We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very friendly staff, more than willing to help. Even budget room far better than expected for the price paid. Good breakfast. Location convenient for the Blue Mosque area. Would use again and recommend to others. (Only problem was with the taxi driver trying to find the hotel when we first arrived.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suttonteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
726
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is cozy, clean and has a pretty good breakfast with made to order omelets. But the high point is the most helpful front desk staff I’ve ever seen after several hundred stays in hotel of all categories in dozens of countries.

They really know what day and hour to go to things, know how long it takes, call to make inquires and never tried to push anything (although I don’t mind at all that they get commission in the Bosporus ship tour I’ve made).

Their restaurant recommendations were also superb. My feet were hurting and they even bought insoles for me while I waited!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor seem to have small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MauroSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Everything that's been written about this place is true: location, staff, amenities, experience, comfort... You can buy your wine directly opposite the hotel entrance and other beverages from a very friendly storekeeper just around the corner. We walked everywhere in the Sutanahmed area and the hotel made all other arrangements for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We feel fortunate to have found the Basileus Hotel among all the many choices in Istanbul. Since we agree with all of the positive comments others have posted here, there is nothing to add other than thanking the staff for making our stay so comfortable. The only negative is the hotel is not equipped for the handicapped.

The caring staff truly makes their hotel a "home away from home". Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omanorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Basileus before and after a cruise. We were met at the airport and brought to the hotel where we were warmly welcomed by Omar, one of the owners, and bags were taken to our room. There is no elevator. The room was small, but very clean and neat with a small balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning which included fruit, cheese, meats, yogurt, honey, sweets and made to order omelets. The location is great and within a very short walking distance of all the main sites. The owners, Omar and Ekrem, are attentive,friendly and helpful. They helped us plan a spur of the moment day trip to Capadocia in the blink of an eye. It was a wonderful day that was organized perfectly. There is wifi throughout and a computer in the lobby. There is a good restaurant across the street which we enjoyed. Don't miss going into the little Aya Sophia down the street. It is a real gem just across from the hotel that was built in the 6th century. Our thanks again to Omar and Ekrem for helping to make our stay in Istanbul memorable! We hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had the pleasure to go to Istanbul in April with my husband and another couple. We stayed at the Basileus Hotel. I went back in October with a group of friends and of course we wanted to feel like being at home so we stayed at the Basileus again. It is a very nice and cozy hotel, at walking distance from most historic sites in the Sultanahmet district. You can always get on the Tram and the Metro and enjoy the ride. It is a safe place to stay.
They pick you up from the airport, have a clean room with all commodities waiting for you, and if you get there by breakfast time you can also enjoy it. If not, have tea or coffee and fresh desserts which are ready at the coffee table at the entrance.
We loved to sit in the lobby while enjoying these treats and chat, laugh and share our day experiences with our hosts or check our e-mails. Wi-Fi is available at the hotel.
The service is splendid! Everybody is there to help you out, you just have to suggest something and Muharrem, Ekrem, Mustafa, Omer, Nure, and all the rest will try to do their best to guide you around. And if like me, this is your second time, they will treat you as part of their own family.
I still have so much to visit and learn, and yes I will be back, but not alone, a whole part of my family and friends are signing up for next time! Where are we staying? At the Basileus Hotel of course!

Room Tip: I have been on second and third floors, both good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to Istanbul and 2 nights at the end. Our room was spacious, beds and linen good and bathroom was lovely. There is a lot of traffic around the hotel and noise is a factor if you have your window open. The second floor room we had was street level with cars and people right outside our room. Be specific about your room choice and hope that you get what you ask for as this is a very busy hotel. The staff was wonderful, especially Omer who couldn't do enough for us, even giving us his cold. They have tea and coffee at all times in the lobby and a kettle in the rooms. The staff really makes this hotel special and we hope to return to Hotel Basileus one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,141 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing