We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night after post cruise. Staffs were very friendly, even had breakfast ready for us at 530am due to early check out. It was very well priced, room was clean & decent size.
Only downside was can hear cars from our room at night.
Other than that I would recommend this hotel, good value & friendly staffs!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il0verice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

For the price, it's a great option. The owners are incredibly nice and helpful. The blue mosque is not even a ten minute walk, and Hagia Sophia is only another 2-3 minutes. The Grand Bazaar is also very close.

Our room was on ground level and the noise was absolutely not a problem. The bed was a bit stiff, but we did just come from The W, so it was night and day.

Room Tip: Even the ground floor room was completely quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in From June 1 -4.This is not a fancy hotel but price was great, the location is within 5-10 minutes walk to the major attractions. The three brothers who run this place were super friendly and helpful. They made us feel welcome. The breakfast had a big selection of food and drink.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are not looking for a fancy luxury hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimmerguy288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed a few days at this hotel during our first visit to Istanbul. The brothers and family who own this hotel are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very at home. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable,the hotel is very well placed for all the sights and in a very safe area. But really the best thing about the hotel was that we could sit dow in reception and get advise on where to go and what to do. A special thanks to Omar and Ekrem. This is a wonderful place to stay in Istanbul and if we are every lucky enough to go back we will definitely stay in Basileus.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but this hotel and the staff were above average. The staff were outstanding, even though we arrived at 7am they organized a room for us to have a shower and freshen up. The manager at the front desk gave us 100 lira to get started as we had no lira yet. He also explained alot of things to help on our way. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good and the cook makes you a fresh omelet everyday. Location was also good, 10 minutes walk for from main attractions but fairly quiet at night. Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank shwu1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is well placed, attractively decorated, had all the amenities we needed - but the best part was the helpful staff. Very friendly and helpful with advice, always warmly welcoming after a long day. The room was what you would expect in a busy capital city - not very big but certainly not cramped and breakfast was tasty too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights then went touring for 4 weeks and came back for a few more days. First we received prompt and helpful replies to our e-mails. Since we were bringing our bikes we needed a place to set up the bikes and store the bike boxes. Hotel Basileus was able to do this. Every morning we could sit down with whichever brother was on duty and get suggestions about where to go and what to do. Their restaurant suggestion on the Asian side- Ciya Sofrasi was great. The room was well sized. Air conditioning worked well. The tea and snacks were a wonderful treat after sightseeing all day. Just a wonderful place to stay and enjoy istanbul

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank roadieplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#25 of 1,173 in Istanbul
857 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#838 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,173 in Istanbul
803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,173 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,173 in Istanbul
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £19 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing