We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basileus Hotel”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Maybe not a 5 star hotel but definitely a hotel with a 5 star staff. You will have to go far to find a hotel and staff who are so friendly and devoted in you a a client. Here you feel number 1 and not just a number as in other places we stayed. If you really want to feel, smell and taste Istanbul, this is the place to stay. Tea and something sweet to eat were available throughout the and the breakfast was good.. When we visit it was raining and we were given umbrellas to use. The old town and the Galata bridge is within walking distance. There are lots of small restaurants near the hotel selling good food at an excellent price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kobus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,759)
There are newer reviews for Basileus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is by far the best service I have experienced at any hotel. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Umer and Ekram were there at every request or question we had, whether it be from booking a taxi to getting directions. The location was also fantastic. It was about 5 minutes walk to all the major attractions (including blue mosque and hagia sofia). If you want to have a great experience in Istanbul, look no further than the Basileus hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam91ist .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Even though the hotel room isn't that big but we had a warm experience with the hotel. The atmosphere so comfortable, the bathroom is very clean and the wifi is quite fast (around 0.8-1mbps). The most important thing is the staffs all are very friendly, and the breakfast is very good, specially the home made strawberry jam (must try!). Surely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was a great hotel, found on Tripadvisor, trusting the reviewers. It is everything everyone says it is. Well located for touring Sultenhamet (this was my 4th time in Istanbul, 1st time this side of the Golden Horn). Particularly so that you can see the little Aya Sofya, and the Roman foundations of the Hippodrome. We would've missed them otherwise. The hotel lobby is like a traditional Turkish family sitting room, and you are invited to relax, enjoy some tea and sweetmeats. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, very willing to give you local recommendations and make bookings for you. Take up their offer to book you a car from the airport, it is good value and saves so much of your precious time you want to spend sightseeing this beautiful and vibrant city. The hotel room was spacious and comfortable with air conditioning and en-suite bath/shower room. We had a small balcony that looked over a (beach) bar, but there wasn't any noise. The free buffet breakfast was very good, and included eggs cooked to order. The best bit was the short film about the history of Istanbul, which gives a good taster of what to go and see. Another added bonus are the local restaurants offering the standard fare of kebabs, meze and wine. All at a competitive price. We loved it and will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is one of those hotels which makes you feel at home from get go. Rooms and Breakfast are very good. Don't expect luxury but it more then makes up for it with the location, ambience and hospitality. Not only was the service excellent but i also found that the folks there go above and beyond to help you, which is rare.

Location cant be better ..walking distance to all the major attractions and a very safe & pretty area. Highly recommended. cant wait to visit again!

As a quick tip, most museums including Hagia Sophia are closed on mondays so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhijit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The staff at Basileus were exceptionally helpful before we even embarked on our journey, helping accommodate our large group coming from all around the world. The rooms were clean and adorable with the hotel located close to everything! Excellent choice for travellers that want a peace of mind going to a hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arranged to visit Istanbul as an easter trip and decided on choosing Basileus hotel for our stay. Our first visit to Istanbul in 2012 was a journey to remember which is why we decided on re-visiting the city to see any historic sites that we didn't get a chance to see the first time round. Whilst on our second visit in April 2014, we decided to stay at Basileus hotel because of the friendly and extremely helpful hotel staff thanks to Ekrem, Omar & Selim who were always willing to be of assistance with any issues we had. Ekrem pointed out the best sites and attractions for us to visit on both our trips to Istanbul and we can't thank both him and his brothers enough for his help. The hotels location, which is less than 5 mins from Blue Mosque/Aya Sofia/Topkapi Palace was excellent for our trips to Istanbul as we were out sight seeing for most of the time and would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking to visit Istanbul for the first time.
Many thanks to the staff at the hotel and if we do visit Istanbul again, this is the first hotel we will be contacting for our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sas786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,161 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,043 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,161 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,161 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#35 of 1,161 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,161 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing