We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambi and Kevin from London”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hotel and fantastic location as the sites are so close by. Both Ekrem and Omar were amazing and so helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel so welcome. Their kindness and warmth made our stay even more special. The rooms were lovely and clean and we had a lovely small balcony overlooking the street. The breakfast was delicious and compliments to the chef for preparing such tasty omelettes everyday. We would stay their again and recommend the hotel to all our friends and family. It was great to have tea and coffee and the little treats such as the cakes and cookies were delightful. We were advised about everything from the site seeing, to shopping and good places to eat, and everything Ekrem and Omar suggested were fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ambikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

It's hard to fault this hotel for friendliness and helpfulness. Although there must be a constant stream of people asking the same questions there was always a sense that you were the only person that mattered in the moment. Breakfasts were excellent and not only did we get breakfast when we arrived early on the first day but had it made for us prior to a 5.45am departure. The entry is warm and welcoming and the room we had was comfortable and light. I may have struggled with the hard bed but now always carry a feather pillow for hips that don't like hard beds so it wasn't a problem. It is well located for the Blue Mosque and Saltanahmet generally. An additional touch is the generous afternoon tea provided - beautiful cakes and biscuits.

Room Tip: If you're staying for any period of time make sure you get a room with a window and balcony. I n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneBhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nothing is too much for the two brothers running this hotel with other family members(?) and staff. Conveniently located in the old quarter Sultanahmet, the hotel lobby is furnished in a romantic way close to kitsch. The room we slept in was on the back side, clean and spacious. Bathroom served us with running water of good temperature. The location is perfect to discover the city on foot with lots of interesting places in the vicinity. Breakfast was good and so was the internet speed. When coming back to Istanbul we sure will consider the Basileus. (No elevator in the building.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very beautiful little hotel with warm and excellent service. Helped us plan our days... Always eager to help. Great breakfasts. Great location... Walking distance to the major sights. Wifi is fast. I can't say enough good things about the hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raf213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Maybe not a 5 star hotel but definitely a hotel with a 5 star staff. You will have to go far to find a hotel and staff who are so friendly and devoted in you a a client. Here you feel number 1 and not just a number as in other places we stayed. If you really want to feel, smell and taste Istanbul, this is the place to stay. Tea and something sweet to eat were available throughout the and the breakfast was good.. When we visit it was raining and we were given umbrellas to use. The old town and the Galata bridge is within walking distance. There are lots of small restaurants near the hotel selling good food at an excellent price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kobus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is by far the best service I have experienced at any hotel. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Umer and Ekram were there at every request or question we had, whether it be from booking a taxi to getting directions. The location was also fantastic. It was about 5 minutes walk to all the major attractions (including blue mosque and hagia sofia). If you want to have a great experience in Istanbul, look no further than the Basileus hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam91ist .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Even though the hotel room isn't that big but we had a warm experience with the hotel. The atmosphere so comfortable, the bathroom is very clean and the wifi is quite fast (around 0.8-1mbps). The most important thing is the staffs all are very friendly, and the breakfast is very good, specially the home made strawberry jam (must try!). Surely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,077 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,159 in Istanbul
928 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing