We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality!”
Review of Piya Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piya Hostel
Ranked #129 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality!”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed here for one night and returning again!! The owner and his family are amazing! Very nice and helpful! The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is great! Only two min walk to all the restaurants and 5mins to the blue mosque! It's clean quiet and showers are awsome!! Am returning there again! Awsome for price also!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights and can fully recommend it. As a single woman in her 30's found it super safe and perfect for my needs.
I arrived very early from the airport, having caught the metro and tram (change at zeytinburnu - very easy, get off tram at Sultanahmet), then walked - close enough, just make sure if you follow the walking directions you exit the courtyard btwn the blue mosque and hagia sophia right in the far corner by the mosque - you will walk past a small bazaar.
It's beyond most of the hotels, you go under a rail bridge, down a small hill .. you feel like you are heading out of where a hotel might be, then turn right at the green mosque on the corner (does not look like a mosque!)
All the staff were super helpful, loved to chat, were always offering tea. A great breakfast of fruit, cheese, meat, bread, jam and eggs were included - they get it ready when you appear in the dining room.
The place is very clean - all very new ... comfy beds, lots of white clean bedding, clean bathroom (a big plus) that had hairdryers, double-glazed windows so nice and quiet. Free wireless internet, they arranged my airport transfer too.
It was quite empty when I was there a few couples around. I had an 8-bed dorm to myself one night and only 2 other people the next. most rooms are bunk beds, but I did see one room with a double bed in. All rooms share a few shower rooms, so if it was busy you might have to wait for a while.
The only potential downside is that it is a little sterile ... lots of white, and not many people, so not a place to meet lots of other travelers. Not for those wanting a party, but that's why I chose it and I still met lovely people and had a couple of great nights sleep in an immaculately clean comfy bed.
I would stay here again and would recommend it if you are looking for a quiet, convenient, safe, friendly and relatively good value option in central istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiijam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Piya Hostel is the most wonderful hostel in the world. Run by incredibly kind and helpful people and located in a quiet local neighborhood that takes you away from the tourist trap hostels of Istanbul's frat row and is still within a short walking distance of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Beds are also very comfortable by hostel standards and the whole place is very clean. May not be the best hostel for the party crowd, but for those wanting comfort and a helpful staff, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: most rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caylen2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for 4 nights in late February and we highly recommend it. We had the double room which was small but very cozy with a comfortable bed, a big warm duvet cover and a big heater. The bathroom was shared but kept immaculately clean. Being there in the middle of winter, it was nice to have plenty of teaming hot water. We had looked at other places but this was the best price we could find for a private room, and it even included an excellent Turkish breakfast. Located on a quiet street, it's just outside the hustle and the bustle and a short walk to all the attractions. To top it all of, the staff makes you feel right at home! If I go back to Istanbul, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokomolady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Located between the popular sightseeings (ayasofia, blue mosque and topkapi palace) and the seaside, Piya Hostel is a great chance to stay in the heart of Istanbul and make some experience of its real live. The rooms are modern, clean and got style. The beds are brand new and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpfully in any way and the traditional breakfast they serve is the perfect start in your day.
Thank you, we had a great time in Piya Hostel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

İf you are coming to İstanbul, stay here. I liked Piya Guesthouse for its good location (İt's right next to Hagia Sophia and The Blue Mosque as well as Topkapi Palace and still in a quiet corner). Walking distance to the tram. Very friendly staff and helpful. Hostel is new and room, shower are so clean and nice. The breakfast was excellent.
Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalyT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hostel is wonderful! Well located - five minutes walking from center of sultanahmed. The price is really nice for small budgets trips and the rooms are really confortables. The bathrooms was always well clean and the towels soft. Seams like a quite new place, with everything smelling like brand new. The staff makes you fell like if you are part of a turkish family. The owner even invited me to join a dinner with his family and treat me like an especial guest of his own home. The staff are always ready for help in any subject you need. Since laundry, to turism advices. Great breakfast included. I highly recommend. Everything was just great!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JihadRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Besiktas
Puffin Hostel
Puffin Hostel
#110 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#22 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
#38 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piya Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piya Hostel

Property: Piya Hostel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Akbiyik Cami Sok. No:22 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PIYA HOSTEL is the newest addition to the Istanbul network. Piya Hostel boasts three floors of modern, stylish, budget accommodation just five minutes walk from Sultanahmet Square. Perfect for young backpackers who want to be in the heart of this historically vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Piya Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing