We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Convienient Choice”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Basileus Hotel is a well-maintained compact hotel located within easy 10-minute walk of major visitor sites; Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, etc. If you stay three nights, free airport pickup is included. The hotel staff provides the very best personalized service and will eagerly point out visiting options and restaurants. Lobby has public computer available for internet use.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Chose the hotel initially for the airport pickup but this hotel gave much more. From the moment of arrival staff were attentive and couldn't be more helpful if they tried. They deserve their place as one of the top places in Istanbul to stay. Room was excellent, roomy and always clean. Bathroom was excellent also -good shower and room to move. If I had one negative it would be the firm bed as I didnt sleep well but that is just me -most people might like a firm bed. Laundry was done same day and very reasonable cost. Breakfast was superb. Allowed us to eat big and didn't need much throughout the day. Staff were always interested in what we were doing each day and gave us tips on where to eat, where to shop and what we HAD to see! We had trouble getting taxis to drop us back at the hotel. This is a common problem for hotels in the Sultanahmet area as there are so many. Advice is to listen to what staff say you need to tell the drivers, then maybe you won't be ripped off and left stranded not knowing where you are. Our stay in Istanbul saw bitterly cold weather with a major snowfall our last day. To their credit the staff allowed us use of our room until 4pm at no extra charge, which was useful considering we needed to dry clothing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jowells8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Before I came to Istanbul, I thought hotels had a goal to openly rip you off. Basileus Hotel was the exact opposite, they were more interested in our own satisfaction and enjoyment of the trip than selling us anything. Every day Youssef, Muharrem or Eko would ask us our plans and advised us many places to go that could give us the better side of Istanbul. It was truly an enjoyable hotel experience where our relation to the hotel was extremely personal and made us feel at home. In addition, the location is in the heart of Istanbul's sight seing , I would recommend anyone going to Istanbul to try it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186RalphB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We spent three nights at the Basileus last week, and I have nothing but good things to say about our stay.

The hotel and rooms were clean, the location is excellent (walking distance to several major monuments, the enchanting - if a tad overpriced - Arasta Bazaar, and a 5-7-minute walk to the metro) and the breakfast spread was both extensive and sumptuous. (With free breakfast and airport pick-up - three-night minimum - the rooms are definitely worth the money!)

What sets apart this hotel from others, however, is the attitude of the staff. Each and every one of them was happy to help, and eager to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible - be it the guy who carried our four (rather heavy suitcases) to (and from) our room on the second floor multiple times, the chef who accommodated two requests to serve breakfast earlier than their normal time (a full hour early in one instance), or the gentlemen who staff the front desk. Everyone was warm, courteous, friendly, and above all, transparent and honest in their dealings.

Another thing worth mentioning is that the airport transfer company they work with is super-punctual and has very reasonable rates. On arrival into the country, not only was our flight a couple of hours late, but it also took us inordinately long to clear immigration...but there they were with our name on a placard, and uttered not a single word of complaint about the wait they had to endure because of the delay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoodafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I don't think we have ever had a nicer hotel experience than the one we have just had at the Basileus Hotel. This was largely due to the kindness and friendship shown to us by Yusuf, Muharrem, Eko, Mehmet and Omer, who were the best hosts we could possibly have had. One of them was always there to give us tea (most welcome given that we spent our Istanbul week in the coldest weather for 25 years!) when we came in from the cold, and lots of helpful advice on where to eat, where to have a Turkish bath and places to visit. Our room was warm and comfortable and they immediately supplied us with brighter reading lights and a smaller pillow when we asked. The breakfast was very, very delicious and our room was beautifully cleaned each day. I think we will be returning to Istanbul and a large reason for this will be to revisit this lovely hotel and the people who work there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionadenmead049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The people at the hotel were very friendly, you felt really to be a guest in the true sense. The Hotel is very close to the centre but on a quite back street. Booking direct with the hotel saves 20 euro on the transfer if you are staying for 4 nights..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snorbens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Warm(important as it was snowing) clean and very welcoming.
Lovely room with nice comfy easy chairs to relax in.Large room with a BATH!! yes a bath......
Spotlessly clean and really helpful staff. Many thanks to Yusef and all the staff there.
The real boss however is the black cat that guards the door.
Would highly recommend and we will be back there when we come again!!
 

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mste161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,077 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,159 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing