We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room may as well have been underground - front desk gave bad advice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Biz Cevahir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Room may as well have been underground - front desk gave bad advice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I should preface this by saying that i had just spent 4 nights at a 5 star hotel overlooking the Bosphorus before moving here for the weekend. My groundfloor room had only a window into a light well, so it may as well have been underground. That it made it dark and depressing. But it was clean and fresh and well furnished. the bathroom was nice and well apppointed. The location is excellent for the sights of the old city. Note that you are likely to woken at 545am by mosque calls, but that is a ubiquitous problem in this wondrous city.
The breakfast was ok, nothing outstanding, but certainly did the jo. I was however quite disappointed by some very bad guidance by the chap at the front desk. I told him I wanted to eat Iskender Kebab and he suggested it wasnt available locally and I would need to to travel to Taksim! I was a bit surprised. I then found it at the Meat House restaurant across the road, and over the next 2 days found it was available at virtually every restaurant in the surrounding 2 blocks. I presume he just wanted me to travel to a restsurant with which he had soem affilitation. Very disappointing. Giving bad advice to travellers is not acceptable.

Room Tip: watch out for the ground floor rooms, the one I had was basically underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear David S.;

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

First of all, thank you for letting me know and thank you for pointing out the problems you had in our Hotel. My colleague at the reception had recommended the place that makes you the best Iskender Kebap.

I am very sorry for the inconvenience and that you did not have a pleasant stay here.

We hope to welcome you again in the future without any problem.

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    102
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
72
278
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I visted Istanbul with friends again this year, early October, but this time walking through neibourghoods to get the real feeling of the city and the people, it was fantastic.
We decided to stay at the same hotel as last time, the Biz Cevahir, and as last year, the hotel was excellent, good breakfast, very clean and the people very friendly and helpful. Most probably they will see me againg next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stavros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Stavros Sapountzohlou;

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor again.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel again.

We will be waiting for you next year...

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Extremely convenient location, excellent breakfast with nice attendants, wonderful desk staff, clean and modern room and bathroom. Breakfast and wi-fi at no charge. Ahmet, at the desk, was particularly helpful, although all the people working there were professional and friendly. We chose this hotel after reading tripadvisor.com, and were glad we did!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Katherine M.;

On behalf of the entire Biz Cevahir Hotel staff, we would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us.
We appreciated to your positive feedback about our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nice hotel. Great location within walking distance to the Blue Mosque and others. Pleasant and helpful. Reasonable sized rooms with comfortable beds. No view from our window room 101. Best view from terrace room 133. Breakfast good. Next to Four Seasons and about a third of the cost. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Michele F.;

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Perfect location. In close proximity to Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque etc. We enjoyed a large, well-appointed, and interesting room. Bed was tremendously comfortable - the ideal environment to recover from jet lag. Great breakfast buffet that included proteins like eggs and bacon in a quiet sanctuary in the bottom floor of the hotel.

Bathroom was functional and included a relaxing walk-in shower. Plenty of hot water though water pressure was a bit weak. Since the bathroom was tiny, the toilet flush proximity sensor triggered frequently. Staff was extremely friendly, attentive, and professional. Would absolutely return to Biz Cevahir Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Our Guests;

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Location is so convenient and the price is right. Upon check-in, I was greeted by Ozkan, who gave me a very thorough rundown of all the nearby attractions. Rode up the tiny elevator to my room which I found to be cozy and well furnished. The bathroom was clean and well appointed. Ozkan arranged all our local tours; most were good except for the Turkish bath. The breakfast buffet was simple; sometimes they were a little bit late with bringing out the cooked foods. Fortunately, the fruit and cereal is all I need. Overall a delightful experience. I would come back again and request a room with a balcony.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYKLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Ryklam;

On behalf of the entire Biz Cevahir Hotel staff, we would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us.
We appreciated to your positive feedback about our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

First off, its important to remember that this is a hotel in the European style...smaller rooms and older buildings than US hotels. That said, our stay was wonderful! The staff was most helpful yet unobtrusive, and the view of the Bosphorous from the patio off of our room was stunning. The hotel helped arrange several tours, including a day trip to Cappadocia, all of which went very well. The location in Sultanahmet is perfect, surrounded by nice restaurants and a block away from the Four Seasons, and two from the Blue Mosque and Haga Sofia. Breakfast was included...a nice buffet selection. Thanks for a wonderful stay...we will return!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizCevahirHotel, Manager at Biz Cevahir Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mike S.;

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel again.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Berfu TATLIAGIZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Biz Cevahir Hotel Istanbul
Biz Cevahir Hotel Istanbul
#418 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#137 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#183 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#199 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#15 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#39 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biz Cevahir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biz Cevahir Hotel

Property: Biz Cevahir Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Kutlugun Sok. No:8 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Biz Cevahir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Istanbul’s Sultanahmet district, this small hotel is a 4-minute walk from Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque. It offers guestrooms with free Wi-Fi and air conditioning. Set in a renovated Ottoman building, the rooms at Biz Cevahir Hotel Sultanahmet are non-smoking. They include elegant furnishings, and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. Fresh apples are also provided every day. Hotel cafe offers complimentary breakfast buffet that includes an extensive variety of both Western and Turkish dishes. Turkish tea is served to our guests free of charge throughout the day. Staff at the Biz Cevahir Hotel can help plan visits and excursions, book a tour or rent a car. They can also provide an airport shuttle service upon request, from either Ataturk or Sabiha Gokcen airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Biz Cevahir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing