We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day in the market and the kitchen”
Review of Delicious Istanbul

Delicious Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking to experience the real taste of Istanbul? Join Olga Irez in exploring the local markets, visiting hand-picked vendors and food makers, tasting famous and lesser known local treats and, finally, cooking a Turkish feast at Olga's kitchen.Olga cooks and eats full time in Istanbul and also publishes popular food blog Delicious Istanbul, so her insights and tips put you on the fast track of learning all about Istanbul food.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day in the market and the kitchen”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Olga made a delightful day for me. She met the small group at the ferry and guided us across to the Asian side and through a fascinating market, where we shopped and snacked as she explained Turkish food including regional specialties, After a stop for coffee, following a snack with tea, we made our way to her lovely apartment and prepared a very enjoyable meal, all the while talking about food, Turkey, and just getting to know each other. Her English is impeccable, and her manner as gracious and joyous as could be. When I return to Istanbul, I will take her class again! I highly recommend this class.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    7
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour of food!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Olga is wonderful and really takes you off the beaten path. You will see markets in little winding streets and neighborhoods, large open air markets, tea shops, coffee shops, sweet stores, and hidden breakfast and lunch spots. You also get a chance to ride Istanbul's fantastic public transportation. Bring small bills (in lira) so you can shop along the way and bring your appetite. There is no shortage of food to try. We felt like this tour gave us a chance to see parts of Istanbul we would have otherwise missed, eat foods and see food culture that we would have missed, and get a little boat ride in! Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“Great Experience, Great Value, Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This review is for the stand-alone tour, not the cooking class. Absolutely fantastic experience all around and a great value; I agree with Christine that this was our best day in Istanbul. Olga was easy to communicate with and gave excellent directions to the starting location at Kadikoy market. She was friendly and knowledgeable about the history, sourcing, and production of all the food we saw or tasted. She has recently altered the itinerary a bit to avoid touristy spots, and we took advantage of a true neighborhood weekly market on the day we went, so our itinerary was an intensive tour of Kadikoy market (with tastes of artisanal Turkish delight, cheeses, stuffed mussels, pickles/olives, bahklava, coffee), Selimiye market (more tastes of fresh, seasonal produce and cheeses), then back to Kadikoy for lunch at a fish restaurant (outstanding: meze, two seafood courses, dessert, and tea). All of the food was wonderful, and I felt the tour gave me the ability to better judge the quality and provenance of what I ate for the rest of the trip. Besides that, Olga gave us some outstanding recommendations for the rest of our trip based on where we were staying and what we wanted to eat. I saw a couple of comments on the price of the tour and just wanted to say I believe it to be an exceptional value for foodies. The outright costs of the food and transportation we were provided add up to a significant percentage of the tour price in the first place; whatever we paid over that, I have to think it barely compensated Olga for her time and expertise. This isn't a cheap tourist experience where you're getting mass-produced products and information. This is a custom tour tailored to your personal interests and preferences. You're basically getting a consultant (with an MBA!) for five hours at a bargain-basement rate; take advantage of this by asking lots of questions and making your preferences known! You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Best Day in Istanbul”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was definitely my favorite day in Istanbul. Olga met us in the morning at the Eminönü ferry area & accompanied us across the Bosporus to the Kadıköy district of Istanbul. The fish & produce stands in the market there have been around for centuries. Olga pointed out her favorite purveyors as we shopped for the ingredients for the class.

We stopped for a Turkish coffee at Fazıl Bey & then for a piece of baklava at a different shop. Olga taught us the proper way to eat a piece of baklava.

From Kadiköy we jumped on the Moda Tramway to Olga's apartment (also called the 'Nostalgic Tramway'. The length of the line is 2.6 km & there are 10 stops.)

Next we prepared the mise en place for the lunch we were about to assemble. Olga gave us a bit of history for each recipe. There were 4 of us in the group that day; each person measured or chopped or stirred something for each of the five dishes.

After devouring our delicious Istanbul lunch, the four of us wandered back through the Kadiköy market & bought spices etc. from all the vendors Olga had introduced us to.

I hope to return to Istanbul in 2014 & will definitely sign up again for a class with Olga.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a definite must”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was definitely one of the highlights of our weekend in Istanbul. Olga was an excellent guide and it really gave us an opportunity to find out more about Turkish food and culture - the pace was just right and we were given the opportunity to learn about food, the producers and what to look for when buying. It was also a great opportunity to take a trip across to the Asian side which i would also recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AandJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delicious Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Delicious Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing