We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little boutique hotel close to everything”
Review of Hotel Sultan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sultan House
Ranked #180 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at the Sutan House for 7 nights during our visit to Istanbul, and the hotel couldn't have been better. Perfect location literally one block from the Hippodrome on a very quiet back street with a 2 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia, very clean smallish rooms (by US standards) with excellent breakfasts. The staff couldn't have been nicer - very helpful for any request we had, and they all spoke good English (especially Yunus at the front desk). Highly recommended for your stay in Istanbul - they made our holiday totally stress-free.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nijifrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

An excellent little hotel. The location is ideal for the sights. There is a good restaurant close by. The staff are helpful and can give direction to this and other restaurants, sights, etc. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent 7 nights in September 2012. The location of the hotel is in the heart of old town, a walking distance of many landmarks of the city like Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Palace Cistern, The Hipodrome Square, The Turkish And Islamic Arts Museum, and not far away from Grand Bazaar.
The Breakfast at the hotel was nice and The staff were very friendly and helpful (Jihan, Ramadan and Younes)
Two things that i wasnt impressed with:
1. We booked a triple room and we got a double room with an extra bed which was not comfortable.
2. The hotel owner was unfriendly, inhospitable and rude. We were five minutes late and he threatend to send back the driver even though we paid for the airport transfer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahiya-mishmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhouse, Owner at Hotel Sultan House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Hi rude hotel owner writting :)

I want to beleive that there was a communication error because of languages.
Let's reply your 2 complains;

1-) You booked 2 double rooms for 10 days couple of months ago. But prior very short time of your arrival you informed that you are coming as 3 people and you wil stay only 7 days in case of 10 days. So there was no penalty for you for this changes. We offered you 1 double and 1 single room but you choiced that room. Even the room coposed 1 large double bed and 1 single bed, not extra bed. You stayed there as 3 ladies.

2-) We don't have our own car for airport transfers. So we rent it from a proffessional travel agency. This is not our business and we don't earn any money from this service, we are just helping our guests. That's it.
The tranfer car was there on time but 2 of ladies was missing. More less 10 minutes overed the pick up time. Then i kindly asked ; Does your friend's got mobile phone to communicate. Then i said the car can not wait you too much because will go to another hotel after you. They are so busy. I was trying to help you because the paid money was yours and the car was yours.

It's not fair to say me "unfriendly, inhospitable and rude" we just saw each other there for few minutes. As i told at the beganning i guess it was a communication error.

With my best regards.

Zeynel BOZKURT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Excellent in all respects ,From the moment we met the staff ,at this extremely well located hotel, we felt welcomed and well informed of what we should consider doing during our stay. We were escorted to bedrooms that were clean and spacious. All together, staff (Younis,Ramadan & jean) service, breakfast, and location make the cost of our rooms an excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank younis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A family run hotel and fabulous location, literally a stone's throw from all the historic sights. Located just 1 minute walk from the Hippodrome, the spot avoided the hills and was in a quiet area. Younus, at the desk, was very helpful and was keen to help us plan our stay and excursions, however we had already booked these before arriving. before leaving for Istanbul Younus was helpful in answering our queries over the phone and via e-mail. Jehan and Ramazan were also great and happy to help us with whatever we needed including free Wi-Fi and printing. Ramazan helped to resolve our transport debacle with the transport company at 2 o'clock in the morning. Having said this, the hotel is happy to arrange for transfers, for a reasonable charge. Our room was clean, had a mini bar, TV with some English channels and air con. Some very nice Japanese artwork adorned the walls. The room was turned down each day by a conscientious maid, loads of complimentary toiletries and the bed slippers were a novel touch. Only let down was that it was too small to be a family room, beds were crammed in against the windows so they couldn't be opened and the extractor fan in the extremely small shower room had been 'extracted'! Great power shower though. Breakfast was ok, cold meats, nuts, olives, salad, cereal, French toast and boiled eggs. In spite of a couple of minuses the hotel was better than some we have stayed in, definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not too busy ask for a larger room. they are quite accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamina_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Very cosy family run hotel in an ubbeatable location. Close to most of Istanbuls cultural higlights.
The tramway station and restaurants are also closeby. The tramway is most important as the trafic in Istanbul is something special.
For us an unbeatble location.
We stayed at Sultan House for one week and felt at home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at Sultan House for a total of 7 nights for our honeymoon in August.

The (VERY) good: The room we had was well-lit, spacious and EXTREMELY clean.

Breakfast was very good. There was a bit of everything: fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, eggs, french toast, a variety of nuts, raisins, olives, cheeses, ham, dried fruit and other equally delicious food items.

The staff was amazing: Yunus, Ramazan and Jihan were all very helpful. I cannot thank you all enough for making our honeymoon so special. They even gave us a complimentary fruit basket and a bottle of wine... :-)

It is worth staying at this hotel even solely for the location itself. Everything is within walking distance and there are no hills to navigate, unlike other more expensive hotels in Sultanahmet.

The Bad: I didn't totally like the room they gave us on our 1st night but they changed it without hesitation for the rest of the 6 nights.

I will definitely be back at Sultan House and hopefully have the rest of the family join me to enjoy the beauty of Istanbul. Stop looking and just book at Sultan House! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPG888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,478 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#145 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#378 of 1,163 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#150 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#365 of 1,163 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan House

Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Cesmesi Sokak No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £21 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sultan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultan House is a converted Ottoman House located in Sultanahmet, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul, It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, just at the corner of Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes by walking, This is a lovelyjust opened hotel end of 2010 for couples and families with it's 10 elegant rooms and 4 annex appartment equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. All the rooms are quiet and comfortable; furnished and decorated. The Obelisk is in front of the hotel and the Blue Mosque is across the street. You are just a few step away from the history and beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sultan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing