We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the try”
Review of The Marmara Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marmara Taksim
Ranked #94 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the try”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Marmama, i still remember my Dutch friend pronouncing it Maghmagha.. was so funny.
It's such an amazing hotel, fancy lobby comfortable rooms... we had a workshop of 3 days in the hotel even the meeting room was comfortable.. tasty snacks were offered during the coffee breaks and i certainly loved the lunch buffet. Location is so cool, Taksim is a very nice region, a long road full with shops cafes and restaurants.. In my opinion, this hotel is worth the try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at The Marmara (Maghmagha) Taksim Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage not only of the hotel rooms, but also the meeting facilities including our luscious lunch. And just as you have mentioned, we have a fantastic location in the heart of Istanbul, which allows our guests to have easy access to the most focal points of the city. Therefore, we hope you will come back to stay with us again when your travels bring you here next!

Sincerely,

Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    418
    128
    39
    22
See reviews for
225
332
87
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 12-14 august this year.

The hotel is located at Taksim square and is right at the entry to the main shopping area. Public transport is available as much as the abundance of taxis as well.

The rooms are currently being renovated so this is a review on the current state of affairs. The rooms are designed in a very opulent style with gold and blu tones being most prominent. They are clean and comfortable. Even the beds were super comfortable for sleeping.

The staff were very attentive and far from what I had expected with lack of service. They allowed me an early check in of 7.30am without additional cost and upgraded my room to ocean view as well.

The hotel'a facilities are ample with a coffee lounge in the lobby, connected to the Kitchenette restaurant for meals, leisure facilities such as amazing pool, gym, and turkish style baths.

My only downside to the whole stay is the price of the minibar and in house drinks. A vodka with orange by the pool was about US$16, on the streets at a bar it would be about 1/2 if not less. A bottle of water in the mini bar was TL9, and on the streets TL0.75 - massive difference. Suggestion is to reduce and have similar pricing or much lower than the current and guests would be more likely to stay in and drink instead of spending their money elsewhere

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AleksP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the “Amazing Hotel” and for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear it was a memorable one and that we were able to spoil you with our seaview room upon your early arrival. I have passed on your suggestion regarding the minibar prices to our Food & Beverage Dept. and we thank you for your constructive feedback.
I am glad to inform you that we are almost done with our renovation and we look forward to welcoming you in our newly done rooms in not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Taksim is not a great place for a tourist to stay in Istanbul. That said, this hotel over promises and under delivers. While the lobby is nicely remodeled, the rest of the hotel is slightly crumbling. We were on the 5 th floor and that hallway has been patched up many times with mediocre workmanship if you look closely. The view of Taksim square is dreary and the construction site next door doesn't help. The pool deck is uninviting although the view is terrific and it closes unacceptably early. The breakfast is Ottoman plus a number of other offerings, pretty good overall but the service (drinks, clearing plates) was not 5 star. Our friend ordered egg whites cooked to order but obviously the cook didn't understand. We had a group dinner which was adequate but definitely not fine dining. The business center was well equipped but its thermostat was out in the hallway and turned off when I got there , so by the time the room cooled down I was done. No big deal to move it inside where it belongs. We stayed another part of our visit at a boutique hotel in the old city which was half the cost, closer to the sights, and more luxurious. I think this property is closer to 3 stars than 5.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank freedml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry for your bitter experience. It seems that we let you down and I hope that our inability to provide the level of service you expected does not blemish the name of The Marmara Collection. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your experiences so I can share the details with the rest of the team. Could you please contact me at mmasimova@themarmarahotels.com? We take our guests’ comments very seriously and our intent is to learn from the mistakes made during your recent visit.

Thank you once again and we wish you safe travels in the meantime.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms, on one side of the hotel with views of the square & on the other side, views of the Bosporus. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The buffet breakfast was outstanding.

We walked from the old town, across the Galata bridge, past the Galata Tower and eventually to Istiklal Caddesi, the famous pedestrian street which leads right to Taksim Square. A long walk but many sights and lots of shopping.

There is also wonderful public transportation with access right at the square.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marctucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review of your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. It’s great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. Istanbul is great for walking and sightseeing and just as you mentioned, all of its beauty can be seen from our rooms that overlook both the Golden Horn and the Bosphorus. We will happily welcome you whenever your travels bring you back to this amazing city. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,

Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a splendid stay.

Located In the heart of Istanbul. No need to take cabs across the place. The check in process was very fast so was the check out.

The staff are so friendly and helpful as well. Lovely clean rooms and spacious ones as well. The service is swift the staff are always ready to help. All of them!

Great place, I highly recommend whether on business or leisure.

Great work Marmara

Room Tip: the higher the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AboEleanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving a kind comment about your experience with The Marmara Taksim Hotel. It is because of guests like you that we are always inspired to do even better and to make sure that you keep coming back to us as to your family. I have passed on your praise to the staff and all of us here would love to welcome you back when you happen to be in Istanbul again!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It is a great place to stay in this gorgeous city Istanbul. Convenience word is finding the exact meaning for a traveller at this location. Every thing and every where is close to this hotel. Staff is kind and helpful. Rooms are clean. I liked this hotel mostly for it's location. Rooms need renovation for luxury travelers. Food is good, but it is all pricy. You are in the middle of Istanbul and there are plenty restaurants, coffees around, so you can try many places to eat at more reasonable prices. It will be more expensive but try to get a room with superb Bosphorus view, you will fall in love with Istanbul.

Room Tip: A room with Bosporus view will make your stay unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiSunay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel. Just as you have mentioned, we are perfectly located in the heart of Istanbul, which allows our guests to make the best of their time here.
We would welcome the opportunity of hosting you again when our renovation is over and I am positive that you will enjoy the newly done rooms with the mesmerizing views of both the Bosphorus and the Golden Horn. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit this wonderful city again!

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fortunately and unexpectedly, our room was on the 19th floor offering breathtaking views of Istanbul. The hotel is centrally located (in Taksim). The employees are helpful and friendly and there's an interactive concierge which was really convenient for us. The breakfast was satisfactory. The lobby was nice and spacious.
The bathroom was outdated.
I honestly think that a renovation to the rooms would make the whole hotel experience better.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarmaraTaksim, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Taksim, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Marmara Taksim Hotel and were able to take advantage of its perfect location in the heart of Istanbul. I am pleased to inform you that we have already started a major renovation project and would love to host you again in our newly done rooms once the refurbishment is over.
My colleagues and I wish you safe travels in the meantime.

Sincerely,
Minay Masimova
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#146 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#100 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#76 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#375 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Property: The Marmara Taksim
Address: Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#104 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing