We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Find !!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My wife and I stayed there for four nights the first week of June and I can say this is an exceptional B and B. The size of the rooms, the cleanliness of the whole hotel, the outstanding breakfast, and the helpfulness of the entire staff of this hotel was hands down the best of our trip. This hotel deserves the high marks that it receives!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aircsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
398
722
132
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Basileus Hotel located very close to Sultanahmet and is walking distance from most of the amazing places in Istanbul including Hagiya Sofiya and Blue Mosque. But that's not what makes it amazing....The family run hotel is great to stay in when travelling with kids or family with the staff taking extra care of all your needs. Infact in our case, we even got a call from the reception when they heard my son crying, saying "is their anything that we can do to help". Ekko and Mohhamat (hope I have the spelt their names right!) were extremely helpful and charming. The breakfast spread can be improved however the staff service at breakfast is exceptional

Even though the hotel is not plush or has amenities like a pool; they more than make up for it by trying to go the extra mile for their guests. The rooms and bathrooms are clean; good in size with no frills.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank archanavohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We loved this hotel. The staff was excellent and provided great ideas for restaurants and places to see. The hotel is brand new and the rooms are perfect. The rooftop patio was not opened yet but will be soon. Close to lots of historical sites, and wonderful things to see.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a layover in Istanbul from 5 in the evening until the next morning so decided to spend the night and see what we could. Basileus Hotel arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport and when we arrived at the hotel they made us feel right at home. Understanding our jet lag and limited time, the staff made us some Turkish coffee and marked on a map what we could hope to accomplish that evening. The room was clean and comfortable and we slept great. The next day we had to leave for the airport prior to when breakfast is normally served so they opened the breakfast room 15 minutes early and cooked us a delicious omelet. The hotel is well situated for seeing the historic section and the staff is beyond helpful. There were three of us and the room was spacious and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DKB-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I gave 4 stars only for incredible staff that helped me with every little thing I wanted and was very friendly. They even gave us a room for 15 minutes in the evening before leaving city. But all other things disapointed me. Although we were told that our room (114) is very quiet, it was very noisy. You can hear all the sounds from the hall of hotel, cars on the street with the music, repairing of biuldings near hotel. You can close the window or balcony to get rid of some sounds but not all. Room was spacious with a queen bed (but it was a little bit hard) with a view to cafe in front of it. Breakfast was poor, all dishes that should be hot were cold. So as I was third time to Istanbul I know much more better hotel for the same price.

Room Tip: Don't take room on the ground fl. esp. 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BouH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I was travelling alone and as such much prefer to stay somewhere homely. Basileus hotel is such a home away from home, welcomed like an old friend every time I walked through the door, nothing was too much for the great group of staff who work there. Even to the point of walking me across the road to find a place to enjoy the fine wine of Turkey! The rooms are clean, comfortable and the location is perfect for exploring the old town and areas such as Grand Bazaar and the Blue mosque

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Innuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Basileus from May 20-23 and we were extremely happy with our choice. Starting before the trip, I had sent emails asking questions about what we should plan before we left for the trip and I received quick responses and reassurance that no plans were needed and they would help us as soon as we get to the hotel.

We were provided with a free airport transfer due to a promotion and that was seamless. We arrived at the hotel within 30 minutes (max). We were greeted with tea/coffee and we checked in. We were advised to relax in our room for a little and when we were settled we would go through a mini overview of Istanbul. The overview was great (where to catch the metro, key things to see, etc.) they provided us with pamphlets and brochures for tours, but they were not pushy about it (we opted for a private tour that we got to pick the key sights we wanted to go to). On a side note about the private tour (we noticed that tour guides get to go to the front of the line to buy tickets for the major sights so it made our tour more efficient than doing it on our own - well worth the 60 euros!). The hotel made all reservations that we needed and arranged our transfer back to the airport (and carried our bags two blocks so that we would not get stuck in the traffic jam).

Room was spacious, good size for a hotel so close to all the sights in old town. The bathroom was a good size as well. My only criticsm would be the firmness of the bed...but it didn't affect my sleep so not a big deal.

The location was within a 5 minute walk (uphill) to Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Hagi Sofia, Basillica Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. The Grand Bazaar is approx. 15 minute walk. The Spice Bazaar was 15 minutes on the metro. The only time we took a cab was from Galata Tower area back to the hotel (which cost 14tl). The metro was very convenient.

The breakfast had the best selections of all the places we stayed throughout our trip in Turkey.

As with other reviews we were there when the road around the hotel was under construction, and as per other reviews it does get a little noisey from time to time, but we were on the first floor right at the corner where the traffic jam was and during the night while we were sleeping we were not bothered by the noise (we weren't in the room from 9am-10pm).

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BMR2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#34 of 1,129 in Istanbul
805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
689 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing