We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpleasant surprise”
Review of Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi - CLOSED

Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unpleasant surprise”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went to Gani Gani on the first day of our stay in Istanbul because we had read good comments for the restaurant on line. We were three families with children. We sat on the second floor on the pillows. The room was beautifully decorated. Then the waitor came and recommended us to take 2 plates with a variety of meat for 8 persons and also 4 mixted salads. We also ordered 5 sprites. The kebab was very dry and too spicy. The others were good. Our big mistake was that we did not ask the price of the variety in advance (in Istanbul you must ask the price for everything in advance). When they brought the bill, it was an unpleasant surprise for us: 525 TL! I would not recommend this restaurant since it is not value for price. If you go, ask the prices in advance!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Παρασκευή Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    72
    21
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very bad”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Expensive. Waiter suggested a variety of kebabs that was awful. No alcohol. Turist treatment and bad service.

Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent food. Great ambiance and decoration.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we found the place in tripadvisor and went for dinner. We sat on the floor and had a very good traditional turkish dinner, all sugested by the waiter. I would recomend it to everybody visiting Istambul.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merce111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - bad service”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The service here was a little frenetic - the restaurant is divided into different rooms on multiple floors so you get the sense that the waiters are constantly running up and down and losing track of who is where. Once you get their attention to order it's very fast but we were sitting waiting for our bill for a while so eventually just decided to walk downstairs to pay. The food is very good to make up for it - kababs and meatballs were great, nice spices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food great ambiance ”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the settings of rural Turkey. The food is enjoyable and delicious. This is a good place for tourist to experience the Turkish dinner ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank ezsyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing