We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel for professional travel in Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marmara Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marmara Taksim
Ranked #93 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hotel for professional travel in Istanbul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The rooms are clean and acceptable. The beds are relative modern and the furniture is traditional style but new. The restaurant in the ground floor has a good gastronomical offer (please don´t take buffet but order by the menu). The restaurant at the top floor provides good views to the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. Take high rooms with view to the sea. The lower rooms with view to Taksim square are always noisy in the night. The hotel is close to the flower market restaurant street and to Metro station Taxim, which is a good communication option, due to the extremelly heavy traffic of Istanbul

Room Tip: Take high rooms with view to the sea. The lower rooms with view to Taksim square are always noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacoVerdera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. Just as you have mentioned, we are perfectly located in the heart of Istanbul, which allows our guests to make the best of their time here.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit this wonderful city again!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    414
    127
    39
    21
See reviews for
220
328
86
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karadj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I like it so much and we enjoyed our stay there.
Good room with nice decoration an beautiful table lamps!
Abd ofcourse the marvelous view of phosphorus...
And we enjoyed a meal in the panaroma restaurant...
Lobby is nice and luxury u can rest and watch for a while.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you wholeheartedly for “one of the best in Istanbul” as we are certainly on the path to be constantly improving ourselves and becoming the best in this highly competitive environment. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Marmara Taksim Hotel and all of us here look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

far too expensive (euro 225/night) for an old, worn out room, small and unacceptabel shower in bathtub...etc, very very poor wifi (not enough signal for normal surfing...
The restaurant on the 20th floor was excellent, both in food as the view; but ofcourse managed by another entrepreneur then the hotelmanagement...not surprising.
be careful, if you dare to take the 'Turkish Delight' (small bottle eau de cologne, they'll charge you TL 60 at departure, it is not free....

Room Tip: ask for a refurnished room on a floor where there are no construction works
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellemieke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your feedback. We do value your comments and candor and are working together to improve based on your observations and experiences. Of course, the team and I want to ensure that each guest has a wonderful experience and I am so sorry that we let you down.
We would welcome the opportunity of hosting you again when our renovation is over and I am positive that you will enjoy the newly done rooms with the mesmerizing views of both the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. We wish you safe travels in the meantime.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is well located, with amazing views and an excellent gym. But for the price it falls short in many ways. The rooms are being renovated - mine was still old. They are quite small, with wardrobes without sufficient hanging length for even a day dress- let alone anything longer and far too much clutter, making it almost impossible to use the small table as a desk. The bathroom is well equipped except for a lack of toilet brush. The worse thing is possibly the housekeeping. Out of 5 days I only got a full complement of towels once, and that was the first day when I complained that I had neither a hand towel nor a bath mat. I only got a facecloth once. The cleaners also woke me one morning, even though I had a do not disturb sign on the door, and perhaps even more annoying, they kept tidying my papers (I was primarily there for business). They also had an annoying habit of turning the air conditioning back on, when I turned it off - except one day whem they opened the window (which I like, except that there were mosquitos).
The concierge service is excellent with good recommendations for restaurants and friendly service. The reception is also fairly efficient, although I did have to ask questions about whether breakfast was included etc.

The downstairs bar is acceptable. The upstairs bar has stunning views but is not part of the hotel, and so you will need your wallet- no opportunity to add the cost to your room bill and NO INTERNET connection!!! The breakfast was so dull that I only ate there once. Coffee was almost undrinkable, and the fruit was mostly tinned.

Istanbul has many good hotels, and this one is not cheap. If you particularly want the gym (the pool was not open when I arrived), then this may beat the others, but for most business travellers, I think it will seem overpriced and lacking finesse.

Room Tip: Plenty of great views available, but be careful if you want to avoid the noise of building works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your feedback and candor. I am sorry to hear about your bitter experience with the Housekeeping Dept. I have passed on your comments to relevant department heads and please rest assured that necessary measures are being taken to prevent such incidents from happening in the future. As you kindly noted, the rooftop restaurant Raika is not part of the hotel, however, adding the bill to your room account is possible and I regret that the restaurant staff failed to inform you as such.
We hope to you give us another chance upon your next visit to Istanbul so that we can host you in one of our newly refurbished rooms and treat you with a genuine Turkish hospitality.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four nights to attend a work conference in March 2014. The location can't be faulted, the breakfast is lovely (much variety- for vegetarians as well), and the gym is great. Can't review the spa or swimming pool as they were being renovated during our stay. The thing that lets this hotel down badly, in my opinion, is the smell of cigarette smoke that pervades the hotel's corridors and rooms. I'd recommend that if you wish to stay in a non-smoking room, you specify this when booking. It appears the hotel has more smoking rooms than non-smoking, with the former the default. After having a restless night in a smoking room, I was moved to a non-smoking floor, and although the smell was less strong, it still was everywhere. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you suffer from asthma or other respiratory illnesses. On a more positive note, with the exception of the odd member of staff, the staff at reception were friendly and efficient, with a special note of thanks to the cheerful concierge who was very knowledgeable and helpful. The bar on the top offers great views of the city and is worth a visit. I'd come back when this hotel is smokefree.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arracka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate our guests’ feedback and my intent is to learn from the mistakes made during your recent visit. In our hotel, we only have one floor allocated to smoking rooms and the rest of the floors are non-smoking. I regret that we couldn't make your stay a comfortable one and hope you give us another chance to host you on your next visit to Istanbul, so that we can show you our genuine Turkish hospitality.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

always stop at this hotel! very cultured staff at the reception, restaurant, lobby, Spa. especially the manager Minai Massimova always help me to solve any problem. and despite the fact that on May 31, June 1, in Taksim square, there were a lot of police. I found a lot of interesting and new places in this hotel. massage, Hammam , a swimming pool, a very good gym

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustam_Akhmadov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Rustam_Akhmadov,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive comment about your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. We are honored to be your “super hotel” in Istanbul and love having you back over and over again. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our newly renovated spa and gym and the season for our outdoor swimming pool is just beginning! I am pleased I was able to be of service to you and all of us here look forward to welcoming you again when you visit this gorgeous city next!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pros:
Very good location, close to the metro station and Istiklal Cadessi.
Friendly staff speaking good English at the front desk, good service - check in done @ 9 AM

Cons:
Small but clean bathrooms for a 5* hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to take advantage of our perfect location. We hope to have another chance to welcome you in our hotel in not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#136 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#99 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#74 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#369 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Property: The Marmara Taksim
Address: Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing