We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excelent Hotel at the historic district;good breakfast,nice and confortable rooms,free wi-fi;you can walk to the main interesting sites and the tram station is only a few minutes walking;
The owners Ekrem and Omer are fantastic,always offering help and tips;I strongly recomend Basileus Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
398
722
132
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is a gem in the heart of the Sultanahmet historic district. Location is superb, at just 5 min walk from the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque, but the narrow streets and scarce signaling can make it tough the first time - just be patient and try to get a map. The staff was extremely friendly, always asking for our impressions of the city and offering help. The breakfast, which comes included in the rate, was good overall - not exceptional but very good and varied.
There is Wifi available but they also have a computer in the lobby in case you want to leave your gadgets back home. They also seemed to have a library with travel guides of Turkey and Istanbul, I guess we could have borrowed from it but we had our own.
The room itself was clean and tidy, in the ground level: because the hotel sits on a big slope, we did not have much view, but that was fine as the adjacent streets had plently of traffic at all times. Note that they don't have a lift/elevator, so if you are assigned to other floors you need to climb stairs, but the staff will help you with your luggage for sure.
Overall, we will definitely stay here in our next visit to Istanbul. Recommended.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the street level, which can be convenient if you have lots of luggage with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this beautiful boutique hotel from the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Our stay at Basileus Hotel ended up exceeding our already high expectations. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel more than welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is a fine example of Turkish hospitality at its best. It's a family run business, with Omer and Ekrem front of house. They, and the rest of the team, go out of their way to make your time in Istanbul an unforgettable experience - which ours was! The hotel itself is in a fabulous location, within easy walking distance to all main attractions, yet tucked away in a relatively quiet street. The rooms are beautifully furnished and maintained, as is the entire hotel. Extras like free wifi, fresh drinking water on tap, turkish coffee and sweets, along with the personalised service, make this hotel stand out from the rest. This was our first visit to Istanbul, and staying at Basileus actually became one of the highlights. We will definitely return and will look no further than Basileus - our new home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Dear Basileus Hotel staff, thank you for fantastic customer service. We traveled with our friends and this was our first time in Istanbul. We could not have found a better place to stay than the Basileus. The hotel is simply excellent and the value for money. The cleanliness around the hotel is spotless and our first and second floor bedrooms were roomy, clean and had everything we needed including wifi. All main sites are just 5 minutes walk as well as good restaurants. An amazing breakfast is served in the morning, with a variety of fruit, bread, eggs, cheeses, cold cuts, yogurt, honey, coffee, juices and tea. As you come back after long day of walking, aromatic tea and Turkish delights are waiting for you in a cozy hall area. Highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
789 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Location: The location is near perfect for an Istanbul culture trip. Just about 5 minutes walk to the Blue mosque and many other attractions (Topkapi, Hagia, Sophia) pretty close by. You are on the other hand far away from any lifestyle or entertainment. The downside is that it is directly on one of the main roads in this area.

Rooms: We tried to get a superior room but that did not work out. The room we got was on the second floor that meant it was on level with the street (hilly area) which was not a big problem but it had a funny shape meaning one wall curved in. That meant that one of has had to crawl over the other to get out of the bed. Good A/C, minisafe and minibar (water for free) and generally enough space. The bathroom contained all the needed amenities but it was in need of at least some painting, mould was around the shower.Otherwise ok.

Breakfast: A very decent choice of cereals, cheese, some warm food, several kind of bread, sweets, juices and fruits. Nothing really to complain about except it was in a room in the cellar so hardly any daylight. Omelettes on offer but you have to ask!.

With free Wifi, the free transport (which worked out pretty well) it would have been 4 star but the satff saved the 5th. Always helpful, very quick in responses and very knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly here. Our friends got lost trying to find the hotel on their own, and a local helped them call the hotel and someone came from the hotel and found them! Our taxi driver had to stop and ask for directions to this hotel as well, it's a small hotel but in an excellent location - minutes from the Blue Mosque and all the other attractions.

We had originally booked a family room (4 people) but were given a room for 3. They managed to quickly bring in a full sized mattress so that we could all sleep comfortably. It made the room a bit cramped, but we still had a nice stay.

I love that they leave home made desserts / cookies out for the guests. Filtered water is free for the taking as well. Wi-Fi worked decently well in the room.

Included breakfast was nice, they have someone making omelettes for you. We also had an early morning flight before their breakfast hours started and they were kind enough to offer food for us before our flight - much appreciated.

Room Tip: There were some rooms in the basement that looked rather dark. I would try to stay above street leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja_rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in September and it was absolutely perfect for our stay in Istanbul. The hotel is in an excellent location, only 5 mins from the main attractions and open top bus tours etc.

The staff at the Basileus were so friendly and helpful and even helped us book a taxi for another leg of our journey.

I would certainly recommend the hotel for a stay in Istanbul as you'll be certainly made welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing