We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Topkapi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Topkapi Apartments
Ranked #61 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
KL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Located at walking distance to Sultanahmet tram stop, Blue Mosque, hagia Sofya, Cistern, Archeological museum n Topkapi Palace. We also walked to Grand Bazaar. It was closed on Sunday.

There is a good sized supermarket, good 5-10 mins walk uphill (not good for people with bed knee). We also stumbled upon a small nice restaurant on our way back from the market closeby (not sure the name). Very nice owner, gave us a lot of freebies. The food was also tasty. There are several other restaurant along the way, tried one with the fish as special but not so tasty and more expensive. Better eat at the restaurants along the tram route towards Grand Bazaar. Try the restaurant nearest the small park with lots of cats.

Stayed in level 1, 2 bedroom apartment. Very clean rooms, kitchen and bathroom. Very equipped kitchen just no oven (one of the best I ve been to). 2 double beds with extra blankets n pillows.

Quite a small tv with only news for English channels and the dining table is in the second room. But for the price and location, this is good enough. One communal washing machine at the basement with washing powder provided. Nice!

My only complain is the transfer from SAW airport as we had to wait for an hour to get all the passengers in, and my 10 year old daughter had to sit on my lap for the 60 mins ride. We had asked for private transfer, but I guess the driver got greedy as Hamza, the owner was in the US during our visit. Luckily, the brother said we could pay less for our trouble.

All in all, a very nice aparment, good host, nice view from the roof top. Definitely will stay here for our future visits and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
39
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Very nice apartment. Very clean and confortable. It is situated just behind the ipodrome in Sultanahmet. At the top of the building there is a fantastic terrace. You can see Bosforous and there are seagulls flying around the roof! Owners are so gentle and kind! We recommend it to everybody! Good holidays!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My family have just returned from istanbul. This is the fourth time I have been to this beautiful city.This was the first time we stayed at topkapi apartments. I would highly reccommend these apartments to anyone. They are only five minutes away from the hippodrome and blue mosque. They are very clean, close to local shops where you are not paying tourist prices for food and other essentials. The apartments are fairly priced for what you get, better than staying in a hotel where you are stuck in one room. there was a lovely terrace upstairs where we used to have breakfast daily
I will not stay anywhere else agian that I have discovered these apartments

Yusuf and hamza , the two brothers were very helpful and my children became attached to yusuf and wanted to visit them in their carpet shop every day. We used to pass by and talk to yusuf who was hospitable and would always give us good advice and looked after us as if we were their personal guests.

The apartment was cleaned every day and it was nice to come back to a nice and clean apartment. Cant wait to go back again

Thank you very much Yusuf and Hamza, hope to see you soon again.

rukhsana

Room Tip: the rooms vary in size so before booking just look at the room sizers you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rukhsana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

i was travelling with 3 friends & had a great time in this fantastic place if youre on a budget, good location, nice rooms, very clean, we could not ask for more
the owner was very friendly & helpful that made our stay very comfortable.
It's in Europe side and it is easy to go to the historical place and the people are friendly. If you stay in this apartment you feel at home. One more thing -- the rooftop is fantastic- you will see a fantastic view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda_dah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

These apartments are a great base for exploring Istanbul. A short walk up the hill brings you to the heart of Sultanahmet which provides easy access to nearby sights as well as public transportation to take you anywhere else in this massive city. The aparment itself was immaculate and and spacious. Be sure to utilize the rooftop terrace as the views of the city during sunset are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jared b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend and I had a great stay at Topkapi Apartments and it definitely exceeded our expectations. It has great location in the Sultanahmet area where you get to experience the local atmosphere and surroundings. All the major sites are within walking distance. It is located approximately 300 to 400 meters behind the Hippodrome where you find the tourist entrance to the Blue Mosque. The apartments have modern furnishings and are nicely decorated. There is also a terrace on the roof top with a view. Last, but not least, the owner, Hamza Yildiz is a wonderful person, very friendly, who went out of his way to make us feel at home. And, if for any reason you came to Istanbul for the kilims, make sure to stop by Hamza's carpet shop, Noah's Ark. He has a great selection of kilims and carpets and unlike other rug sellers is honest and will not pressure you to buy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Do not hesitate to book this accomodation! Apart from that the apartments are clean, fresh and well equipped - the owners of this family hotel are just lovely! The apartments are situated in a safe area and are also close to the historic sites like the Blue Mosque and Topkapi. If you are planning to travel around Istanbul, it is also easy to find a taxi or just walk 5-10 min from the house to the closest tram station. If you want some local tips for restaurants or excursions, just ask the managers who are more than happy to help! All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myran191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#316 of 1,129 in Istanbul
211 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#86 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,447 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#5 of 1,186 in Istanbul
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
No:11 Hotel & Apartments
No:11 Hotel & Apartments
#31 of 1,186 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Suites
Sultanahmet Suites
#35 of 1,186 in Istanbul
461 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ekim Apartments
Ekim Apartments
#86 of 1,186 in Istanbul
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topkapi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topkapi Apartments

Property: Topkapi Apartments
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topkapi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly apartment hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, old Istanbul. Within 15 minutes to most major touristic sites. In a residential neighborhood. 4 units, all with private kitchen and bathrooms. Ocean view from common terrace. Rooms look out to a 5th-century colosseum wall. Additional discounts available for long-term stays. Breakfasts and airport transportation available. Reservations available in Japanese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topkapi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topkapi Apartments Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing