We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anatolia Suite St Sophia Best Choice”
Review of Le Safran Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Safran Suite
Ranked #91 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anatolia Suite St Sophia Best Choice”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked Anatolia Suites for 4 nights for our trip to Istanbul before we continued on to Ephesus. This was the best place we stayed. It was quite, very clean...the staff was very helpful with the places we should visit, they even made our dinner reservations for my daughters birthday.
We were few minutes away from the tram, so it was very easy to get to taksim and back, all historical locations were 2 mins walking distance.
We couldnt have asked for more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet_mendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    28
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
33
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My boyfriend and I booked this place for our week long trip to Istanbul.. First of all the location was great, it was walking distance from St Sophia, Archeology Museum, Blue Mosque...and the tram is few steps away to take you to the new city part of town.
The hotel itself was very clean, our room was spacious, the neighborhood was safe and quite, the staff was nice and friendly. If you are planning on staying in the Old City / Sultanahmet area, Anatolia Suite St Sophia will give you the best bank for your buck.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My family and I stayed at Anatolia Suite St Sophia during our week long trip to Istanbul. We stayed at their family suite which was perfect for our 2 kids and us. The hotel itself really felt like an old times Byzantium / Ottoman house with the internal staircase and high ceilings.
The room was squeaky clean, the staff was very nice, and very helpful.
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, you can not beat the location of this place - its close to EVERYTHING in the old city area
It will be definetly be our choice of accommodation for our next trip to Istanbul!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here just one night after spending some nights at another nearby hotel that could only have us for three days. Although that hotel was good as well, it had clearly better tripadvisor reviews, but fell short of anatolia suite.

The place was a very clean and beautifull old ottoman house a stone throw from the hagia sophia (eased using the cabs "just drive to hagia sophia!"). If you are ready to pay for staying at that location then this is still a pretty good bang for the buck considering the alternatives. However, do notice that if you are more interested in the nightlife etc. you necessarily do not want to live in sultanahmet which is kind of the more touristy live-at-day side.

The staff were eager to help calling restaurants etc. for us - service you'd expect at more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: There are two hotels (of the same owner) by the name of anatolia suite, we accidentally were given t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Anatolia Suite St. Sophia for three nights in May 2011. The Anatolia is a smaller hotel with traditional Ottoman architecture and is easy walking distance to all the attractions in the Sultanahmet. Our room was on the first floor facing the back and was very quiet. The others in our party had a room on the street and had some issues with noise. Room size was small but adequate and the bathroom was clean although the shower did not drain well so we showered in a shallow pool. Staff was very helpful, providing advice on restaurants and letting us borrow a lobby tour book for an evening walk. If you looking for a reasonably priced hotel with character for a base to explore Istanbul, Anatolia Suite St. Sophia would be a good choice.

If you do decide to book here, make certain whoever is bringing you to the hotel knows the precise location. The owners have a sister hotel called the Anatolia Sultanahmet, which is the more known hotel. Our driver took us to that hotel first and it took another 20 minutes to get another transfer and another 20 minutes to make the short drive to our hotel due to the Istanbul traffic.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fried-Rice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The Anatolia Suites St. Sophia is on a quiet side street (a bit hard to find) not far from St. Sophia. Its upstairs suites are rather expensive and are geared to families. However, when we looked at availability and prices on the venere.com website, we found that they had a basement room available for 60 Euro and we booked it. (Strangely the 2 basement rooms are not mentioned on the Anatolia Suites website.) Our room was clean and contained a TV and a frig, but it was quite small (the double bed had about 8 inches on each side to the walls). The bed was covered by a duvet which was uncomfortably hot for the weather. The bathroom had plenty of hot water, but the shower had a floor drain and no shower curtain to keep the toilet area from getting wet. The lighting was adequate, but there was a shortage of ways to hang one’s clothes. The Turkish breakfast in the adjacent basement breakfast area was good and included corn flakes as well as the usual (tea, boiled egg, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, cheese, olives, lots of bread, etc.). The receptionist spoke English well and was helpful. It was an adequate place to sleep but not good value at 60 Euro.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The location is fantastic and the actual building is in traditional style which is nice and hence is why I booked it. The room we stayed had also been renovated, but there was a left over paint smell.

Unfortunately, due to the wooden stairs and paper thin walls you are able to hear every little noise and the fact that that front desk was not able to handle a rowdy group basically meant the nights sleep was lost.

Breakfast was the most basic of any place I stayed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieLad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesafranSuite, Genel Müdür at Le Safran Suite, responded to this review, 25 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Orhan ÖZKARDEŞ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#125 of 1,141 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#340 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#194 of 1,141 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,047 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Sultanahmet
Safran Suites Apart
Safran Suites Apart
#201 of 1,047 in Istanbul
40 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Suites
Gulhane Suites
#346 of 1,200 in Istanbul
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Safran Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Safran Suite

Property: Le Safran Suite
Address: Alemdar Mah. Zeynep Sultan Cami Sok. No:5, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Formerly Anatolia Suite St. Sophia)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Safran Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 500 metres from Sultanahmet Square, this 130 years old wooden newly renovated Ottoman residence offers suites with a separate bedroom and living room. It has free Wi-Fi and a daily housekeeping service.The guest rooms of the Anatolia Suite St. Sophia are named after Istanbul’s major tourist attractions and include flat-screen TVs and air conditioning.Guests of the Anatolia Suite can benefit from a daily breakfast and enjoy a cup of tea or coffee. The front desk is available 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Safran Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing