We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , poor service”
Review of Hotel Sultan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sultan House
Ranked #168 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location , poor service”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Despite its quite good location we should have chosen an other place . Staff and manager not that friendly and most of all, I wish a free transfer back to the airport was offered to us as we paid cash , but nothing... Why? When it is proposed to other guests ( as written in some comments here), why was not this offer proposed to us??? Do not understand
And manager: please smile, please reply to your guests or at least have a look at them when they say you "hello". You are very unpolite that is unbearable

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhouse, Owner at Hotel Sultan House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your staying with us.
We are really sorry to hear your negative review.
Our bests are location and staff and it looks you are not happy because of our staff.
We tried to find out you who you are? But it was unable to determine your identity
So if you try to reach us by e-mail or phone and explain your identity we are ready to help you and refund you if necessarry. You can get our contact details from our web site.

From other side we want to explain you one of our promotion; pay cash get free transfer.
We use this promotion generally in winter period and only to Ataturk airport(IST) and amount needs to be over 500 EUR. So we don't know your accommodation period. But if our staff promissed and didin't manage it then of course you are right and we are ready for refund. Your happiness is our first aim.
Looking forward to hearing you.

Zeynel Bozkurt(Mr.)
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    120
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
207
225
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

First experience of Istanbul was amazing. The hotel was literally less than a minute walking distance from the blue mosque, hagia Sophia and local shops. The workers were amazing and ready to help at all times. They went out their way to ensure we were happy. Due to our room being located in the basement we asked for another room and we were upgraded to another room without any cost. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Hope you have the wonderful experience we had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naz152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs uk
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We booked our 5 night stay at the Sultan House based on the excellent reviews on Trip Adviser so were really looking forward to see if it matched the comments made by other guests.
When we booked in we were greeted by the manager, offered a drink and then advised that due to an electrical fault our room was not available. We were advised that a room was available for us at a location 2 minutes walk away. The manager carried our cases to the establishment known as The Dormitory Rooms and showed us to our room on the second floor which had a balcony and partial sea view. We were advised that this hotel had only been open for 2 weeks. The room was nice although sparsely furnished but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate and reception staff were friendly and helpful. Wi fi access was available but only on the ground floor.
We were a little disappointed that we were not contacted by The Sultan House to check if we were ok and possibly offered our original room when the issue was fixed. We were also not offered any form of compensation for the change of booking.
Would have liked to have given the Sultan House 5 stars but we can only give marks based on our experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank btex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

As previously mentioned, many times, the welcome at this small hotel is very warm. All staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly throughout our stay.
The location couldn't be better and the rooms are spotless.
Breakfasts are traditional fare and delicious. Although the coffee comes from a machine, it is surprisingly good.
We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

As a first time traveler to Istanbul, Sultan HOuse offered me the best hospitality that I was expecting. it is a walking distance from most of the major sights that I wanted to see and also all the shopping places where I wanted to go. The staff are very welcoming and always ready to assist. I recommended it to my sister and her friend and they loved it too. very glad I stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KareKASh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

you must stay here if you visit istanbul, welcoming staff. felt like a home away from home. eveything close to hotel. a nice touch is you can help yourself to the many different teas and coffee and filtered water
24/7. thank you sultan house for making our 1st trip so special. esrim and the staff make this cute hotel for sure

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celeste2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location, seconds away from the Hippodrome and a minute walk to the Blue Mosque. The staff were wonderful! All spoke good, clear English, very helpful and exceptionally polite. Very glad we booked this hotel. Felt very welcome and safe. Cannot sign the praises of this hotel enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katzacoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#91 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#126 of 1,154 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#136 of 1,154 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#164 of 1,154 in Istanbul
531 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#72 of 1,154 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#143 of 1,154 in Istanbul
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan House

Property: Hotel Sultan House
Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Cesmesi Sokak No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sultan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultan House is a converted Ottoman House located in Sultanahmet, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul, It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, just at the corner of Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes by walking, This is a lovelyjust opened hotel end of 2010 for couples and families with it's 10 elegant rooms and 4 annex appartment equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. All the rooms are quiet and comfortable; furnished and decorated. The Obelisk is in front of the hotel and the Blue Mosque is across the street. You are just a few step away from the history and beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sultan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing