We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent customer service. Their stuff was helpful, informative, and incredible nice. The location was very convenient. Walking distance to the main places to visit such as blue mosque. Breakfast was delicious and they offered a wide variety of good choices. Big and spacious rooms. Coffee and appetizers available all day. Overall, the hotel personnel went above and beyond to make my travel experience the best one yet by helping in every aspect of my sightseeing planning as well as dinning and all. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly come back! Very satisfied!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beba10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    280
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
410
726
135
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Basileus Hotel is a small boutique hotel half a mile from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia and just a stone's throw from the "Little Hagia Sofia" -- a very convenient landmark for taxi drivers. We stayed 7-days in mid-March. This was our first visit to the Basileus Hotel. We very pleased with the rooms, which were generous, pleasantly furnished, scrupulously clean and large by Turkish hotel standards. The lobby has a small lounge area with comfortable chairs and sofas, coffee and tea available around the clock and sweets are set out in the evening. There is no restaurant, but they serve a large complimentary breakfast (traditional Turkish style with a selection of fruits, cheeses, breads, and meats.) In addition to being in a great location for seeing the sights and having nice rooms, the staff is the best...absolutely fantastic. They were friendly, knowledgeable, they have great recommendations for restaurants and activities throughout this large city and they have a direct line to taxis. The reception desk is staffed 24/7 and there are absolutely no communication problems for English speakers. We already look forward to our next trip to this wonderful city and would choose this great hotel again. Frankly, we would follow the staff anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

In January of 2014, I wandered into Istanbul for a wedding with no prior knowledge of the city. As a female traveler, safety and accommodation were my biggest concern, as always. That being said, this hotel went far and beyond my expectations in terms of service, friendliness, and comfort.

It is often hard to find such authentic friendliness and care so close to tourist areas (and for such a price!). Basileus brought me back to what it meant to experience such travel and hospitality. Not only did Omar, Muhraeem, and Ekrem go above and beyond for my every need, but they also allowed me to form friendships with them; to enjoy the winter sun with a cup of delicious Turkish tea, have someone to accompany me at dinner, help me look for a gift for the bride, even call a taxi after hours to come get me at the wedding reception. This hotel was better than one "of the best" in Rome, with its magical charm and very Turkish hospitality.

At breakfast, I was always asked what omelette I wanted- served with fresh ingredients in a quiet downstairs dining room-, greeted hello by the lovely cleaning lady and cook, and presented a warm glass of strong Turkish tea. I cannot convey the quiet loveliness of interactions I had with them, because they would seem otherwise mundane, but they are etched in my memory, leaving a feeling of compassion and humanity.

I know that I can return to Basileus and be greeted by smiles and hugs, Turkish tea, and the very delightful people who work at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank januarywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Trust the Trip Advisor reviews. This hotel is special, and even more so due to Omar and his family. Being in the hospitality business---I know, and appreciate exceptional service. The Basileous has it all-- from the rooms, location, breakfast, and helpful siteseeing and restaurant suggestions. First rate!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hotel and fantastic location as the sites are so close by. Both Ekrem and Omar were amazing and so helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel so welcome. Their kindness and warmth made our stay even more special. The rooms were lovely and clean and we had a lovely small balcony overlooking the street. The breakfast was delicious and compliments to the chef for preparing such tasty omelettes everyday. We would stay their again and recommend the hotel to all our friends and family. It was great to have tea and coffee and the little treats such as the cakes and cookies were delightful. We were advised about everything from the site seeing, to shopping and good places to eat, and everything Ekrem and Omar suggested were fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It's hard to fault this hotel for friendliness and helpfulness. Although there must be a constant stream of people asking the same questions there was always a sense that you were the only person that mattered in the moment. Breakfasts were excellent and not only did we get breakfast when we arrived early on the first day but had it made for us prior to a 5.45am departure. The entry is warm and welcoming and the room we had was comfortable and light. I may have struggled with the hard bed but now always carry a feather pillow for hips that don't like hard beds so it wasn't a problem. It is well located for the Blue Mosque and Saltanahmet generally. An additional touch is the generous afternoon tea provided - beautiful cakes and biscuits.

Room Tip: If you're staying for any period of time make sure you get a room with a window and balcony. I n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneBhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nothing is too much for the two brothers running this hotel with other family members(?) and staff. Conveniently located in the old quarter Sultanahmet, the hotel lobby is furnished in a romantic way close to kitsch. The room we slept in was on the back side, clean and spacious. Bathroom served us with running water of good temperature. The location is perfect to discover the city on foot with lots of interesting places in the vicinity. Breakfast was good and so was the internet speed. When coming back to Istanbul we sure will consider the Basileus. (No elevator in the building.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,149 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,149 in Istanbul
888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Property: Basileus Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing