We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing staff”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, amazing staff”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed in Basileus last week and we couldn't be happier. It's a quite new looking hotel with very good features. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelF0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    280
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
410
726
135
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 31 December to 4 January. We were very glad tha we had chosen it. Is is very close to all interesting places to see, not far from tram stop.
The best word to describe this hotel is "cosiness". The atmosphere is more domestic unlike many big hotels.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly, always ready to help.
Rooms turned out to be very spacios with different conveniencies. For example, we were surprised, when found tea/coffe-making facilities in the room. The rooms is cleaned well every day, just don't forget to give the key to the housekeeping when you leave.
Although breakfast was not very diverse, it was delicious. We like jams a lot.
We also want to thank Ekrem and Yusuf. The always helped us and gave us a lot of advice about local sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irvart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Full service hotel with a big, clean and comfortable room. Excellent location within walking distance of the sights. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast is amazing. Would definitely stay here again.

We booked transport to and from the airport, which definitely made our visit smoother.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DowntownWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The staff at the Basileus are beyond compare. We felt so welcomed and they helped us with recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Yusef even gave us a spare tram token of his after he explained how to utilize public transportation!

The room was clean and bright, but we asked for a quiet room in the back, and upon arrival, were told that while they tried, they could not provide us with one. The street noise was considerably loud and we both had difficulty sleeping as a result of it. Also, the bed was too firm, and I usually prefer firm beds.

The breakfast was very good - freshly made omelets and lots of fresh produce at the buffet. The location was also excellent. Overall, a very good stay because of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens,Greece
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Me and my wife stayed there for four nights. Very helpfull(Yusuf, Ekrem and rest of them),
excellent situation(you can visit all main attractions on foot,or by tram),daily cleaning, free wi-fi,decent breakfast. Two stores building, no elevator(no problem at all). Individual aircon, safe, hairdryer ,frige with complimentary soft drinks. If you can, DON'T use taxi in Istanbul,unless called by the hotel's reception. Total scam, every time we used one the driver tried to charge double or triple. Don't trust what the taximeter tells. Your route probably costs 50% less!

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gchatziar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Basileus sits in a very central location in the Old Town of Istanbul within easy walking distance or a quick tram ride to all major attractions.

I found the staff to be incredibly helpful and courteous during my stay. As a solo traveler, I appreciated their hints and tips for navigating the city and their recommendations. The staff went out of their way to make my time at their hotel very enjoyable.

The rooms are generally well-decorated and are quite satisfactory. The breakfast offered several choices and was very appetizing. I actually got quite sick during my stay (not the fault of the hotel), but the staff was accommodating regardless! The airport transfer offered was also a very good deal.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again should I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blzerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

In December 2011, my wife and I stayed 6 nights at this wonderful hotel. If you are looking for spellbinding interiors and lavish facilities, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a comfortable, clean and spacious room, friendly and helpful staff with a hearty breakfast thrown in, this is just the place. They charge reasonable rates and the in room mini bar is a welcome bonus. Besides, it is the Istanbul outside you would want to spend your time with.

It is located in a quiet area between the Sultanahmet area and a locale called Kadirga. In Kadirga, you can find many locally owned businesses such as barbers, a laundry, a hamam bath, supermarkets, a place which sells roasted chicken and bakeries. They provide services which are definitely well priced.

The hotel is about a 8-10 minutes walk to the tram but be prepared for an uphill walk. It is located in a safe area for those who intend to return after dark.

The staff are extremely helpful and will give you tips to save you money if you are on a budget. Airport pickup was in a clean, comfy and new van, which zipped us to and from the hotel to the airport in about 20minutes.

Thank you once again to all the wonderful staff at Basileus as you made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cogitare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,149 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,149 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing