We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff - Excellent location for old town - Great breakfast - Spacious rooms”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Clean and neat. Bathroom modern with small Jacuzzi. Beds large and comfortable. Helpfulness of the staff and their warmth is lasting memory. Any review should have at least one drawback and the only one I can think of is that there isn't an elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfbrown67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for Basileus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed here with my daughters and my mom in July, we were all impressed with the hospitality. We had a great time and we would return again. Thanks for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I had delightful stay at the Basileus, very friendly place,delicious breakfast with lots of variety,the service from the staff of this hotel is second to none,very clean, up to date and the beds were very comfortable.I would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank driss m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Basileus Hotel is more like home than a hotel. We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were not proved wrong. We reached the hotel late night around 11 pm and were greeted by Moharem, the partner of this hotel. He gave us the keys straight away without the check-in formalities and said the same will be done the next day since it was late. No hotel has done this before. I really appreciated his gesture. We stayed here for 5 nights and it was like home. We stayed in a economy triple room, which was on the same level as the reception, room number 113. The mattresses were most comfortable, the room was cleaned daily, fresh towels and clean sheets. The hotel had a free wifi and you need to take the login/password rom the reception once. We had no problem using the wi-fi. It was seamless and fast.

The staff were extremely helpful. Eko, Yousef and the team would go out of their way to give us directions, maps, help plan the day etc. The morning breakfast was perhaps the best that we had on our three week stay in Europe. Fluffy omlettes, fresh fruits, selection of cheese, juices, breads, croissants etc. There was a small grocery store right outside the entrance of the hotel from where we would buy our water etc and is very convenient. The shop was open even as late as mid-night.

The Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Islam & Turkish Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar are all walking distance from the hotel. You could take the tram to the Eminonou area and take the Turyol boat cruise on the Bosphorous. These boats start from the West side of the bridge and very reasonably priced.This is a wonderful 90 minute cruise and you come back to the same spot. In case you want to visit the Dolmabahce Palace, you take the tram to the last stop Kabatas and the palace is a 3-4 minute walk from there. If you need to reach Taksim Square, you take the same tram to Kabatas, alight and then take the funicolor(underground) train which is 1 minute walk from the tram stop. You will come out in the Taksim Square and you can walk on the wonderful Istiglal Street. The Arastaa Bazaar is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel and it is a chic place to do window shopping. Things are a bit expensive there but you will find some good stuff there.

Sultanahmet is a great place to stay as you soak in the sights and sounds of Istanbul, when you get tired, you can get back to the room and after a short nap, head back for a great evening. There are some great cobbled streets to walk around, great shops to do some window shopping and also indulge if you wish to.

Yousef recommended a wonderful restaurant called Amedros which was bang opposite the Mcdonalds on way to the Grand Bazaar. We loved the place so much, we went there 4 times. Do try the Kumpir or the huge potatoe stuffed with whatever you choose. Also the fish sandwich at the Eminonou is a must try. If you want to enjoy some traditional turkish desert soaked in history, then the place to go is the Hafiz Musthafa, established in 1864 and the ambience of this place is truly awesome. Try the expresso macchiato there in addition to the yummy desserts.

We certainly recommend this hotel and we will return again....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrashRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here for five nights, and really enjoyed my stay.

The hotel itself nothing too exciting, but it is very good value. The rooms are fairly basic, but quite large and spotlessly clean. I found the bed and pillows to be very comfortable. The location is good. It is on a fairly quiet street, but only a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and lots of restaurants.

The staff were fantastic. Without exception everyone we dealt with was incredibly friendly and helpful. They all went out of their way to assist us whenever they could. We had one small problem arise with our transport, which they took care of for us.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cortunefookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Incredible staff, couldn't have asked for more. A perfect hotel in a great location. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesshope123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at Basileus for 5 nights in July and were so happy with the service and hospitality. Moharem and everyone at the front desk went out of their way to make our stay comfortable ... and even went as far as calling other hotels on our trip to re-organize our schedule for the better. The breakfast every morning was excellent.

In a place so far from home, we felt welcomed and taken care of at Basileus. We missed that kind of care as soon as we left!

The location of the hotel is very convenient to the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,161 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,042 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,161 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,161 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,161 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,161 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing