We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Perfect Location - Wonderful staff ”
Review of The Marmara Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marmara Taksim
Ranked #100 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Prishtina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hotel - Perfect Location - Wonderful staff ”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I've spent few days with my family at The Marmara Hotel and we had really good time. The staff is very helpful and polite, and they can all speak English. The Hotel itself is very comfortable, clean, with a perfect location. Breakfast was extraordinary, with lot's of variety.
We had a room upgrade form the hotel, to a club room on 17th floor with spectacular view over the Bosphor, which I would recommend to everyone as it's worth each penny!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank plancili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for submitting such a kind review of your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy the magnificent view of the Bosphorus, which is one the best vistas of Istanbul. We also take pride in our rooms overlooking the Golden Horn and would like to suggest a room with that splendid view on your next visit to our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back here and wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    436
    133
    39
    25
See reviews for
247
343
91
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent location - right at Taksim Square and metro stop. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Staff/service was very good, welcoming, friendly and prompt. Construction in the area is ongoing, 24/7, but found the noise did not disturb my sleep if the window was closed. Lobby is modern, open with a seating area and bar. My room had a city view - overlooking the square and was very comfortable. A bit tired, stains on curtains/carpet and paint chipped but otherwise fine. The restaurants were good - nice breakfast buffet selection including omelette station at Tutti Restuarant. Starbucks and Kitchenette bistro right next door. The Raika restaurant on the top floor of the hotel was very good wrap around view including the Bosphorous - Anatolian cusine - very yummy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Toronto_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback and we thank you for taking the time to share it on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide our guests with all the comforts of a home while attending to all their needs and creating a family atmosphere. I am happy to inform you that we have undertaken a renovation project and would love to welcome you here again to our newly designed rooms once the refurbishment is over.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel on a business trip.
Check in was efficient and the staff are all helpful and professional.
The location is good -on Taksim square.
The hotel decor is a little unsubtle - but it is clean and well maintained. There is a bar and restaurant on the top with amazing views.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and well designed.
The hotel is great for business travellers - the business centre staff were very helpful.
Wifi was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of both the facilities within the hotel and of the dynamic ambiance surrounding us. I have passed on your praise to the staff and all of us here would love to welcome you back when you happen to be in Istanbul again!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this hotel because of the location, it's close to all nice shopping areas, restaurants and the Taksim nightlife is in reach by walking. Who does not like the traffic in Istanbul that is really terrible should go for it and stay here. However the hotel is already quite old and the rooms do not match newest standards. But the rooms are clean and for a price of 120 Euro including breakfast still acceptable. A little difficult to get there now since the square road design has been changed, so plan a little more time or take taxi.
The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff is very polite and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank andie6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to publish your review on tripadvisor. The feedback of our guests is very important for us and helps us serve you even better. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our luscious breakfast and I have already shared your kind comments with my team regarding their work. I am also pleased to tell you that we have just started renovating our rooms and would love to host you again once the refurbishment is finished.

We wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, the staff is professional and rooms very clean. Getting a room with a nice view over the square will make it a special night. Prefer higher floors as taksim square is busy and really noisy even in later hours. It is one good choice either for business or pleasure

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for finding the time to submit a great review of your experience at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. There is a toll to being right in the beating heart of the city, such as the noise of the square but we do enjoy the benefits more, as our location allows the guests an easy access to the most important points of attraction Istanbul has to offer.

We will be delighted to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to our amazing city!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had stayed at the Marmara before and loved its location, its rooms, its staff, its service and its restaurant. So when we were planning to be in Istanbul in late spring, we booked at the Marmara. We arrived at the Marmara in the midst of the Taksim Square situation. We called the hotel when we got to the cruise port and were told to stay put and the a member of the concierge staff would come and pick us up, as the Square was blocked off and taxis couldn't get in. He did so, and that was the beginning of 3 extraordinary days. We had a bird's eye view of the marching, chanting, singing, dancing crowds in the Square, and were carefully watched over and advised by the spectacular hotel staff, who were unfailingly calm, polite, honest and helpful, although they themselves had great concern about what would happen to them and their jobs if the crisis kept up. Luckily, there is a variety of restaurants in the hotel, and they all stayed open, despite the lack of business, so we were well fed for our whole stay. We did go in and out of the hotel during the daytime and stayed in after dark and watched what was going on around us from our gorgeous picture window. Hats off the the management and staff of this extraordinary hotel for their grace under fire. The staff of the business office was particularly helpful in working out our departure arrangements with an overwhelmed Turkish Airways. If I could give the Marmara 6 stars, I would.

Room Tip: Every room has a view, but some overlook the city and some the Sea of Marmara. If you want a water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to receive such a great review of your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate that you chose to stay in our hotel despite the unrest in the area and I am delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. It is so pleasing to know that you found the team welcoming and friendly and happy that we were able to take care of you during your visit. Your positive comments have been shared with the team and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back now that the situation is much calmer and the life in Taksim has returned to its vibrant and at times crazy mode.
Thank you for your lovely feedback!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

As said by other visitors, the best thing about this hotel is its location in the middle of Taksim area, close to the shopping centres. However, there are other decent hotels in the area that are cheaper and provide the same services. If I would visit Istanbul again, I would stay in Sultan Ahmet area close to the historical places and bazaars as it is much nicer for those who like sightseeing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Abdallah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for expressing your opinion on Trip Advisor. As you kindly noted, The Marmara Taksim does enjoy being in the heart of the most dynamic part of Istanbul, which provides easy access for our guests to the main points of attraction. Sultan Ahmet area is however, more historical and isn’t too far from our hotel either.

We wish you safe travels and hope you enjoy your time in Istanbul no matter where you choose to stay!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#99 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,757 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#338 of 1,156 in Istanbul
368 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#130 of 1,156 in Istanbul
647 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#84 of 1,156 in Istanbul
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Property: The Marmara Taksim
Address: Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing