We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Guesthouse Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Guesthouse Istanbul
Ranked #182 of 1,012 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    33
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
29
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Clean rooms, excellent location and a good breakfast with a great view from the roof terrace.
The City Guest House has an excellent location for sightseeing, a couple of minutes walk from the major attractions of the old city.
The hotel organised a taxi for us from the airport and everything worked really smoothly. The room was clean and warm with a big double bed, and a clean, good power shower.
It was very reasonably priced and we were very pleased with our choice. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was filling. The roof terrace has an amazing sea view.
The only downer is the noise from the railway nearby over night, but this was minor. A well recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Istanbul City Guesthouse was clean and comfortable. One could spend a lot more money for other hotels located in the same area, but as we were on somewhat of a budget, this was a good option. The breakfast buffet which was included in the price was good and very filling (selection of breads, jams, hard boiled eggs, halva, salami, olives, cheeses). The selection was exactly the same every single day, so if you stay here longer than one week you might become a little bored with it. (Hint: for a little variety, there is a bakery nearby that sells bourekas and baklava not be missed). Hot water for coffee or tea is available at all times. The view from the roof top is spectacular. We stayed in room # 201, the room was a little tight by American standards but adequate enough for two people, we had a queen and a twin bed in our room. We did experience one minor problem with the water from the shower stall which leaked onto the bathroom floor and completely soaked the towel provided to step on, but we were so busy sightseeing and had already settled into the room that we did not bother to complain about it. The staff was friendly. We'd made our reservation through booking.com, there were no issues with the reservation and we were charged the correct rate upon checkout (I did call before arriving just to make sure they had the reservation and they confirmed they had it). This guest house is near all the sights in Sultanahmet, we would stay here again if given the chance to return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosanaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

It was a very nice stay
1. Cosy, comfy and clean place for ppl with low budget .
2. Few minutes walking from the main historical attractions of Sultanahmet area and metro station.
3. Got a wonderful terrace with a very good sea view (first row).
4. Double Rooms are comfy but small bathroom, triple rooms was kinda Narrow but with a big bathroom!
5. Break fast was not bad.
6. The staff was so nice and helpful.
7. Wireless connection was OK.
The bad thing was that the stairs are very narrow and almost vertical so will be kinda hard for old ppl to stay there, except that almost every thing was perfect

Room Tip: room 202 :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YOnazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

First things first: this is not a hotel, it's a guesthouse. If you're looking for a bargain but expecting hotel-like service then this is not for you. There are a couple staff members, who are extremely hospitable and very sweet. It's an ideal place for mellow travellers who like to meet on the terrace for an evening cup of Turkish tea to socialize a bit, and then carry on with their own things.

I travelled to Istanbul alone for one week and had a wonderful stay here. It's in a prime location (located in Sultanahmet, about a 10 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia). It is also a 5 minute cab-ride from the ferry station which can take you to the Asian side of Istanbul. The "other" European side (aka the "new Istabul"-- where Taksim is located) is a 10 minute cab-ride, but once you see how insane the traffic gets you'll contemplate walking. It will take you about an hour and 15 mins to walk across the bridge and back to Sultanahmet; I strongly recommend it because you'll save a lot of money and it's quite picturesque. A traditional Turkish breakfast is included with the stay and fresh every morning, along with access to coffee and tea whenever you like. There are convenience stores and restaurants near by; and although there is no gym facility, it is located a block away from the Marmara sea which makes for a nice jogging location (which you'll need, because Turkey is all about deliciously heavy food).

This is a very small guesthouse in an older building. Amenities are not 5-star but it's kept clean and has wireless, along with a flatscreen in every room. The staff are very helpful with things like booking tours and ordering shuttle rides to the airport (they also offer a pick up service from the airport for a cheaper price than the cabs).

Overall, I would absolutely stay here again for the simple fact that it's a very reasonable price relative to the rest of the options, and naturally in Turkey one should allocate as much money as possible to spend on other cool things (do go to a hammam at least once, it's the most interesting experience!)

On a side note, keep in mind that shopping should first be done at Taksim (the bazaars and Sultanahmet in general is more expensive because there are many tourists). Determine the cost of a cab ride from point a to point b BEFORE you get in (if the driver insists on using the metre, find another cab). Drinking the tap water is not advisable, and try a cup of salep while you're there (tea made from dried orchids with hot milk).

Finally, keep in mind that perceptions of Turkey being a dangerous place is false. It's extremely safe, the only slightly annoying thing is that if you're a solo female traveller you'll frequently be approached by men who insist on having an apple tea (the drink of friendship) with you. They're harmless, but if you're on a tight schedule you should be firm and decline.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SilviaValencia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here over Easter 2012. I booked the room on booking.com in November and had various emails from the hotel about transfers etc. Therefore i was very shocked and dissappointed to arrive and the male receptionist kept saying you are lucky as i have turned people away today so you are lucky i'm letting you stay as there are no rooms anywhere in Istanbul. He then said he had to turn a room that wasn't a room back into a room for us. It was like we had turned up unannounced!!.
Then he said we were lucky as the price we confirmed on booking.com was wrong but he was going to honour it. I actually thought he was going to say he wanted us to pay more. This i thought was not on, we booked the hotel as it was stated on booking.com. We were never asked to reconfirm and if we hadn't of turned up the first night would have been charged so why he was saying these things was beyond me. I was not going to pay more as that was the rate i booked. He admitted the man who worked there before had loaded the wrong prices onto booking.com but that is the hotels fault not mine.

As for the room, it was a basement room and the outside door would not lock, not something i felt i could mention to this receptionist. Also they never put anything other than a sheet on the 2nd bed for the first night and it was quite cold in the night. The night receptionist however was very nice. He sorted the outside door in our room and the keys to the room as the first man gave us the wrong keys also. Then the night receptionist invited us to the roof for tea which was very nice.

The following morning the main receptionist from the first day was outside our room calling my name for breakfast as he had failed the day before to tell us what time breakfast was and seemed annoyed that we didn't go for breakfast despite him giving us 15 minutes notice it was ending.
The room was very clean and the cleaner was very friendly. It is also in a perfect location but so are many other guesthouses in the area.
If it wasn't for the first man i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but he also dissappointed me on the last days too. We were checking out on the Monday and he asked us on the sunday to pay as we were booking an airport transfer. We explained we could pay on card or get cash out later. He dismissed the card so i asked for the room rate to be converted into Lira, which he did.
We made sure we drew out the exact amount needed as we were leaving early and didn't want more Lira than needed. The following morning he told us we had to pay at that days exchange rate which was about 6 lira more. Now this is not a lot of money but we specifically asked the day before for the rate. Also he never gave us change from the airport transfer so i pointed this out but he wasn't interested . This is not how guests should be treated.

As stated above i would stay here again if he weren't there, i feel he was very unprofessional and i feel he thought he could intimidate us into paying more on the first day. I have travelled extensively though and am not that easily frightened but i can see many young women arriving together at that hotel not having travelled much, would feel obliged to offer more money because that is what he was trying to get us to do. If we wanted to pay more money for a room i would not have booked this guesthouse in the first place.

A very dissappointing start and end to what was a fantastic trip in one of the best cities in the world. Thank heavens or the night receptionist, otherwise this place would have been awful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dollyloulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Yes it is not a star hotel. It is a guesthouse in a cosy athmosphere. All Staff so friendly. They are always giving some advices and recommend places to go. We have booked it as it is a small guesthouse and a budget place to stay. According to price / value, we can say it is a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#353 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#231 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#126 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Guesthouse Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Guesthouse Istanbul

Property: City Guesthouse Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Akburcak Sok. No:25 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,012 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Guesthouse Istanbul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your City Guesthouse Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Guesthouse Istanbul Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing