We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts!”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent four nights at the Basileus with our two teenaged daughters. We stayed one night in a very expensive hotel in Istanbul and the Basileus was superior to the other place. I would stay at the Basileus again without hesitation. Omar went out of his way to help us. The hotel is located within walking distance to the major sights. The breakfast was good. Everything was very clean. It was a great experience and a good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
726
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a perfectly average place owned by people who are very good with customer service and marketing. The location is pretty good - but not any better than that of 10 or so hotels in the immediate neighborhood. Our room had holes in the wall from ripped out wires and the towels should be replaced. The breakfast was indeed good.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank NikaRossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We run a small b&b in France and have learnt valuable lessons from the
Basileus Hotel. Customer service, helpfulness, generosity, knowledge and humour are some of the superb experiences at this small family run hotel. As a customer we really appreciated the free mini bar, clean sheets and towels every day, free afternoon tea, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom, extensive and helpful knowledge of the area. As a fellow b&b owner we don't know how they provided this level of service at these prices! Congratulations to all the staff at Basileus - excellent and we will return to continue the delights of Istanbul! Lou and John

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rossignols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Omar and Ekrem are the kindest people we've met in Turkey and anyone would be lucky to have the opportunity to stay with them. During our with them it was evident why this hotel is so highly rated and popular. Unfortunately they were fully booked over a month in advance during the dates we were in Istanbul but still helped us arrange transportation to the airport, allowed us to keep our luggage with them, and invited us to tea and breakfast. They were also extremely knowledgeable and willing to answer questions we had. Definitely the best level of kindness and service we experienced during our time in Turkey and we will definitely make every effort to stay with them next time we're in town. As an added bonus their breakfast spread had a lot of selection and was very comprehensive.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dichou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at Basileus from 13 Nov to 19 Nov for Istanbul Marathon, the hotel is located near the finishing point of the run (the Blue Mosque). We were pleasantly suprised by the level of service of thier staff. The staff are friendly and breadfast was good. They even accomodate us to have our early breadfast at 6:30 am before our run. We wanted to stay again on 22 Nov after our trip to Cappadocia, but it was fully booked. Then Omar arranged us to stay at their sister hotel, which was equally good. Overall very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Thank you for letting me stay here!

Basileus is well-located in the center of Sultanahmet. It is also reasonably priced, and with warm/amicable staff. I appreciated the tips and them asking me how my day was. The included breakfast was pretty good too - especially the scrumptious omelettes.

The room service was exceptional. I left clothes and bags strewn on the floor, and when I left they were perfectly arranged. I haven't had such good room service at even the most expensive of hotels.
My only very small complaint is that the bed wasn't a spring mattress - perhaps that's not very common in Istanbul, but I wouldn't know.

It definitely makes sense why this hotel is among the top 10 in Istanbul. Thanks again for the pleasant experience, Ekram!

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone definitely get a single. They have a double bed in the single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniruddhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife, 7 year old and I stayed at Basileus for two nights. We arrived on November 29th, however they were over booked and we did not get the room with a view as we had requested. We were a little disappointed since we had booked in advance and were looking forward to the view. That being said, the owners more than made up for this minor hiccup.
a) Muhharum, Ekrem and Omar go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. Upon arrival, no matter how late, they sent coffee and Chocolate milk for my son.
b) They reduced the rate on the room significantly to make up for not being able to provide the room we wanted.After we had checked out, they reached out us again and provided further credit, since they felt they had overcharged. Such service and honesty is unheard off.
c) The best thing my son remembers about Turkey is playing with the owners. Extremely kid friendly.
d) Every night they provided excellent recommendations and maps. They were also willing to book tickets online to major sites to avoid lines. This was not a problem for us since we were travelling off season, but could be a boon if travelling during peak.
e) Breakfast was great, and was at par with the other hotels we stayed at. A standard breakfast is several kinds of cheese, dry fruits, fruits, tea, coffee, omelets, bread and cakes. Breakfast room was comfortable and well maintained.

The location was fantastic. Walking distance (10 minutes to Ayasofia, blue mosque), 15 minutes to Topkapi, Grand bazaar and 20 minutes to Spice bazaar. We would just walk up to Chamberlitas or Sultanahmet tram stops if we didn't want to walk. We used the tram a lot to go to Asian side, like Taksim and Istiklal street.

We stayed there for two nights andl after a week of travel in rural Turkey we returned back to Istanbul to catch our flights back home. My son was excited to come back just to meet the owners (even though we were staying at another hotel, we stopped by to say hello).

The three brothers/partners are sincere, hardworking and do not take short cuts when it comes to providing good service. After touring major sites, it was fun coming back to the hotel for free homemade cakes and coffee in the evening to socialize with the owners and other guests.

Thank you Basileus for a memorable stay in Istanbul!!! Good luck!!.

Room Tip: Well, we did not get the room we wanted, so have limited advice. We were given a room in the basemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveTheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,954 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,141 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,141 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#26 of 1,141 in Istanbul
706 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,279 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing