We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, manager, breakfast , price make this hard to beat”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location, manager, breakfast , price make this hard to beat”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The manager takes such a personal interest in each guest it was unlike anything we expect from service in the states, the breakfast is wonderful, my room had no view but it was only a few blocks to the Blue Mosque, the Hagya Sofia etc. eat at the little places across the street I went to Ceseme ( soup good there and doner ) me and a doner shop a block further by a Turkish delight shop ( great chicken ), go to te wine shop across the street for a great bottle of cheap Cabernet, the wine dealer won't steer you wrong, cant say enough about Omar the front desk, it is like being in some living room and you have the perfect host. Examples, my plane left early, he arranged for an early breakfast plate to be ready and waiting, helped me with a luggage problem, arranged a guide, always tea and cookies , free wifi. Only negative was the night porter fell asleep and forgot my wake up call but the breakfast man did not so I didnt need .

Room Tip: I took a ground floor and it didnt have a view, but was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    279
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
400
722
134
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Basileus is a really great place to stay in, if you are wanting to explore & enjoy the sights of Istanbul!
Great location for visiting the Sultanahmet district, it takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the Blue Mosque for example.
The main areas of the hotel & the room we stayed in for 4 nights were very clean & comfortable. There was an abundance of hot water for showers/baths!
The Basileus staff were exceptionally helpful - sightseeing, directions, tours, transfers, adapter plugs loaning of etc.
Free tea & cookies 24/7 in the reception area.
Excellent breakfast - plenty of choice.
The neighbourhood the Basileus is in felt safe & I think the Basileus would be a great place for solo female travellers to stay in.
Wide choice of cafés & restaurants are within close proximity of the hotel.
Excellent value for money over all.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone & have no negative comments to make about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropssap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Basileus Hotel delivered the most satisfying customer friendly experience we have had in a long time. Both Ekrem (at check in) and Omar (during the stay delivered excellent Service and always found time to have a Little chit-chat aswell. Rooms are impeccable clean, Staff is friendly (eg. Nuri the Porter and Breakfast guy). Breakfast is completely satisfying, the Option to order fresh made omelettes is definately a plus. Location is perfect, close to all Major Tourist sites without being loud during the night. I believe a Hotel gets judged by how much you feel welcome and at home there and in this,Basileus does a fantastic Job.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandDeschain88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our family stayed at the Basileus Hotel in February and the staff there couldn't do enough for us. I believe it's run by brothers and they go out of their way to arrange tours, the perfect room, any kind of request handled without question. The hotel breakfast buffet was in excess of what you might expect with hot omelets on request. Everything here is handled from arranging taxis, to holding some bags for a day or two while on outside trips the works! The room was clean, nice and the bathrooms were new. Security was never an issue. Coffee and tea available in the lobby. I couldn't more highly recommend this boutique hotel. 5 Stars for the amazing personal touches extended by everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sawatdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Me and my friend spent 4 days at Basileus, and, althought the weather in Istanbul was terrible (too cold and rainy), all the hotel team made our stay better.
It was my 3rd time at this magical city and the best hotel I've stayed.
We arrived too early and had to wait for the time of checkin, but they arranged a great room (I think the best of the hotel) earlier, and also offered the breakfast, that was also not included that day.
The room was very good, absolutely clean, comfortable, and good bathroom too.
The breakfast was good too, with continental and turkish options. And during the day there are tea/coffee available and always some cake/sweet to enjoy. Delicious.
The hotel is very close to Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi and tram station. Perfect location.
All the guys helped us a lot on our stay. Special thanks for Ekram that was very supportive, and Omer that was our "guide", helping us in any details we needed.
Thanks a LOT for all the team. For sure I will stay there on next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuCurcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

revisiting basileus is like homecoming to me. coming back as an old guest, the hotel still impresses me just the way it did 3 years ago :)

i am so amazed by how every big and small detail has kept improving, from decoration, hotel rooms to breakfast choices. you can tell the hotel owners really put constant efforts in making guests' stay as comfortable as possible.

to me it's a great place, simply because of

THE PEOPLE - all staff are really nice and helpful, and they are very sensitive to your needs, and try to help in every occasion. they give good touristic advices, and also tips to the local places. most of all, they are sooooooo fun to talk with, all are very charming:)

GOOD LOCATION - i like the neighborhood a lot. close to touristic places and tram station, at the same time it's in a quiet neighborhood where you can find local restaurant, supermarket and post office. it's close to the sea side as well.

COMFORTABLE ROOM - big beds, toiletry, hairdryer, boiler, free wifi, even baggage rack. very comfortable to sleep in, and provide more than enough equipments!

FULFILLING BREAKFAST AND FOOD- love the omelette :) as well as other great varieties of food. also whenever i are back, i'm welcomed with a cup of tea and nice cake:)

to simply put it, it offers much more than what an average hotel can give you. i really like this place and hopefully i will be back soon:)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florenceeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This Hotel will provide you with a great experience in Istanbul. The owners Muharrem,Omar and Ekrem provide you with excellent, caring service. The rooms are beautifully appointed. The breakfast has many, many choices and was delicious. It is located within a five minute walk to many of the main attractions, the Blue Mosque, the Sophia Hagia and Topkapi Palace to name a few. There are wonderful fresh pastries served throughout the day in the lobby, as well as it being in a safe, friendly neighboorhood with markets and many restaurants including a great place the Slow Cook restaurant which we loved. You could not ask for a better hotel for your stay. pricewise and comfortwise. We loved this property. You will be well cared for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#25 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing