as even thou it is very in the center taxi driver had a problem finding it. The owner is very outgoing and he really tried to do his best to make sure all is fine during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Prime location - close to all major sites and tram - but that is where the five star praise ends. Rooms and bedding were comfortable but bathroom very small and kitchen equipped with bare utensils, allowing only preparation of breakfast. We were in a ground floor apartment for 6 nights and noise on the floor from unit above us made sleep almost impossible - for two nights it sounded like furniture being dragged around thereafter people running across floor. Floor lifting and dangerous, malfunctioning bathroom extractor fan, malfunctioning towel heater, TV aerial held together with masking tape were some of the problems that, despite daily requests, we were not able to have fixed and room servicing extended only to daily refuse removal and clean towels. Security - entrance security door from road often left ajar. And worst of all - Adem did not want to keep to the word of his partner who had said we may stay in the unit free of charge until 3 pm on day of departure - am also still waiting for the promised invoice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The position could not be better. Close to the "must sees", the tram, a host of shops and restaurants and for an escape, Gulhane Park directly opposite.
The 2BR apartment was clean and comfortable with large bedrooms and adequate living space. Self catering was easy with a good supermarket within an easy walk for food, beer and wine. Small food shops are lined along Marudive Hudavingar, some offering "take away" including doner kabab. Unfortunately the kitchen utensils, pots and pans were only just passable for anythig more than basic although the microwave helped.
There are many restaurants in the area with very reasonably priced menus. Montana, immediately below the apartments was as good as any and the staff was very accommodating, reasonably willing to change the menu to suit individuals. Wine in restaurants is comparatively expensive although we found it was possible to negotiate on quality and price and even BYO wine.
The obvious top sites- Haghia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topaiki Palace are very close, so visit later in the day to miss the crowds. The Palace has fabulous separate collections including the Harem, Treasury, Privy Chamber and Kitchens and these may have their own queues. Also close and equally worth a visit are the Basilica Cistern, Spice Markets (we think better than the grand Bizarre) and the Archeological Museum which is just across the street and has sensational exhibits.
Because it’s so central the area is noisy particularly with trams squealing around the corner just below the window and call to prayer from the mosque next door but we thought this part of the local appeal.
We stayed 5 full days and didn’t go further than 2 stops on the tram to fill this time with really top activities so if want to see other parts stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the apartment in September, a great basic, clean comfortable place. Best part is the location! and two terrific restaurants downstairs. The apt. manager was excellent to deal with very reliable, our inbound flight to Ataturk was delayed several hours and out pick was waiting for us even with the delays! Daily towel, and bed make up, even toilet paper was supplied as needed. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked the two bedroom apartment with absolute ease, over the net to accommodate myself, my husband and my father. When we arrived, we were held up for over two hours in passport control and were concerned that our lift would not be waiting. We were pleasantly surprised to find him waiting right outside for us. I was initially a little worried about. Lise as the apartment is right on the tram lines however, the windows are all double glazed and we had no issue with noise. When we arrived at the apartment we found it to be exactly what we needed, with kitchen, bathroom and living area. It is close to Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, about 500 meters from the Blue Mosque and walking distance to the Galata Bridge, spice market and grand bazaar. If you dont want to walk too far, the tram station is about 100 metres from your door. Iwould recommend this place for anyone - Adem was an absolute gentleman to deal with.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nozndaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#213 of 1,149 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#90 of 1,149 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#161 of 1,149 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#217 of 1,149 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Suites

Property: Gulhane Suites
Address: Guzel Sanatlar Sok No:16 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 1,202 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulhane Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gulhane Suites are affordable Istanbul apartments, situated in Sultanahmet, right in the heart of the old city, only steps away from this area's most popular sites and provide great value and an excellent base for enjoying an unforgettable holiday in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gulhane Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing