We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic customer service”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
spokane
Level Contributor
139 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic customer service”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This reasonably-priced gem is about a 10 minute walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop. Close to all the major attractions. New rooms, adequate size with excellent beds. The hospitality is amazing. The staff is very helpful and will do anything to assist. Breakfast included many western favorites and was generous and delicious. Major find in a city with fairly expensive hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
400
722
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Basileus is a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque. The staff/proprietors were very friendly and helpful, they suggested places to visit and restaurants in which to eat - good food for reasonable prices. Their approach was both friendly and informal, yet respectful; very quickly we were all happy to be on first name terms. They even taught us a few Turkish words.
Our room was comfortable, with a shower room, air conditioning and safe. It was thoroughly cleaned every day and was always spotless.
Breakfast was an extensive buffet which included fruit juices, cereals, and a range of local foods - cooked meats, cheeses, fruits, and cooked on the spot omelettes.
If we go to Istanbul again we will want to stay at the Basileus

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendanDonaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beirut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

From the first minute you arrive to the hotel you feel like you are home.. the staff is really welcoming and helpful. They insist to sit and give us advice on what we have to do in Istanbul and where to go for shopping and what nightclubs to go. The breakfast is really generous and the food is really good. The rooms are so clean and big with a small balcony. and were cleaned every day and they put clean towels. The bathroom is also spacious and comfortable. A parking is available nearby without any fees. Sultanahmet tram station is 5 minute walk. in the street of the hotel there is a restaurant called cesme restaurant where they offer Turkish cuisine the food is very delicious and the staff is very welcoming.
Of course i would go again and again.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elias_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

On arriving, the first thing the owner did was to organise payment for the taxi to ensure we didn't get ripped off. This is just a taste of the amazing and generous hospitality offered by Joseph and Ekrim at this lovely hotel. The rooms are modest, but lovely, perfectly clean with a very comfortable bed. We felt very safe and secure here, and this was added to by Joseph's personal guide to Istanbul, which proved invaluable and very informative. The front desk staff spoke excellent English, and nothing was too much trouble. Every day we were treated to an amazing spread of food for Breakfast in true Turkish style, and on arriving, we were invited to have breakfast at no extra cost. We had to leave at 6am, and Ekrim organised a special breakfast just for us. I've never felt so welcome at a hotel in my life, and I have travelled to 65 countries. Hotel Basileus really was a highlight of 3 months in Europe. Perfectly placed just off the busy tourist areas, with transport to all of the city just a few minutes walk (uphill). I would not hesitate to return here if coming to Istanbul again. If you want to enjoy Istanbul on a reasonable budget, look no further.

Room Tip: Try and face the front looking over a 400 year old mosque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Came here for just one night after 6 nights of staying in hostels. Was given a warm welcome, a comfortable and extremely clean room, and checked out late the next morning feeling refreshed and calm again. Brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottgmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This was a perfect hotel for us, a family of 4, spacious room, very clean and very comfortable.
We stayed in July, 2012. We chose this hotel based on trip adviser reviews, and we agree with all the positive remarks.
Ekram, Yusuf, and their team were such gracious hosts.
Their hotel was immaculate, and the service they provided was excellent.
We appreciated their personal attention and all their valuable recommendations.
We have certainly recommended them to our friends, and look forward to staying with them soon.
Thank you again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarjanLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

the hotel is nice and seems to be newly renovated. the staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. we had an early flight out on our last day and they scheduled a taxi for us and even arranged for breakfast, even though we were leaving well before their usual breakfast service. it's tucked away in a nice lil' quiet street, so it wasn't full of tourists. we were able to find a couple of good dinner places within a block of the front door.

location-wise, just a short 5 minute walk to blue mosque and hippodrome. it's also in the bottom of a short hill... a nice workout every morning. unfortunately, it's not as close to other sites like the spice market and grand bazaar. we tried to walk to as many old town sites as we could get to (their tram always looked too full), so we found ourselves walking a LOT while staying at this place.

also, it's a difficult address for taxi drivers to find. our driver drove around for at least 20 minutes trying to find this place. tip: carry the hotel's phone number with you and strongly encourage your driver to give 'em a call as soon as it feels like they're just driving round in circles.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EmersonMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#25 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing