We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. It is very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff are truly amazing. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. It is a family run business and they try extremely hard to ensure everyone staying at the hotel is well taken care of. The breakfast that comes with the stay is one of the best I had while staying in Turkey. The always have cookies, coffee and water out for when you get back from a long day of sightseeing. I would most definitely recommend this hotel! Also, there is a jewelry maker that is close to the hotel, about a 5 min walk, i think the address is Kadirga Limani Cad no:117. His name is Semsettin Terzi and his store is called Ayasofya Silver. He designs and makes the jewerly himself. If you are looking for buying some interesting silver jewerly, he is definitely the one to see! Also, the prices are reasonable, much more so than the Grand Bizarre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
726
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
goffs oak
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a really lovely time at this hotel and would recommend it to all.The staff were so helpful and gave us a lot of help in what to do and where to eat. Bedrooms were first class with every thing in that is needed for a comfortable stay. Nothing was to much trouble for the hotel staff and breakfast was great.

Carol and Mike

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Basileus the week of July 6 and had a wonderful time. The staff, especially Ekrim and Omar took very good care of us. They answered every question about safety (no problems), restaurants (exceptional), getting around the city and culture, and gave us wonderful guidance to the exciting mysteries of Istanbul. The room was clean and well cared for. Breakfast selection was very good every day. The air conditioning was much appreciated and kept us comfortable. Even though we were street side, the windows shut out any noise and we slept soundly. The location was great - a short walk to the Blue Mosque and the Sultanamet tram stop. We would highly recommend the Basileus to anyone visiting Istanbul. It is a Turkish jewel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAtraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston,Jamaica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Based on the great reviews, I decided to give Basileus a try and did not regret it!! In fact, they exceeded my expectations.
Ekrem was quick in his responses to my email queries and he and Omar made my stay enjoyable. They were extremely helpful in suggesting what to do and where to go (be it for attractions, tours or food) and friendly and accommodating without being overbearing. This was particularly important and appreciated as a single, female traveller. In fact, I was surprised when they arranged for me to have something to eat before my 4:45 am pickup for a tour!
The hotel itself was clean and walking distance to the "big attractions" - Blue Mosque etc - and many restaurants.
Special kudos to Omar, who went over and beyond to ensure that I was comfortable esp after a long day of sightseeing. The sweet treats in the afternoon certainly helped.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.
Tricia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moroccomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I went there for a long weekend in Istanbul with some girlfriends of mine to celebrate 3 birthdays at once!
The pick-up from the airport went very smoothly and we had a very nice welcome as we arrived (think tea/water/cakes and comfy sofas). The service was very good, the staff knowledgeable and extremely helpful.
Morning breakfast was diverse (quite basic but enough to cater for most taste) with any omelette you want at no extra charge.
The hotel is very well placed to visit the historical quarter (about 5mn walk from the blue mosque), although it is true if you want to visit the asian side you will probably want to use either public transport or taxis.
The main thing I would like to insist on though is how much the staff want to help you (providing maps and even giving you a mini-guiding tour on it) without being overbearing. They gave us our first (and very very good) impression of Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

What can I say!! The basileus hotel is everything that you could possibly expect from reading the reviews! If you want service that is phenomenal than stay here! From saving me from locals, to organizing bus tickets, airport transfers, assisting with posting items home or just a chat these guys are more than willing to help! I can't begin to explain my heart felt appreciation for everything these guys did for me whilst traveling on my own! You guys helped me create some amazing memories and I will be raving about you guys to everyone I know! If you want a reasonably priced hotel in old Istanbul that is CLEAN this is the place to be!! Thank you to each and everyone one of you for all your help!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giegie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

the service was brilliant. the food very good. they lovely cakes at the reception in the afternoon. I had an excellent time there with my friends. the airport transfer was well organised. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caps186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,140 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#23 of 1,140 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,140 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,140 in Istanbul
2,947 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,140 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,140 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing