We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice home”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

That was a great stay for us,lovely location,very clean nice room with excellent comfort,very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stamtore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
726
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

If you like firm beds, this is the place. I do, and it was a little firm even for me. The room was clean, comfortable, attractive. Bathroom was nice, but water pressure a little iffy. Location is good--It's a short uphill walk to the major tourist destinations and the tram. Breakfast was good. Buffet of cold items, juices, and tea. Omelets made to order were a nice touch.Be sure to map the hotel before you arrive because it's hard to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arlenetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at Basileus for 5 nights and I enjoyed it very much. The staff is kind and helpful and the location is very good. Breakfast is a variety of breads, cheeses, meats, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, yogurt, cereal, dried dates, apricots, and my favourite: warm cake with chocolate chips! You can also order omelettes to your liking. The beds were a bit hard for our liking, but hopefully they will soften up once more people come through. The only inconvenience was that after two nights we had to move to a different room. Probably due to overbooking, which we encountered a couple more times in our 3 week trip. Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cittaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent service, very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Location is very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaamidAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

It is hard to find fault with anything at Basileus. Its location is perfect: just a block away from Little Sophie and about 10--15 minute stroll to Grand Bazaar. The rooms are remarkably clean and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious, with omelettes made to your liking. But probably best thing about Basileus is its staff. The owner and his assistants treat you like cousins who have popped in for a visit. They want to be sure that you see and do exactly what is best for you in the beautiful city of Istanbul. Another plus is the restaurant across the street: Cesme. Try its Chef Salad for an added plus to your visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

What a great place stay! Basileus Hotel is located in a prime location, is super clean, and has the warmest and most helpful staff you could ever ask for! I will definitely return the next time I am in Istanbul!

-Dan, New York City

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank dwcohen10587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My daughter and I had an excellent stay at the Basileus hotel. After our first night we were given a bigger room on the second floor. The staff here is the most hospitable we have ever experienced. Muharrem, the owner, spends lots of time at the hotel giving his guests information on the sites, tours and restaurants in the area. All of the young men who work here are warm and make you feel like you are staying in their home. On the morning we left to visit other parts of Turkey 2 of the young men were up at 4 AM to help with our luggage and to make sure we got off safely. I was having difficulty contacting United Airlines while there and I was given their phone and they helped get me get in touch with the right person (not an easy thing to do when you're traveling in another country). Everything you want to see and do in Sultahmet (the Old City) is within walking distance. Breakfast is plentiful with a made to order omelette and Turkish coffee included. I can't say enough about this hotel, the owner (Muharrem) and staff (Yusef, Eko and Omar).

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff at the Basileus will do everything they can to make sure you get the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamabren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing