We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good, friendly...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Ranked #542 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Bodenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Clean, good, friendly...”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Gulhane Corner Hotel is clean, good and friendly. Rooms are rather small but sufficient, bathrooms nicely done. A good Turkish breakfast is included.
What I did complain about and what must be solved: The staircase was partly obstructed by things temporarily parked there, which is an absolute no-go.
The receptionstaff -who were friendly and helpful - promised to take care if it. As I only had a short stay, I could not doublecheck.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cengizoguzcano, General Manager at Gulhane Corner Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review, althoughWe are happy to hear that you liked our cleaness, breakfast , friendships etc. in our Hotel.
Each piece of feedback is so valuable for us to be able to increase our service level. The lowest season are the last months. We would like to use these months and have a little decorating, change ,refurnish for make more conforteable our hotel. During your stay in our hotel our house keper left old and new furnitures on the staircase. Cleanliness is our most important principle.

Our rooms are cleaned everyday with great care with changing towels and emtying trash defintly the staircase.Immediately we pick them up you informed as promised..
However we are very sorry for this discomfort please accept our sincere apologies.

Thank you.

Best Regards

Gulhane Corner Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    34
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
31
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very good and the stuff was very kind also room was very clean and the pay big importance to daily room service and breakfast was pretty good also location of hotel is in near of alot of touristic places like sultanahmet mosque , and topkap? palace and hagia sofia ...all of this places can be reached by walking also its very close to tram station (gulhane tram station) generally according to its average of price it was the most qualified hotel...

Helpful?
3 Thank zamoranooo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent as it is a two minute walk to the local tram, and a 5 minute walk to the heart of Sultanahmet (Topkapi, Haghia Sophia and Sultanahmet Mosque).Room was lovely, comfortable and clean, breakfast was acceptable.The staff were helpful, friendly and fun.I did like everything in it thank you...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goktugertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

- The staff were extremely helpful
- location is good
- near of tram station
- hotel near of important sites in istanbul
- it is great value for money
- It is easy to access tourist attractions by walking or by public tansport
- reception desk was very helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adma_ashraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citluk, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Everything was great.
Staff,location,brekfast, close to many attraction.
Staff, were extremely friendly and helpful at all times.
Close the hotel are so many bars, restaurants and 2 public transport station.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Great hotel in heart of Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingxyxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The best part of this hotel is not only the cost and the location but also the two managers. They were extremely friendly and helpful at all times, constantly helping me out with minor request such as helping me get hot water, booking the airport shuttle and even making tea in the evening (FREE! not like most places which want to charge me for basically everything!).
I arrived in Istanbul very early and way before the check-in time however, they were extremely kind to let me check into an empty room so that I could have a rest before starting the day. Unlike all the other establishments in Turkey, they invited me for breakfast free of charge bringing their service to be simply top-notch for a small gesture such as that made me feel extremely welcomed.
Genghis is a wonderful friend, sharing with me about turkish language and even trying to teach me a turkish tongue twister. We shared alot of laughter and silly jokes which just made me feel extremely well at home.
Prior to booking this place, I read reviews saying that the tram line was noisy and the rooms being too small. Personally, I had no problems with the tram line despite being only on the second floor facing the tram line. I could barely hear it. The rooms maybe small to some people, but it was fine because together with the decor, made it warm and cosy.

Two thumbs up to the place and I will definately recommend this establishment to people visiting Istanbul!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shulina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I had to spend one night in Istanbul, and the Gulhane Corner Hotel was a casual choice, based on budget but mostly on location, and the choice was a very fortunate one. not only the position is excellent, just a few hundred meters from he heart of the Historic Peninsula of Istanbul, but at a few meters from two strategic tram stops.
What really made my short staying nice and relaxing was the excellent service provided by the tireless, professional and very friendly staff: I didn't had the time to ask about some needs, because they always prevented me offering a solution. The perfect base to explore the heart of Istanbul. I'll definitely consider it again for my next trip there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piero C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Flower Palace Hotel
Flower Palace Hotel
#383 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Viva Hotel
Old City Viva Hotel
#595 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#198 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#578 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymond Blue Hotel
Raymond Blue Hotel
#281 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#234 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Corner Hotel

Property: Gulhane Corner Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Cad. Saffeti Pasa Sok. No:12 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulhane Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 5 minutes’ walk away from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, this hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi. Its breakfast includes fresh bread, preserves and cereals.All rooms at Gulhane Corner are air-conditioned and have a well-stocked minibar,kettle and flat-screen TV with access to satellite channels. The private bathroom has shower or bath and a hairdryer.Regional specialities such as lamb stews and vegetarian dishes and international cuisine are served in the restaurant. Turkish tea, coffee and alcoholic beverages are available at the bar.Gulhane Corner Hotel is 500 metres from the Spice Market. Gulhane Corner Hotel is 170 metres away from Gulhane Tram Stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gulhane Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing