We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MCh11
Istanbul, Türkiye

Dissappionting

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2011
When we arrived the hotel was being renovated so it was scaffolded, we didn't let this put us off as being a 5 star we were sure it would be fine inside, little did we know. I have to say that the Marmara has to be the worst 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in for the amount we paid, it was extremely tired looking inside, the reception area was uninviting, as was the bar and breakfast room. The service was atrocious, slow with non English speaking waiters. On the first morning we waited 5 minutes for the lift to take us to breakfast, another 10 minutes for a table (there were 8 of us) and queued approx.15 minutes for a fried egg as there was only one chef frying. On a good note the bedrooms were spacious and clean, but our robes and flannels were taken after the first night and weren't replaced. As the hotel is in the centre of Taksim square some of the rooms are quite noisy at night from the busy street below.The men of our party enquired at concierge for a Hammam, they were told that a booking wasn't necessary, when they arrived they were fully booked. One evening we thought we'd have a drink at the hotel bar, my husband ordered a brandy sour, to his horror he was charged 54 TL (£21), when he complained about the price he was told that it was because they used the best brand of brandy. As a word of warning make sure that the taxis outside of the hotel have their meter switched on as we were ripped off on a number of occasions which again we pointed out to concierge. Although we had a very pleasant stay in Istanbul the hotel Marmara really let it down, it should have a 3 star rating.
Date of stay: March 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£211
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £190
  • Agoda.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
    £189
1.7 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel exterior
£280
  • Expedia.com
    £279
  • StayForLong
    £248
  • Hotels.com
    £279
1.4 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
£112
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • Vio.com
    £99
  • Priceline
    £105
1.6 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
£110
  • Expedia.com
    £122
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £122
1.7 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
£128
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    £128
  • Priceline
    £128
  • Hotels.com
    £128
0.6 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
£116
  • Expedia.com
    £104
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • Priceline
    £116
1.9 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£58
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Vio.com
    £42
  • StayForLong
2.4 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
£262
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £262
  • Trip.com
    £262
  • Agoda.com
    £262
20.1 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£61
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Vio.com
    £61
  • StayForLong
    £71
8.9 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Free parking
£108
  • Wyndham
    £307
  • StayForLong
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £301
2.2 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Istanbul
Reviews (2,384)
Filter reviews
2,384 results
Traveller rating
1,426
630
197
72
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,426
630
197
72
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room istiklal street metro station excellent location city view top floor house keeping golden horn central location turkey enjoyed my stay turkish bath old city taksim bosphorus concierge heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,503 - 1,508 of 2,384 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I went to Istanbul with my wife for our first wedding anniversary in December 2010.
We arrived around 2pm to the hotel and waited in the lobby approximately 3 hours for a room (while waiting we weren't offered drinks or any kind of attention). The room that was being prepared for us is on the 7th floor. While waiting we were the ones who had to follow up with the reception! Not to mention that 2 girls arrived after us and sat next to us waiting for a room as well. They were young russians. They came after us and took a room before us. One of the girls went to the receptionist (short guy with well combed hair) and they started smiling and talking until she came back with a key calling her friend to join her.

After that scene, we went again to argue with the receptionist, he made us wait an additional half an hour and then gave us a corner room on the 11th floor instead of the one on the 7th floor stating that it was one of the best rooms in the hotel (Corner rooms are half size normal rooms - we know that because we saw our friends room whom we met in Istanbul by surprise). My guess is that the room on the 7th floor which was supposed to be ours was given to the russians instead.
That said, the receptionist was not only a liar but rude as well.
Added to all the above, we booked a 5 night stay with Marmara Taksim Hotel INCLUDING breakfast via expedia. Despite that statement clear on the vouchers, the receptionist and the manager (via phone call) insisted that breakfast was not to be offered because it wasn't showing in their system. We argued again for nothing, again waste of time and manners. We ended up paying breakfast 2 times!! (20 Euros per person = 200 Euros for the whole trip). The Marmara Taksim Hotel was lucky because the package that i booked via expedia was non-refundable or else i would have simply left the hotel and booked another one.

As for breakfast (which is a bit poor), we are supposed to be present before 10am (or 11am, pardon me for not remembering exactly), but when that hour comes, they remove all the food on the buffet!! even while people are still having breakfast. We travel a lot and seeing that shocked us. We never saw that one coming. They are supposed to not let anyone come in the restaurant for breakfast and not remove the food!! were they saving food for the next day? Well no idea.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JadSawaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Great staff, perfect location, right on Taksim square.. nice, clean rooms, very rich breakfast on the 21st floor with a panoramic view of istanbul
Just make sure you book B&B because they made us pay for our breakfast

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah600Beirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Marmara Hotel. The rooms are nice designed and big. The view from the rooms and especially from the roof (with the pool) is fabulous. We had always a place by the pool to relax after a day in the city.
The location is perfect, the shopping area is a few minutes away and there are also a lot of different restaurants and bars around the hotel.
The receptionist were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isa_ritha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2011

A great stay! great view from rooms, both city and Bosporus views are awesome! breakfast buffet is good, staff are also good! fantastic location right next to the istiklal shopping street which has countless shops! The best location in Istanbul, and the metro is right next the hotel will take you everywhere!

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The hotel is in a great location, bang in the center of it all with istiklal right across the street so there is plenty of things to do.

The food within the hotel is terrible but there is a starbucks and an excellent restaurant called the kitchenette located right under the hotel so it makes up for it.

The rooms are quite small but have the latest amenities so not much to complain there, although you can hear the street noise even from the 15th floor!!

Overall im not sure i would stay there again, would def stay at the hilton in taksim or swisotel.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xclusiveDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews