We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic - a short walk uphill to the HIppodrome and Blue Mosque; all the other major sights in Sultanahmet are then within a stone's throw of those two sights. This alone, and the price per night, should make you at least consider staying here if you're a tourist in town for a short time.

Saying that, the street the hotel is on is quite rundown - it didn't feel unsafe even at night, but it's not exactly a glamorous street. But then you're not far from the nice area around the HIppodrome. It's a somewhat quiet street in terms of traffic so it's ok but not ideal if you're a light sleeper.

The rooms are not very big and the furniture is basic but new, and therefore in good nick at the moment. Wifi signal was good and quite fast, at least while I was there.

Bear in mind that the hotel has been open less than 6 months and has a few things to improve; I relayed my views back to the friendly owners/receptionists, who welcome constructive criticism at this early stage. There were small details e.g. hot food is available at breakfast but as this isn't advertised, you don't know about it until someone remembers to ask you if you want hot food. Just an unintentional oversight on their part, not a deal breaker.

Oversights like that are easily rectified by this young hotel but the things that are harder to change - location, price point, determination and friendliness of staff - are all first class and what you'd expect from a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maui50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    278
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
394
718
131
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Home Counties
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

To the person who questions whether the reviews are genuine. They are. I've stayed at a bunch of places I've found on tripadvisor and write up those which are particularly bad or good. This is most definitely the latter. Service is incredible. Very knowledeable and friendly front desk who cannot do enough to help. They arranged a couple of trips for us and recommended local restaurants taking the time and effort to really understand our needs and our budget. This place deserves its postive reviews for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We chose BAsileus Hotel because the reviews from TA were great and we were not disapointed at all! The service is perfect, the rooms are brand new, clean and cozy, the breakfast is nice and the location is great. When we go back to Turkey some day Basileus hotel will be our home in Istanbul!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank viviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is a gem of a hotel. From the outset when the taxi driver got lost and the hotel manager and owner set out to find us, it was great. The room was spotless, the breakfast lovely and nothing was ever too much trouble. look no further, this is a brilliant little place. Yusuf the manager is a real professional and has a great eye for detail, the rest of the staff were happy and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndirande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in both for the standard of the room and the quality of service. The welcome from the reception team was friendly and personal. The team quite obviously actually care about the success of this hotel and they want you to be happy and comfortable. The bedrooms are of a good size, they are light and airy and the furniture is good quality. Overall an excellent experience for my first time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmills77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We booked our stay at Basileus at the last moment and it lived very much up to expectations! The GM, Yusuf, was extremely welcoming and warm, and we were made to feel at home during our stay. The hotel is located within walking distance of historical Istanbul and walking past the Sultanahmet Mosque everyday was an experience in itself. We took a train from the airport and walked from the tram line to Basileus with little difficulty (note: the hotel is located in an area where there are numerous other hotels around, so just ask anyone around the area and they will be able to direct you)

The rooms are spotless and new, and breakfast was an extremely enjoyable experience and something to look forward to at the start of the day. The free wifi was fast and reliable. Yusuf was extremely helpful in helping to book tours on request (e.g. Bosphorus Cruise etc) and his fellow colleagues gave excellent recommendations on food and other places to explore.

We stayed for 9 days and it was a wonderful experience. If Basileus is able to provide such consistent quality and value as experienced, I am certain it will do well in the years to come. Definitely looking forward to coming back to Istanbul! Thanks Basileus!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

This was my first time in Istanbul and I could not have found a better place to stay than the Basileus..... this newly opened hotel is warm, friendly and inviting, our room was bright, sunny, incredibly comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the staff & owners are fantastic- they are friendly, welcoming, very knowledgeable about the city and willing to help with any information or suggestions you may need- the ultimate hosts, they will truly make you feel at home. A delicious breakfast is served in the morning, with a variety of fruit, bread, eggs, cheeses, yogurt, honey, coffee, juices- a perfect start to a day exploring this amazing city. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing