We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were stolen there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Apples Residence
Ranked #642 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We were stolen there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

200 $ were stolen from our room, and around 180 $ were also stolen from our friends' room!! the hotel staff denied it of course and refused to help, they also lied to us several times when we confronted them! they told us there were cameras in our floor, and that they've seen the tapes and no one entered our room when we were gone, although there were no cameras in the entire hotel except at the entrance!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErcanCaglayan, Genel Müdür at Three Apples Residence, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Three Apples during your trip to Istanbul.
I am sorry to hear that you had such an experience while you were with us. I am the owner and general manager of the hotel and I know the incident in detail as you made your claim while you were here and we tried to help you in every way we can.
I wish you were more careful and sensible with your comment here on Trip Advisor as millions of travelers read these reviews. As you are well aware, the amount of money that you claim to be stolen was locked in a safe box in your room, with the pin code known only to you. You called the reception asking for help to open the safebox as you locked it and couldn’t open again. Our front desk clerk, called the security personel and gave him the master key for your safebox. We keep very detailed logs for master keys on when and by whom they are taken from the front office safe box and returned there again.
Master key was used in your room and then returned to the front office in less than 15 minutes, and never been used again until your alleged theft claim. As I checked with this employee, he came to your room, opened the safe for you and instructed you on how it worked and then left.
There are 8 cameras in that property, we checked the time our security personel entered and left this property, they are all in line with the hour that you requested help for your safebox.
Couple of hours later you called the reception and told that you opened the safe and a certain amount of money was missing.
Let me explain, why this money cannot be stolen from your safebox by one of our staff. Once these safeboxes are opened with master keys, they erase the pin code that was used to lock it. Therefore if your safebox was opened by our staff with the master key as you suggested, your pin code would have been erased. Therefore you wouldn’t be able to use your code to open it again. However, you told us that when you came to your room, the safe was closed, then you opened it with your pin code and saw that the money was missing. As explained before, this is not possible, as your pin would have been erased, had a staff member opened it with the master key.
I am truly sorry to write this incident in such detail but your accusation is very severe and we absolutely disagree with your comment. We have a very strict security policy, that’s why we have safeboxes in every room and a stringent control process on how master keys are used.
Beside that, we helped you to contact the police, and they, after listening the facts told you the same thing as we did and you decided not to file complaint. Yet you kept on threatining us by writing a negative comment on Trip Advisor, unless we paid you back this amount. What you do is unfair and unethical. This hotel has been operational for more than 4 years and this staff has been with us for almost 3 years and there is no single incident like that.
Sincerely yours,
Kerem Bikmen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    14
    2
    18
See reviews for
8
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I booked this last minute for a business trip near taksim square. They have 3 residential buildings with Taksim Suite the main reception area. taksim residence is further away from taksim square about 10 minutes walk through narrow alleys.

The studio apartment is reasonable sized and had a balcony. They have a fridge, dishwasher, stove kettle and a safe if people want to use it. I was out most of the day time so only used this to sleep.

The room was clean on arrival however had a damp smell about it. The bathroom was again clean but weirdest age like smell on and off. The shower had mould around the corners but otherwise clean. They supply towels and toiletries.

For the price I paid and for sole purpose of sleeping at night time this property is adequate for those who would like to be near taksim square. If you are looking for hotel type experience than this is not for you.

There is a small shop in front of apartments where you can buy water, tea, milk etc.
easy to get to taksim square with lots of restaurants, cafes around nearby.

All in all a good experience for me as a lone traveller on business trip and close to taksim square.

Suggestions:
Clean rooms daily- they only cleaned when I asked them to.
Please provide at least a water bottle in room for guests on arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalilErcanCaglayan, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Three Apples Residence, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your useful comment. We are improving ourselves in the light of your suggestions. I believe your salutary comment going to make us better. Thanks a lot for all.
We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 12 nights.a prety long time to say every thing about hotel.the location of hotel is looking good in the map but in fact there is an old alley with very impolite peoples that every time ready for a strugle and fight.you can walk in this place till late night but you fill not safe also anything not happens because there is many family lives in this place...you can find everythings in taksim street that is a 10 min distance on foot.the brakefast is very very poor i can say nothing you can find in brakefast,the rooms are little and a bit dirty and not clean...they dont clean rooms untill you say the staff:" please clean the room"
You should choose this hotel just for its close distance to taxi stations and metro station...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roozbeh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalilErcanCaglayan, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Three Apples Residence, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Roozbeh,

Thank you for your useful comment. I would like to tell you what's new about our hotel. We improved ourselves in the light of your suggestions. I believe you will give us second chance to render better service to you. So we are looking forward to see you in our hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My friend and I were really happy with the Three Apples Residence. We were received with genuine warmth by the staff and taken to our building just down the street. The apartment was spacious, modern and super clean. Very comfortable bed. Perfect.

The residence is very close to Taksim Square and all the tram connections. The neighborhood is very quiet and the people were friendly all over the place. There are plenty of 24 hour grocery stores near the residence so that you can buy supplies to take to the room or prepare a meal.

I would like to thank all of the staff and Three Apples Residence. And a SPECIAL SHOUT OUT to "HEY YOU" (that's how he calls himself because, as he explained, his Turkish name is impossible to pronounce for foreigners) and a MUCHAS GRACIAS for opening the padlock on my suitcase ( I had lost the key) without even breaking the lock. Hey You is the go-to guy for everything there.

I highly recommend this aparthotel.

Warm regards from Spain to the staff :)

Room Tip: I suggest going up to the terrace on the rooftop in the evening. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annacristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Nice people,good location to Taksim ,convenient room , i extended for other 2 nights ,they offer free breakfast while it is excluded from my room fair ,they allow to use international call and fax for free ,i will back there next time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meshalnasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Helpful, Lovely, Friendly people and nice place.
Next to the pubblic transports, in the heart of the city but it still a quiet area where to relax without the noise of the city.
Nothing to complain about it!

Good quality and good price.
Go for it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulymunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very basic but good. If you can, stay at the Suites a few blocks away. The guys who run the hotel are super nice. The area is really dense with people, no sidewalks, but super convenient for hanging out in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_The_Prague_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Comfort Suite Taksim
Comfort Suite Taksim
#493 of 1,028 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#30 of 1,186 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Beyoglu
Three Apples Taksim Suites
Three Apples Taksim Suites
#306 of 1,028 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Apples Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Apples Residence

Property: Three Apples Residence
Address: Kocatepe Mah. Duvarci Adem Sok. No:44 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #642 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Apples Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Apples Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Apples Residence
Three Apples Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing