We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and wonderful host!”
Review of Topkapi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Topkapi Apartments
Ranked #56 of 1,218 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location and wonderful host!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Topkapi Apartments in July 2013 and had a wonderful experience. Hamza and his brother Yusuf are warm and welcoming hosts who create a home away from home and are very helpful in arranging travel plans. The apartments are spacious and the location is perfect for exploring the Sultanahmet (old city) area, conveniently located within minutes of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and Basilica Cistern. The rooftop terrace, with its incredible views of the Bosphorus, is a peaceful retreat after a long day spent exploring Istanbul. We look forward to our next stay at Topkapi Apartments!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
39
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Callantsoog, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We rented the 4 rooms as we travel with 4parents and 8 kids and had the roofterrace as our private livingroom. This worked out nicely. The rooms are located above eachother and get better the higher you go. All of them are nice though. The location is great ( see other reviews). The email conversation before our stay went a little difficult but during our stay we were very well looked after by Youssouf and Hamza.

Room Tip: Apartment 3 has 2 seperated bedrooms . Apartment 3 and 4 have nicer daylight and less streetnoice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed there in June 2013, visiting from San Francisco, and it was great! Hamza is an amazing host and he makes sure you get all you need including transportation, accommodation and any questions you may have about Istanbul. The location is great, really close to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque in Sultanahmed. Walking distance to the mosques, shopping, Turkish baths and more. Definitely a great location and good size apartment for a few nights, just make sure you coordinate your requests with the host and all can be taken care of prior to your arrival. Thanks so much, Hamza! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adsanchez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Topkapi Apartments is in the perfect location for exploring the old city of Istanbul, the Sultanahmet area: 5 mins to the Hippodrome, Blue mosque and Aya Sofya; 10 mins to the Basilica Cistern and Sultanahmet tram - go to Cigdem Pastanesi for your morning coffee and borek on Divan Yolu near the tram; 15 mins to the Grand Bazaar and Suleymanyie mosque (must see at Friday lunchtime prayers); 20 mins to the Spice Bazaar, Yeni Camii (New mosque - amazing interior, best of all the mosques in our opinon), Rustem Pasha mosque, and Galata Bridge.

We stayed in Apartment 3 The Aya Sofya. It consisted of a room with a double bed and free-standing closet, a living rooms with a double futon (so room for 3-4 persons if you don't mind sharing a double bed), a kitchenette with tea and coffee restocked every two days, and a bathroom. Everything functioned well. The bed was comfortable and the linens changed every two days. In addition there is a washing machine in the basement that was free to use. Given we generally use apartments and hotels as a comfortable place to base ourselves and explore cities, rather than relaxing there for long periods of time, this suited us perfectly.

The building itself has an old city wooden charm but has been kept very well and is in general keeping with its neighbourhood. Everything was to our satisfaction and Yosef, the owner Hamza Yildez's brother, was a very friendly, gracious, helpful and generous host - even meeting us personally when we arrived well after midnight. Hamza, the owner, is based in the US half the year but the arrangement with his brother to manage it the other half seems to work well in our experience.

Considerations for other travelers:
You will have to walk uphill to get to the Hippodrome and rest of the old city, or anywhere else in fact. It is quote steep so bear his in mind. But it will get you fit and walking really is the best way to explore.
The rooms and amenities are a bit sparse, that suits us perfectly but may not be to everyone's taste.

Overall: A lovely little place to stay with gracious and helpful hosts and within walking distance of the bulk of Istanbul's old city sights, and public transportation for the rest. Excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to book this accommodation again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VdGEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I finally get around to writing a second review in order to share with everyone that Topkapi Apartments are an excellent choice for accommodation in the Sultanahmet area. I stayed at the apartments three times during my travels at the end of last year and was extremely satisfied with all my stays. The apartments are clean, modern and spacious. You have four different apartments to choose from, each one with its own kitchenette and bathroom. The owner is very friendly, helpful, and always made my visits comfortable and pleasant. The apartments are a few minutes’ walk from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque and other major sights such as the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Basilica Cistern are close by. And on Wednesdays there is a market nearby to experience the local culture. There is also easy access to public transportation that can take you to other popular areas in Istanbul. The apartments are an excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to book this accommodation every time I visit Istanbul. I would highly recommend Topkapi Apartments to anyone looking for a very comfortable stay and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Excellent location (short walk to Blue Mosque/Hagia Sophia, 10-15 minutes walk to Grand Bazaar), very friendly and helpful staff and clean apartment.The apartment was clean almost every day (6 out of the 7 days we stayed) even though the information packet said the room was made every other day. The kitchen is small and doesn't have a lot of plates & utensils, but it's not like we wanted to cook anyways - Turkish cuisine is way too good :)

We'd go back again in a heartbeat and highly recommend Topkapi Apartments!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiraz, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The location of the hotel (access) is very good , its very near to the blue mosque , aya sofia museum , topkapi palace and many more . Rooms are clean and comfortable . Its quiet and safe . The Wednesday bazaar(fruit market) is just few steps . The staff are friendly and dutiful . service is very good , the bedsheets are changed everyday , there is always tea and coffee in the rooms . if i want to come to istanbul again i will go there again and i suggest it to everybody .

Masoud Rahiminejad , Shiraz , Iran
mrahimish@yahoo.com

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masoud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ekim Apartments
Ekim Apartments
#80 of 1,218 in Istanbul
150 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,218 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Amedros Home
Istanbul Amedros Home
#26 of 1,218 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Istanbul Place Apartments
Istanbul Place Apartments
#10 of 1,218 in Istanbul
100 reviews
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#29 of 1,218 in Istanbul
108 reviews
Sultanahmet
Emirhan Inn Apart Hotel
Emirhan Inn Apart Hotel
#16 of 1,218 in Istanbul
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topkapi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topkapi Apartments

Property: Topkapi Apartments
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,218 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topkapi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly apartment hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, old Istanbul. Within 15 minutes to most major touristic sites. In a residential neighborhood. 4 units, all with private kitchen and bathrooms. Ocean view from common terrace. Rooms look out to a 5th-century colosseum wall. Additional discounts available for long-term stays. Breakfasts and airport transportation available. Reservations available in Japanese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Topkapi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topkapi Apartments Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing