We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Ranked #574 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you're expecting the following, you'll find this a suitable hotel:
1) good price - not expensive
2) good location - walking distance from the main tourist sites
3) room is simple, clean and comfortable
4) free wifi

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachie_Fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

gulhane corner was an excellent choice for the old city istanbul. it is great value for money and close to all the important sites. we did not even use public transport, it was close enough to walk evrywhere. the rooms were nice and clean, white sheets and white towels, cleaned everyday. breakfast was typical turkish, boiled egg, olives, tomato, cucumber, with a variety of breads, cheese and spreads. i will recommend it any time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coetzer_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at another hotel the first night but for only 21Euro, this place was much better. There is an elevator, which is a huge plus, trust me, I've been all over this country and they are few and far between. Since it's winter, the terrace restaurant is closed, but they bring you breakfast to your room instead. There is also free internet in the room and they bring you a welcome tea or coffee. The rooms were very clean and modern and the bed was comfortable. It is also conveniently located to the tram stop so it's only 4TL from the airport. 5 min walk to all the big sights in Sultanahmet (blue mosque/Hagia Sophia/Topkapi Palace)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smash38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a very small but well kept and nice hotel with the smallest reception ever seen. The rooms are located in the corner of a building, there are not more than 2-3 rooms on every floor. As a familly of 4 (two kids just below teenage) we vere very happy to find the room to be 2 separate bedrooms attached. Just perfect! The location of the hotel could hardly be better. Just a few hundered meters to walk (further) from the Gulhane tram stop (next to the wall of the Tokapi palace) with walking distance to Aya Sofya and Blue mosque etc. Our room was located so we could se the roof of the tram passing below our window but the tram is very quiet so we didnt experience any disturbing noise. At high season there could maybe be some activities on the road outside that could be disturbing if you are sensitive but in Turkey generally you have more noise than at home... When finding the hotel it is good to keep looking for the sign a bit up in the air as it is hanging out from the wall at 2nd floor together with many other signs on the main road. The entrance is opposite a hairdresser on a street crossing the main (tram) road. The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds and nice (but small) bathroom. Staff were very kind and serviceminded. As we were visiting in the cold season the breakfast were brought into the rooms. Good, typical turkish breakfast! Would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stavanger_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at G.C.H. for 4 nights in December 2011.The hotel was in a great area, 4 min walk from Agia Sophia&Topkapi Palace, but it was also near a "cami" so the imam woke us up at 6:30 in the morning (probably,all the hotels in the area have this problem)!

The room was very clean although there were two mold marks,one in the ceiling and one in the shower.The breakfast was served in the room since the weather didn't allow the use of the terrace(the normal breakfast area).The breakfast itself was nothing special but it was adequate. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, especially Cetin.

Overall, we had a great stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dimitra83_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Gulhane Corner Hotel is a nice and friendly little hotel in an excellent location. The rooms were in decent shape and cleaned every day. For the first two nights we stayed in a very small room in fifth floor, which was a little disappointing as we specifically asked for a double bed instead of two beds put together (which seems to be a standard in value hotels - we always book a room with a double bed and seem to get a room with two beds almost always). After two nights we got a decent, much bigger room with a double bed and a small balcony, and the disappointment quickly faded away.

The location was on a busy street with trams going on until late night, and the walls were quite thin, so if you're a light sleeper, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. If you sleep like a log like us, this hotel is a great choice for it's price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great service, good beds, clean room during the days of our stay.
Breakfast is served in the room, using trays. To be eaten sitting on the bed, as there is no room for table or chairs. We heard that on days with good weather, they serve breakfast at the terrace. Unfortunately we could not experience that.
The rooms are really small, but newly renovated trying to get to a higher standard. However the windows did not close well. They could fix that instead of putting so much effort in making the interior look so refined.
Location excellent. Good budget hotel. Do not get your expectations high and it will be perfect.

Room Tip: Best to get a room on the upper floors, to get away from city (tram) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonima66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#580 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#217 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#461 of 1,163 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#479 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#517 of 1,163 in Istanbul
232 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#977 of 1,163 in Istanbul
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Corner Hotel

Address: Hudavendigar Cad. Saffeti Pasa Sok. No:12 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £18 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulhane Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 5 minutes’ walk away from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, this hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi. Its breakfast includes fresh bread, preserves and cereals.All rooms at Gulhane Corner are air-conditioned and have a well-stocked minibar,kettle and flat-screen TV with access to satellite channels. The private bathroom has shower or bath and a hairdryer.Regional specialities such as lamb stews and vegetarian dishes and international cuisine are served in the restaurant. Turkish tea, coffee and alcoholic beverages are available at the bar.Gulhane Corner Hotel is 500 metres from the Spice Market. Gulhane Corner Hotel is 170 metres away from Gulhane Tram Stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Gulhane Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing