We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely hard to beat in the Old city”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ekrem and his brothers run this boutique hotel and were very helpful and kind. They run a restful, tasteful boutique hotel and the rooms are a good size. Very reasonable price for a hotel in Istanbul. All their recommendations of where to go etc were very good. They have water, herbal teas and chai tea plus yummy cakes and biscuits in the lobby to help yourself at anytime. Breakfast was also very good, their omeletes are awesome. Very close to the Blue Mosque so jumping on the tram from there makes this place easy to get around. Also close to the Grand bazaar, which is always good when you plan to do a lot of shopping. Catching the airport shuttle was a good cheap option to the airport as per their recommendation. Ask and they will help you if they can.

Room Tip: Probably ask for second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingirl181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights and have a very positive experience. The breakfast was very good and lots of choices were available. We especially loved the made-to-order omelet as egg dishes just don't show up at breakfast. The owners were especially nice and helpful. The location is a five minute walk to reach the Blue Mosque area and a very safe walk day or night. We ate 4 meals nearby based upon the TA reviews and loved the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Basileus is perfect located, clean and offers u all u need for a pleasent stay for a very reasonable rate. The breakfast is good enough, the owners are friendly and helpful and our room (#105) was quite big with a king confortable bed and AC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anderos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family of four was treated extremely well by the brothers who own the hotel and their staff. The room had plenty of room for the four of us and had three small balconies from which we could enjoy the sights and sounds of the historic city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a short but fun stay in Istanbul. The brothers who own and run this place are helpful, funny and warm. We asked for and received a room with 2 beds. It was a large room.. clean and comfortable. The beds are a bit hard for my taste. Other guests said their beds were fine.. so perhaps they vary. The shower had plenty of hot water. The breakfast was included and was abundant with plenty of fruits, vegetables, breads and eggs. The real treasure here are the brothers.... they sit you down with a map and show you where you are and where to go. They can answer any question about Istanbul. It is located a short walk to the center of the old city but yet is on a "quieter" street. I will return to this hotel for sure!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank jtbldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really well placed hotel which is just 5 minutes walk from Sultanhamet square - yes it is uphill but Istanbul is built on hills so what do you expect. The location is superb - it is in the old town so take that into account on your first impression of the area. It looks run down but it is perfectly safe and has loads of character. The hotel itself is in an old building which has been really well renovated and good use has been made of the space. Our bedroom was not big but it was clean and good enough for what we wanted. The bed gave us a comfortable night sleep. The shower was good and all other room facilities were fine. We were on the third floor - there is no lift but the hotel owners happily carry your cases up and down so no problem there. Breakfast is really good with a wide choice available and omelettes made to order - and made well. There are free cakes and drinks available in the afternoon and all of the staff are very welcoming; no matter who was on reception, there was a greeting and offer of any help. Touring and dining recommendations helped us to get the most out of our trip. All of those things make this hotel a first class experience. Add to that the awesome help given by Omar and the others - it is like having your own personal guide - and you cannot go wrong.
Do not go here if you want a sanitised, corporate experience with English breakfast and someone to hold your hand.
Do go here if you want a warm, friendly Turkish welcome within walking distance of all major attractions and in the heart of the Sultanhamet
if I go to Istanbul again - it is a no brainer, I will stay no where other than Basileus

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is in Sultanamet(Old Town) and besides it's great location had a good included breakfast,and nice rooms with air conditioning and all for a very reasonable rate. What made our stay there so special was the personal attention service and advise we received from the brothers and family. We felt like part of a wonderful good natured family. We wanted to adopt them all or be adopted by them

Room Tip: Street room had better balcony and beeze but nosier. Back room was slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dougmirowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,077 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,159 in Istanbul
928 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#34 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing