We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stopped here on our honeymoon for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for more in a hotel. Basileus was clean and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful--everytime we walked by the front desk they were always helping guests. The location is great-a brisk 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque- but the hotel is in a quieter area away from the tour groups and buses. We would definitely recommend this place to friends and family. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
400
722
133
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Clean and neat. Bathroom modern with small Jacuzzi. Beds large and comfortable. Helpfulness of the staff and their warmth is lasting memory. Any review should have at least one drawback and the only one I can think of is that there isn't an elevator.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfbrown67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed here with my daughters and my mom in July, we were all impressed with the hospitality. We had a great time and we would return again. Thanks for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I had delightful stay at the Basileus, very friendly place,delicious breakfast with lots of variety,the service from the staff of this hotel is second to none,very clean, up to date and the beds were very comfortable.I would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driss m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Basileus Hotel is more like home than a hotel. We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were not proved wrong. We reached the hotel late night around 11 pm and were greeted by Moharem, the partner of this hotel. He gave us the keys straight away without the check-in formalities and said the same will be done the next day since it was late. No hotel has done this before. I really appreciated his gesture. We stayed here for 5 nights and it was like home. We stayed in a economy triple room, which was on the same level as the reception, room number 113. The mattresses were most comfortable, the room was cleaned daily, fresh towels and clean sheets. The hotel had a free wifi and you need to take the login/password rom the reception once. We had no problem using the wi-fi. It was seamless and fast.

The staff were extremely helpful. Eko, Yousef and the team would go out of their way to give us directions, maps, help plan the day etc. The morning breakfast was perhaps the best that we had on our three week stay in Europe. Fluffy omlettes, fresh fruits, selection of cheese, juices, breads, croissants etc. There was a small grocery store right outside the entrance of the hotel from where we would buy our water etc and is very convenient. The shop was open even as late as mid-night.

The Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Islam & Turkish Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar are all walking distance from the hotel. You could take the tram to the Eminonou area and take the Turyol boat cruise on the Bosphorous. These boats start from the West side of the bridge and very reasonably priced.This is a wonderful 90 minute cruise and you come back to the same spot. In case you want to visit the Dolmabahce Palace, you take the tram to the last stop Kabatas and the palace is a 3-4 minute walk from there. If you need to reach Taksim Square, you take the same tram to Kabatas, alight and then take the funicolor(underground) train which is 1 minute walk from the tram stop. You will come out in the Taksim Square and you can walk on the wonderful Istiglal Street. The Arastaa Bazaar is a 5 minute walk from the Hotel and it is a chic place to do window shopping. Things are a bit expensive there but you will find some good stuff there.

Sultanahmet is a great place to stay as you soak in the sights and sounds of Istanbul, when you get tired, you can get back to the room and after a short nap, head back for a great evening. There are some great cobbled streets to walk around, great shops to do some window shopping and also indulge if you wish to.

Yousef recommended a wonderful restaurant called Amedros which was bang opposite the Mcdonalds on way to the Grand Bazaar. We loved the place so much, we went there 4 times. Do try the Kumpir or the huge potatoe stuffed with whatever you choose. Also the fish sandwich at the Eminonou is a must try. If you want to enjoy some traditional turkish desert soaked in history, then the place to go is the Hafiz Musthafa, established in 1864 and the ambience of this place is truly awesome. Try the expresso macchiato there in addition to the yummy desserts.

We certainly recommend this hotel and we will return again....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here for five nights, and really enjoyed my stay.

The hotel itself nothing too exciting, but it is very good value. The rooms are fairly basic, but quite large and spotlessly clean. I found the bed and pillows to be very comfortable. The location is good. It is on a fairly quiet street, but only a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and lots of restaurants.

The staff were fantastic. Without exception everyone we dealt with was incredibly friendly and helpful. They all went out of their way to assist us whenever they could. We had one small problem arise with our transport, which they took care of for us.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cortunefookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds/London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Incredible staff, couldn't have asked for more. A perfect hotel in a great location. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesshope123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#25 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#12 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing