We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite honestly the best hostel I have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheers Hostel
Ranked #3 of 1,175 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite honestly the best hostel I have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I am unabashedly and quite honestly saying that this is the best hostel I have ever stayed at. I have travelled North America, Europe, and South Asia, and Cheers Hostel is the best I have seen. The property is as central as it gets, the rooms are very comfortable, safe, and clean. I had a Blackberry, iPad, and camera with me and never felt they were I danger (the provided locking cabinets also helped). The staff is beyond friendly, going to great lengths to make every moment of every day one to remember. They have organised tours, boat rides, walking tours, and meals for us. One of my party is a vegetarian and they went out of their way to help us find or cook vegetarian food. There is free wifi everywhere, and a very comfortable bar upstairs, complete with an awe-inspiring view of the Hagia Sophia. There were people staying here young and old, proving that this hostel is not just for the backpacker....I would have no issue bringing my family here for another trip. We were here for 6 nights and found the ability to have both quiet nights of reading, as well as more enjoyable nights of meeting fellow travelers in the rooftop bar. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay here, anytime; and I spend a lot of time reading these reviews before staying somewhere. Not to mention, who doesn't want to spend 6 days with Bijou, the hostel's resident Golden Retriever! Cheers is definitely the smart choice.

Room Tip: They offer both private and dorm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    110
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
98
312
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My experience of Turkey and Istanbul will always be tainted by my experience with the owner of this hostel. Whilst the rest of the staff are lovely (Tariq is a gent) the owner is a sleazy, arrogant and calculating character who seems to be willing to go to any length to get his way, regardless of the impact on others. Think DODGY FACIAL HAIR and you have your DODGY CHARACTER…. A much easier way to recognise him than by name as he doesn’t like to give that out - probably a smart move given the number reviews online that report a sleazy man/owner at this hostel. Ladies, whilst many of you may interpret your conversations with this guy as banter or harmless flirting (as have many others in their reviews), be coy – especially with your drinks and getting drunk here. Read other reviews with caution. Yes, the location and the view from the terrace are great, the coffee is really good and the rooms are fine but these are all superficial details. Just how many of the reviews are actually genuine is questionable as guests who have engaged in conversation with people here are repeatedly asked to write reviews on the hostel there and then as they “have free internet access”.
Enjoy Istanbul, but most of all, do not let a negative experience get in the way of your holiday or have you vowing never to return to the country again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy36510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here with my fiancee and my father in April 2012. It has an excellent location. About 5min. from Aya Sofia. We stayed in the building across the street from the main office in a private room (called Chestnut I think). It was quiet and comfortable (although Wifi wouldn't reach us).
The staff were excellent. Very helpful in planning excursions around the city. They have a great rooftop bar with views of Aya Sofia and cozy couches.
I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building across the road are a bit quieter than the ones in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Lovely people and very welcoming staff. Hostel is clean and there is a really nice atmosphere around. I could highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koprivnica, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We arrived at about 10pm so 24 hour reception service was a great thing to have. Cheers has a wonderful view on Aya Sofia and you can walk to almost all sights in the historical part of Istanbul. Hostel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff there is very friendly and willing to assist you in everything you may need. Definitively a good choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Great hostel right next to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. The hostel is very clean and very well maintained. The mini bar is a great place to have a drink with a beautiful view of all the important landmarks. The hosts were extremely friendly. They organized a trip for me to Capadoccia at very reasonable rates. The hostel has a friendly atmosphere and i would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishiketh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Fantastic hostel in a great location. The rooms are clean, breakfast is good, and the view from the bar is amazing. The staff are super friendly, some of the best I've come across. They make you feel at home and are very helpful with recommendations and making arrangements. Cheers has a great atmosphere, and I'd recommend it to anyone traveling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Hostel

Property: Cheers Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:21 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,175 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheers Hostel Istanbul is located in a perfect location right in the very heart of the Old City of Istanbul, in Sultanahmet. We are only 1 minute walking distance from the most famous sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace, not to mention the Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul.Our boutique Istanbul hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In our lounge area with TV and free Internet & Wi-fi access, you can enjoy a cup of coffee or Turkish tea, read, play backgammon or have a good chat with the other international travelers visiting exciting Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cheers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheers Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing