We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ymas2010
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Loved this hotel & its location - best place to stay in Istanbul

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2011
The best place to stay in Istanbul is close to Taksim as its always vibrant and busy. The Marmara is right on the beginning of taksim and has a metro station and bus stops across the street. The service was very good at the hotel and we were generally happy with our stay here.
Date of stay: June 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel exterior
£280
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.4 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
£128
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
£71
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.8 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £158
  • Expedia.com
    £200
1.7 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £99
  • Expedia.com
    £112
1.6 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £91
  • Booking.com
1.7 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Booking.com
2.1 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £61
  • Vio.com
8.9 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Wyndham
    £307
2.2 miles from The Marmara Taksim
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Istanbul
Reviews (2,384)
Filter reviews
2,384 results
Traveller rating
1,426
630
197
72
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,426
630
197
72
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room istiklal street metro station excellent location city view top floor house keeping golden horn central location turkey enjoyed my stay turkish bath old city taksim bosphorus concierge heart
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,499 - 1,504 of 2,384 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights in March 2011 as i was attening a medical meeting , i think that the best thing regarding this hotel is it's location in the heart of Taksim area , close to main attractions , near istiklal avenu. Apart from this nothing special just a basic 5 stars hotel . The breakfast area was good with panoramic view but the buffet was very simple . I do recommend this hotel just for its location.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmadanat1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed here with some friends for a long weekend trip. Three guys in a room. Hotel was well-equipped, business-like, much like many 4-5 star places in big cities of the world. Service was average - but that was no different from any other place in Istanbul, where we found service culture in general to be somewhat underwhelming. At least sauna and small hamam were free, all else was rather expensive, including the breakfast and rooftop bar. Latter has great views though. Biggest plus: Great location directly on Taksim square, right at the central pedestrian/shopping area, and pub transport. Off the pedestrian area are plenty of good bars and restaurants, which gives good selection at night as well. All-in-all, a good place to stay, specifically for the business traveller and otherwise not adventurous person. If you look for a more local/original place, this is not for you.

Room tip: The higher the floor the better.
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2011

now i have always surported THE MARMARA in taksim square ALWAYS but i came home in jan and in march i was looking on there web page to book for dec 2011 for 5 days and at the moment there web is having issues...soo i phoned them up to book well in advance for next christmas and had to phone them up 7 times as when they put me through to resorvation they kept picking the phone up & then putting it down on me...this is not the first time i have had this done to me with the marmara and when i stay there they always get there monies worth from me with the room service,bar & mini bar..soo now im thinking of trying some where else as some of the turkish can be very very rude...

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzziesue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2011

When we arrived the hotel was being renovated so it was scaffolded, we didn't let this put us off as being a 5 star we were sure it would be fine inside, little did we know. I have to say that the Marmara has to be the worst 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in for the amount we paid, it was extremely tired looking inside, the reception area was uninviting, as was the bar and breakfast room. The service was atrocious, slow with non English speaking waiters. On the first morning we waited 5 minutes for the lift to take us to breakfast, another 10 minutes for a table (there were 8 of us) and queued approx.15 minutes for a fried egg as there was only one chef frying. On a good note the bedrooms were spacious and clean, but our robes and flannels were taken after the first night and weren't replaced. As the hotel is in the centre of Taksim square some of the rooms are quite noisy at night from the busy street below.The men of our party enquired at concierge for a Hammam, they were told that a booking wasn't necessary, when they arrived they were fully booked. One evening we thought we'd have a drink at the hotel bar, my husband ordered a brandy sour, to his horror he was charged 54 TL (£21), when he complained about the price he was told that it was because they used the best brand of brandy. As a word of warning make sure that the taxis outside of the hotel have their meter switched on as we were ripped off on a number of occasions which again we pointed out to concierge. Although we had a very pleasant stay in Istanbul the hotel Marmara really let it down, it should have a 3 star rating.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I went to Istanbul with my wife for our first wedding anniversary in December 2010.
We arrived around 2pm to the hotel and waited in the lobby approximately 3 hours for a room (while waiting we weren't offered drinks or any kind of attention). The room that was being prepared for us is on the 7th floor. While waiting we were the ones who had to follow up with the reception! Not to mention that 2 girls arrived after us and sat next to us waiting for a room as well. They were young russians. They came after us and took a room before us. One of the girls went to the receptionist (short guy with well combed hair) and they started smiling and talking until she came back with a key calling her friend to join her.

After that scene, we went again to argue with the receptionist, he made us wait an additional half an hour and then gave us a corner room on the 11th floor instead of the one on the 7th floor stating that it was one of the best rooms in the hotel (Corner rooms are half size normal rooms - we know that because we saw our friends room whom we met in Istanbul by surprise). My guess is that the room on the 7th floor which was supposed to be ours was given to the russians instead.
That said, the receptionist was not only a liar but rude as well.
Added to all the above, we booked a 5 night stay with Marmara Taksim Hotel INCLUDING breakfast via expedia. Despite that statement clear on the vouchers, the receptionist and the manager (via phone call) insisted that breakfast was not to be offered because it wasn't showing in their system. We argued again for nothing, again waste of time and manners. We ended up paying breakfast 2 times!! (20 Euros per person = 200 Euros for the whole trip). The Marmara Taksim Hotel was lucky because the package that i booked via expedia was non-refundable or else i would have simply left the hotel and booked another one.

As for breakfast (which is a bit poor), we are supposed to be present before 10am (or 11am, pardon me for not remembering exactly), but when that hour comes, they remove all the food on the buffet!! even while people are still having breakfast. We travel a lot and seeing that shocked us. We never saw that one coming. They are supposed to not let anyone come in the restaurant for breakfast and not remove the food!! were they saving food for the next day? Well no idea.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JadSawaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews