We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night in Istanbul”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Hi, just got back from cruise in Med. Stayed at Basileus Hotel on an overnight in Istanbul. The hotel was close to all the sites. The staff was excellant and very helpful. No elevator but no question on handling our bags up the stairs to our room. The room was clean and quite (in the back).Breakfast was free and very good. Free transportation to the cruise ship.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back. It is on a busy street. Also download directions to the hotel for the driver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podsRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

Now the UK winter's coming on we're looking back on the travel highlights of the year and most memorable is our first trip to Turkey in May. This was made particularly memorable by the luck we had in selecting the Basileus Hotel as our base. On arrival we were offered a seat and a cup of tea while we registered, offered advice and information matching our interests and then shown to a clean and comfortable room where we spent the next 9 nights.

The staff were smiling and friendly, the breakfasts excellent and the service and support as good as we've experienced anywhere in the world.

The hotel is situated in Sultamahmet, 5 minutes from the Bospherus shore in one direction and 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque in the other. A walk up the hill past the Blue Mosque puts you on the tram line within easy reach of all the main attractions.

There are several restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel plus corner shops, a bakery, a Thursday fruit and veg street market and a Turkish bath house. The restaurant opposite the hotel is particularly good and modestly priced.

The proximity of several mosques means that sleep can be interrupted by the Imams' calls early in the morning but we enjoyed that, and where in Istanbul can you not hear the call to prayer?

We got a good deal on our extended stay but the prices are generally in the mid range and certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

i've stayed in too many hotels to mention, and Basileus is without doubt the best of all. i chose the hotel because of other Tripadvisor reviews, and it was the right choice. the friendliness was evident from the first email enquiry i made, and the guys at the hotel: Yusuf, Ekrem, Muharrim and all the others, were just outstanding. they were always helpful, always ready to give the best advice about where to go, how to get there etc. These guys were just fantastic. The other guests i met during my stay, also shared this view, and were also very friendly. The hotel itself is very close to Blue Mosque and most of the top tourist sites in Istanbul. The room was ideal for me, and the breakfast here was also fantastic. this hotel is highly recommended - and i just hope they can accommodate me when i visit Istanbul again !!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iannsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hi I recently spent 4 nights in this hotel and I have nothing but good things to say about it. As I was meeting a friend in instanbul the offer of free transfer from airport on arrival was great and the hotel had their guy at the airport waiting for me. Checking in was simple and the guys offered to bring me through the map of the area. Breakfast was included and it was fab , large buffet of food and also omelette offered . Rooms were very clean and spacious . The location is great just 10 min walk or so to the centre of the old town and all the sites. Great restaurant across the road from the hotel for those who do not want to do any walking. Overall the hospitality at this small hotel was excellant and very personal and if i ever travel of istanbul again I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the ground floor and you can hear some noise from the lobby,if you prefer to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieDrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Sensational sums it up. We had a family room which was perfect for the 4 of us (2 boys aged 9 and 11) and stayed for 3 nights in October. Very very clean, comfy and enough room for us. The staff were amazing and always ready with great ideas. Everyone was so friendly. Breakfast was wonderful and the omelettes the best ever. We walked everywhere. If only we'd had more time here - will just have to go back. Lovely little deli over the street for late night snacks and beverages. Our taxi driver took a while to find it so suggest maybe printing a google map before you leave home with location to show the driver. If travelling with kids suggest the 1.5hr turyol cruise rather than the longer one - sit on the starboard side - a good deal at 12 TL.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which is from memory the 3rd floor. It was great being well above the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelinwkids14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hi,

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough. The guys were so helpful and patient - showing everyone maps, offering advise and what to do and where to go.

I arrived on an overnight flight and was told to go down and help myself to some breakfast and check in when finished! The rooms were lovely and clean and the hotel had great WiFi.

It was a great location a short 10 minute stroll to the old city and all its attractions and loads of lovely restaurants and the tram line also. Breakfast was lovely continental style with a great omelette and a Turkish coffee (to kick start the day).

Had a great trip to Istanbul made even better by choosing to stay in this hotel.

Thanks guys!!

Elaine

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laineymcdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I read excellent reviews about Basileus Hotel on trip advisor and believe me I was not dissapointed. I stayed there solo for 3 nights and had an amazing experience. The staff , owner Muharram, Yusuf, Eko and the others are the best I have met on all my travels. The hospitality is nothing short of exceptional. Breakfast was awesome with many choices to satisfy everyone. Location is excellent within walking distance to all the top sights. My room was spotless and really comfy. I love this hotel and can't wait to return in the Spring. Special thanks to Muharram for all his assistance during my my quick stay. You made it possible for me to see all the important sights in such a short time.
Believe me you will NEVER miss your early morning flight while staying here. Thank you .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deirdre750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,114 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
942 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing